? 4/2 Yum AMPS+7 561 +11 608!!! May I use the other side of the test strip if..

Status
Not open for further replies.

MJW

Member Since 2017
Darn. I was hoping for a lower number like yesterday.
I had trouble getting enough blood for the test strip---it took 3 pokes.
After the first 2 pokes, I used one side of the strip first and it didn't trigger.
Then I reset it, poked her again, and used the other side. Is that okay? Or is the number invalid?

She completed her deworming meds. Now I have to decide whether or not to start her on zeniquin, on the chance she does have an infection (debatable labs). She will fight the pills and every test will become more difficult. I guess I will try to test her again today and consult with her vet tomorrow.

She is avoiding the glad wrap in the litter box. I will work on that.
 
Once you've used a test strip - throw it away. The number could be invalid. I would retest with a fresh strip.

Is there a reason you aren't testing before you give the shots? It's very important to get those preshot tests in. You don't want to be shooting blind. Every once in a while kitty will give you a surprise at shot time and you want to know it's safe to give insulin.

If she's avoiding the glad wrap, you can try something like clean aquarium gravel or washed lentils in the litter box. They don't absorb the liquid but still give them something to dig in.
 
I will test PMPS.
I know I should test AMPS. I just can't face it so far. They are all hungry and excited for breakfast. I'm not sure I could even catch Yum then. I don't want to spook her. I don't think there's much chance yet that she will have a low AMPS. That's my excuse. If she doesn't tear into her food with gusto I will hesitate with the shot. That's my safety check.

On Apr 2, 2017, at 3:36 PM, Feline Diabetes Message Board <webmaster@felinediabetes.com> wrote:
Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
MJW, Wendy&Neko replied to a thread you are watching at Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB.

? - 4/2 Yum AMPS+7 561 May I use the other side of the test strip if..

Once you've used a test strip - throw it away. The number could be invalid. I would retest with a fresh strip.

Is there a reason you aren't testing before you give the shots? It's very important to get those preshot tests in. You don't want to be shooting blind. Every once in a while kitty will give you a surprise at shot time and you want to know it's safe to give insulin.

If she's avoiding the glad wrap, you can try something like clean aquarium gravel or washed lentils in the litter box. They don't absorb the liquid but still give them something to dig in.
View This Thread Unread Watched Threads
Please do not reply to this email. You must visit Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB to reply.

This message was sent to you because you opted to watch the thread ? - 4/2 Yum AMPS+7 561 May I use the other side of the test strip if.. at Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB with email notification of new replies. You will not receive any further emails about this thread until you have read the new messages.

If you no longer wish to receive these emails, you may disable emails from this thread or disable all emails.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/
 
I don't think there's much chance yet that she will have a low AMPS. That's my excuse. If she doesn't tear into her food with gusto I will hesitate with the shot. That's my safety check.
Sorry, but many cats go lower at night. The only times my Neko gave me a number under 50 at preshot time, it was at AMPS. And not tearing into the food is no safety check. If a kitty is in low numbers, the first signs of hypo are a hunger so if she tears into her food with gusto, it could mean she is in low numbers.

I had the same problem about being hungry and excited for breakfast. My Neko had acromegaly which caused extreme hunger. But she learned that meals didn't get put down until the test was done. And the test came with a treat which made it easier. Maybe you need to grab Yum and put her in a small room like a bathroom for testing.
 
Today is the third day of a dose increase. Maybe these awful numbers are a bounce from yesterday's better numbers?
I will do another test tonight. Maybe I will hold 2 units one more day since there has been a fluctuation at this dose.
Still, her numbers have increased so much from 9 days ago.
Maybe I should put her on the zeniquin antibiotic tomorrow and hold the dose.

PS: Looks like the strip which failed to activate on one side-dot and then activated on the other side-dot might have been okay, since it gave a number close to the next test.
 
I posted before I read the Wendy&Neko post. I know I should test AMPS. I will work on it.
 
Maybe these awful numbers are a bounce from yesterday's better numbers?
Really no way of knowing. There was no testing at all on the 31st and nothing the last few nights. Since you aren't able to test as much as is needed to follow TR, that means following SLGS and holding a dose at least 7 days, so I would continue to hold this dose and work on getting some more preshot and mid cycle tests in (including at least one test at night), so we have a better idea how this dose is working.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top