4/20/12 Ella amps 5.9 =106 +1=147,+11=133+3=304

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/20/12 Ella +11.5= 64 amps 5.9 suggestions

I think she's bouncing...going to give her the fullregular dose
 
Re: 4/20/12 Ella +11.5= 64 amps 5.9 =106

I would say that rising by over 40 points in 30 minutes, is a good time to shoot the full dose.

Good Hooting!
 
Re: 4/20/12 Ella +11.5= 64 amps 5.9 =106

Thanks Dyana! She hasn't eaten that much:( Will check her bg at 7:30am and crossing my fingers I was right:)
 
Re: 4/20/12 Ella +11.5= 64 amps 5.9 =106 +1=147

at least she's being kinda predictable! i wonder if she'll clear it by tonight again. seeing green every cycle means she's getting more used to it. i'll bet you're glad for the weekend when you don't have to wonder what's going on when you're gone! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/20/12 Ella +11.5= 64 amps 5.9 =106 +1=147

I'm SO glad that I'll be around this weekend:) Do cats generally feel unwell from bouncing so much? She has this look when her bg is rising and falling quickly.
She's also looking a bit uncomfortable after her meals. She hunches over and squints her eyes. This morning she did that after her first meal and then appeared to feel better within the hour...rolling around and asking for pets. After her second breakfast she did it again. Is it possible that the food might be causing her to have discomfort?
 
Re: 4/20/12 Ella +11.5= 64 amps 5.9 =106 +1=147

Nice greens and blues. Great shooting on that full dose today. Tarragon acts lethargic when he bounces, which is a lot. :lol: I'm not sure on the uncomfortableness after eating. I would definitely watch it and see if it continues.
 
Re: 4/20/12 Ella +11.5= 64 amps 5.9 =106 +1=147

Daphne doesn't bounce much, so I can't say how she would feel. Sometimes when her numbers are low she looks a little tired. Great job shooting the 64, glad to see you gave the full dose.
 
Re: 4/20/12 Ella +11.5= 64 amps 5.9 =106 +1=147

Daphne doesn't bounce much, so I can't say how she would feel. Sometimes when her numbers are low she looks a little tired. Great job shooting the 64, glad to see you gave the full dose.
 
Re: 4/20/12 Ella amps 5.9 =106 +1=147,+11=133question

Well I was quite surprised to see her +11 at 133. She either wasn't bouncing,cleared her bounce or perhaps the lack of caloric intake is having an affect on her numbers. She is hungry and I was thinking of moving her shot time back by half an hour but can I do this if her bg is dropping?
 
Re: 4/20/12 Ella amps 5.9 =106 +1=147,+11=133(question dosi

i wouldn't shoot early unless she was over 300.

perhaps this weekend will reveal some under 50 numbers, but unless you see that just hold the dose. i'm guess that's what you're asking cuz you've got (question dosing) on your subject line, but maybe you're just asking about shooting early.

the symptoms you're describing after eating sound kinda concerning, although my first guess would be pancreatitis and you've said you've had her checked twice for that, i believe. am i remembering correctly?

there are things that indicate nausea - lip smacking, acting hungry but then not wanting to eat, maybe licking the food and then leaving. are you seeing those type of symptoms, or is it just after she's eaten?

it's not uncommon to see some lethargy with number ups and downs. now combining that with what you're describing, though, i can't tell if she's sick or not. do you think she is?

seeing the bouncing reducing and clearing quickly - again, that's an excellent sign. that means she's getting used to being lower than 300's, which is where she was accustomed to. so this is great.
 
Re: 4/20/12 Ella amps 5.9 =106 +1=147,+11=133(question dosi

Hi Julie,

It's kind of hard to tell if she's sick as she does walk away from the wet and acts hungry but will seek out the dry so I'm pretty sure she would eat that. However I haven't tested her with the dry but the vet did and she gobbled it up. In order to eat the wet I have to syringe some in her mouth to kick start her then she is more interested and will eat. I isolated her today with some wet and she didn't even touch it...even at her snack time. She is starving right now and I didn't give her a snack. I feel awful and am worried about her getting ketones from not enough calories. Can I move the shot 15 minutes if she is low? I'd really like to get some nutrition in her. It's been 11 hours!
 
Re: 4/20/12 Ella amps 5.9 =106 +1=147,+11=133(question dosi

she has had two blood tests since her bout with pancreatitis that showed normal levels. she prob hasn't had one in a month or two . she is licking her lips now and clawing me...poor thing:(
 
Re: 4/20/12 Ella amps 5.9 =106 +1=147,+11=133(question dosi

sure, if you feel you need to move ahead, go ahead, test, feed & shoot. you always have to rely on your gut for these things because no one on the internet can see what you are seeing.
 
Re: 4/20/12 Ella amps 5.9 =106 +1=147,+11=133(question dosi

The foods you are feeding might be making her feel bad....perhaps she has an allergy and that's why Jill and I suggested you try others. Before our GA Teddi crossed, we were feeding separate diets to four cats and made it work. Now Gracie and Tobey eat the same thing and Gus has a different diet. So you don't have to feed all of them the premium. She may have a gluten allergy or other problem with the FF....
 
Re: 4/20/12 Ella amps 5.9 =106 +1=147,+11=133(question dosi

Ella was starving and ate like it was her last meal! I didn't even have to syringe her. Now she's laying on the bed all huddled up and squinty eyed. She must be feeling something from the food as it always happens after her meals. I don't have experience with chronic pancreatitis only acute so I'm not too sure if they have similar symptoms. When Ella became ill she stopped eating, had a high fever and was walking around aimlessly. She seemed like she was on auto pilot and went to the food bowl but couldn't eat. She didn't want to be touched and was very sullen. We took her in to the vet within 12 hours of the symptoms and she was hosptialized for four days. What she is displaying now doesn't seem to be the same. However, her breathing rate increases, she becomes very quiet and looks like she's in a daze. Do these sound like signs of chronic pancreatitis? Perhaps she is experiencing abdominal pain? I guess the only way I'd really know is if I took her into the vet for a panel.

Is it ok for a cat with diabetes to not have food for 11 hours or is that too long between meals? I left food out for her today but she was not interested. She proabaly prefers it nice and fresh:)
 
Re: 4/20/12 Ella amps 5.9 =106 +1=147,+11=133(question dosi

Hi Marjorie,

She's eating the Wellness. If she had an allergy to the food wouldn't she have diahrrea? What are some oter symptoms that we might
 
Not necessarily. Gracie was allergic to the Merrick foods and never had any tummy upset....the hair fell off her ears!

Ella might be having some gastric upset without diarrhea. I know Sienne's Gabby can't tolerate gravy but I don't know that it causes her to have liquipoo.

Maybe Ella just doesn't like Wellness and would prefer something else? Have you tried the Evo 95% brands (canned)?
 
Hi Marjorie,

I will try getting some more food this weekend for her to try:) Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top