Vyktors Mum
Member Since 2011
Yesterday's dental day
Vyktor
I think his numbers are ok all things considered. Turns out he had far more teeth left than I had been led to believe. He had five out including his last fang. I think having that removed is helping him eat more easily, it must have been pretty hard for him to pick up food being unbalanced with a fang on one side but not on the other. The vet tells me all he has left now are a few of those really tiny ones and that it's very unusual for a cat to have problems with those.
He is eating ravenously, better than he has for weeks. Hilariously he is even eating foods that he hates so I am taking advantage and clearing the cupboard of those foods - that bupe is great stuff
I'm exhausted today even after 9 hours sleep (in three parts). It's unheard of for me to sleep so long, I guess keeping it together yesterday really took it out of me. Also we have a new problem to consider so that took the wind out of my sails somewhat.
Vyktor's blood pressure was fine throughout the op but when they withdrew the isoflurane it kept going up and up - to 200 (systolic). Having conducted a little research it looks like this may have been a problem for a long time. It could explain his proprioception issues and also the on and off yowling behaviour. I'm a bit spewing that neither his regular vet or his acupuncture vet picked up that blood pressure might be a problem. They were both aware of both issues.
My preliminary research tells me that getting equipment to test BP at home might not be practical (cost and skills required to operate) but that although his pressure will absolutely spike at the vets it shouldn't spike high enough for us not to be able to medicate to keep him in a safe and normal range. The vet mentioned a transdermal version of amlodipine.
Any tips/experience etc in relation to high BP would be appreciated. @Amy&TrixieCat this means you
and anyone else of course, Trixie is the only one I remember as having high BP off the top of my head.
I've been working on getting his labs into his spreadsheet today. I've finished with the chemistry but still have hematology to go. It's a bit of a brain drain as I've been looking things up as I go
Vyktor is doing well - he's smashed on the bupe and basically just sleeping, and eating and drinking when I take it to him. I want to answer everyone's comments from yesterday but I'm just too tired so instead a general thank you for being there with us yesterday. I'm sure you all understand how much it's appreciated




Purrdy
AMPS 268 +3 263 +7 313
Apparently he does better with a skipped shot than the 18 hour cycles
. Mum is hilarious she saw the pink and was ready to increase straight away (increases are usually a touchy subject) but I've told her to keep her patience pants on while the depot has a chance to fill.
How exciting for Ivana to be starting her OTJ trial - you go girl!


Vyktor
I think his numbers are ok all things considered. Turns out he had far more teeth left than I had been led to believe. He had five out including his last fang. I think having that removed is helping him eat more easily, it must have been pretty hard for him to pick up food being unbalanced with a fang on one side but not on the other. The vet tells me all he has left now are a few of those really tiny ones and that it's very unusual for a cat to have problems with those.
He is eating ravenously, better than he has for weeks. Hilariously he is even eating foods that he hates so I am taking advantage and clearing the cupboard of those foods - that bupe is great stuff
I'm exhausted today even after 9 hours sleep (in three parts). It's unheard of for me to sleep so long, I guess keeping it together yesterday really took it out of me. Also we have a new problem to consider so that took the wind out of my sails somewhat.
Vyktor's blood pressure was fine throughout the op but when they withdrew the isoflurane it kept going up and up - to 200 (systolic). Having conducted a little research it looks like this may have been a problem for a long time. It could explain his proprioception issues and also the on and off yowling behaviour. I'm a bit spewing that neither his regular vet or his acupuncture vet picked up that blood pressure might be a problem. They were both aware of both issues.
My preliminary research tells me that getting equipment to test BP at home might not be practical (cost and skills required to operate) but that although his pressure will absolutely spike at the vets it shouldn't spike high enough for us not to be able to medicate to keep him in a safe and normal range. The vet mentioned a transdermal version of amlodipine.
Any tips/experience etc in relation to high BP would be appreciated. @Amy&TrixieCat this means you
I've been working on getting his labs into his spreadsheet today. I've finished with the chemistry but still have hematology to go. It's a bit of a brain drain as I've been looking things up as I go

Vyktor is doing well - he's smashed on the bupe and basically just sleeping, and eating and drinking when I take it to him. I want to answer everyone's comments from yesterday but I'm just too tired so instead a general thank you for being there with us yesterday. I'm sure you all understand how much it's appreciated





Purrdy
AMPS 268 +3 263 +7 313
Apparently he does better with a skipped shot than the 18 hour cycles
How exciting for Ivana to be starting her OTJ trial - you go girl!
