4/2 Sly AMPS 371 +3 85 +3.5 76 +4 76 +6 130 +9 107 PMPS 472 +2 396

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melanie and Smokey

Member Since 2010
Not a very pretty start. We will need to increase, he's only had one increase (1u to 2U) since he started 2 months ago. Just didn't want any more changes right as we move him to foster and change his food.

He is also on a boatload of medications for his eye. He caught feline herpes at the pound and got really bad URI and conjunctivitis from it. Ended up with an eye ulcer. We are doing eye meds, 4 of them 3-4 times a day. I am sure that is affecting his numbers.

Sly emptied his water dish twice between 5pm and 8am, thats between 3-4cups of water. He also vomited a large amount of food. He had eaten quite a bit so I think he'd just over eaten. I was trying to see if I was going to be able to leave food out for him and he'd be able to free feed, or if we needed to set up the feeder. Apparently we need the feeder! Probably need to set up a water fountain for him too.

He is so happy. I find him laying in the window ledge a lot and he just rubs against everything in the room happy to have more space. Hopefully in a day or two, his numbers will reflect the good changes in his life.



Intro to foster Sly: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/im-baaaccck-4-1-sly-8-275-pmps-230-3-396.135529/
 
What an awful day for Sly :eek:

I ran in to test him at him +6 when I went home to run our Cecil to the vet. Sly vomited a huge pile of food just as I was leaving. I didn't have time to do anything about it, but thought it looked weird. When I got back, I found a 2ft long string in it. He was still acting like his tummy hurt. He wouldn't eat anything, just lick his lips. I had to get to work so hubby has worked from home all day. He tried 5 different foods on him. Sly had his junky old hard food out and wouldn't even touch that. He finally ate, then he ate like he was starving. Have heard that he's vomited again, but his PMPS is pretty ugly.:(
 
Aww, poor lil guy. Fitting into a new home can be so traumatic, though it sure sounds like he's loving it there. Sending vines so the vomiting stops.
 
Thanks, I hope he feels better soon too :( The poor guy just has had it so tough getting dumped at the pound, with his bad eye ulcer after getting really sick from catching herpes there, and how he was so happy to get out of the shelter and he's feeling crappy now.
I think the vomiting was from the string he puked up. We are praying there isn't anymore in there and now that the string is out his tummy will settle down. I thought at first it was the change in food, but his vomiting always came hours after he ate so it seemed weird.
I hope its a bounce off those lows and the food push towards the end of the cycle just made the bounce fly. Fingers crossed we can settle his bounces quickly. I went into this on 2 days with only 4 hours of sleep. We weren't prepared for such a quick drop to the greens.
 
You should try timing how long until the vomiting starts. Marje was trying to transition Gracie to raw food, and the vomiting started at exactly the same time - about the time the food would be hitting her digestive system. I wonder if a some probiotics would help Sly.
 
I know the vomit the night before was 2+ hours because I stopped giving him food a couple hours before going to bed and he hadn't done it before the last time we checked on him. The vomit today was 2 hours after he ate. I gave him the wet food right after the +4. He vomited right after I tested him at +6.
Problem is he needs to stay in his room because he is contagious with Herpes so we can easily miss when he does it. If he vomits again he will go to the vet. I suspect the thread came from yarn at the shelter. The piece that came out would have only been one thread in a piece of the yarn so if he didn't just chew off one piece, he could have the rest in there causing a blockage.
We do have Forti Flora to try on him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top