4/2 SHEBA AMPS 445 +6 158 +9.5 70

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-1-sheba-green-5-5-to-9-amps-205-pmps-hi.135470/

Sheba is still bouncing by the look of those numbers. So disappointing. I thought she was starting to leave the bounces behind:( but I suppose while she drops fast, she will have them.
The only good thing about that is I had a really good sleep. It is amazing how much better you function with a better sleep.

@julie & punkin (ga) @Wendy&Neko @Chris & China
We are ahead in time here of you, and I am not sure if you are around over Easter on the forum. I have that family reunion in 2 days time, my time and will be away most of the day.
Is it too soon to ask you what I should do about the dose so I don't have to worry about her for the day? You mentioned a few days ago when I first asked about it Wendy, that you reduced the dose by half the night before and on the day you are away and that could be one option, but to ask closer to the time.
As the function is an hour away, I can't come back to check her, so I want her to be safe so I can have fun and not be worried all the time she might be dropping too low. Thank you....what would I do without you all?:bighug:

I hope you all have a peaceful, blessed and safe Easter
Bron
 
I think Wendy's suggestion is a very good option. I never reduced the dose the day before, but i can see the logic in it. In your case, at 5.5u right now, if nothing much changes between now and Easter for her, I'd probably reduce to 4u. Maybe 4.25u, even. Low enough i don't think she'd see green on it, but high enough that hopefully it wouldn't take her too long to get back on track after Sunday. Let's see what others think about the dose.

Truthfully, we dragged punkin along with us for things like that. My in-laws let us put him in one of their bedrooms for the family reunions and he traveled pretty well, so that's what we did. I also had a leash and harness for him and would take him out for walks. He could be skittish around people so he didn't join in the fun, lol, but that worked out for us.

I think i'd have been more relaxed, though, if i'd just reduced his dose and left him at home.
 
You mentioned a few days ago when I first asked about it Wendy, that you reduced the dose by half the night before and on the day you are away and that could be one option, but to ask closer to the time.
Not quite. I reduce the dose (not by a half) both the cycle before I'm going to be gone and the cycle I'm going to be gone. I typically take Neko down by whatever a normal reduction would be for her. In Sheba's case, I think you could shoot 4.5 both the night before you go and the day you go. I've often noticed that what you shoot one cycle also impacts the following one, which is the logic behind reducing the cycle before you go. And you can set the autofeeder to go off around +6 and +7 with some higher carb food if you are worried.
 
Looks like she's coming down from that icky bounce!

I agree with Julie and Wendy...I think if you decreased her back to 4.5 the night before and the day you're gone and just left some food out in the autofeeder, you should be able to go out, have a good time and not worry about what Sheba is doing

When you're back home, you'd just go back to the 5.5

Hope you have a great time with the family and recharge your batteries some too!
 
I think Wendy's suggestion is a very good option. I never reduced the dose the day before, but i can see the logic in it. In your case, at 5.5u right now, if nothing much changes between now and Easter for her, I'd probably reduce to 4u. Maybe 4.25u, even. Low enough i don't think she'd see green on it, but high enough that hopefully it wouldn't take her too long to get back on track after Sunday. Let's see what others think about the dose.

Truthfully, we dragged punkin along with us for things like that. My in-laws let us put him in one of their bedrooms for the family reunions and he traveled pretty well, so that's what we did. I also had a leash and harness for him and would take him out for walks. He could be skittish around people so he didn't join in the fun, lol, but that worked out for us.

I think i'd have been more relaxed, though, if i'd just reduced his dose and left him at home.

@julie & punkin (ga) Thanks Julie for the advice. The function is on Saturday so I will have a few days after that with no commitments (all things being equal!) so I can be around to monitor Sheba without worrying about her dropping and me not being here and hopefully get her back on track.
I take Sheba with me if I am only going to one of my kids places when the insulin is due. I did take her down to my daughter's house in the country, when they lived there, about 2 hours away one weekend, but she was scared the whole time and wouldn't eat or go to the toilet so we had to come home early. I couldn't take Sheba with me Saturday even if I wanted to, as the function is not at someone's house but at a club. I always offer to have the functions here as it is so much easier for me then!
Punkin sounded a sweety. You must miss him a lot. Do you have any other cats?
 
Last edited:
Not quite. I reduce the dose (not by a half) both the cycle before I'm going to be gone and the cycle I'm going to be gone. I typically take Neko down by whatever a normal reduction would be for her. In Sheba's case, I think you could shoot 4.5 both the night before you go and the day you go. I've often noticed that what you shoot one cycle also impacts the following one, which is the logic behind reducing the cycle before you go. And you can set the autofeeder to go off around +6 and +7 with some higher carb food if you are worried.
@Wendy&Neko
Sorry I misquoted you Wendy about the reduction!.........My mind is quite fuddled these days from lack of sleep!
Thanks for the advice re the dose. And a good idea with the auto-feeder. Sheba is not the sort of cat you can leave food out for, hoping she will eat it later.............she is a bit like me with chocolates......likes to eat them all now!:rolleyes: but the auto-feeder works well and she loves it. Sits and waits for it to open
 
Looks like she's coming down from that icky bounce!

I agree with Julie and Wendy...I think if you decreased her back to 4.5 the night before and the day you're gone and just left some food out in the autofeeder, you should be able to go out, have a good time and not worry about what Sheba is doing

When you're back home, you'd just go back to the 5.5

Hope you have a great time with the family and recharge your batteries some too!
@Chris & China
Thanks Chris for advice.
Yes Sheba is coming down off the bounce now. I am trying to get her down slowly so as not to cause another bounce and have given her a bit of MC and that seems to be slowing it a bit . She does love to dive!
Am looking forward to the 'get together' on Saturdayand seeing old friends and relatives.
 
Yes, I do miss Punkin. He was an extraordinary little guy. If only kitties lived longer....I still have Anya, she's in the video with Punkin in my signature line. 3 months after Punkin passed away we got 2 kittens. Frodo is an orange boy who looks a lot like Punkin except in the face. He terrorizes Anya, which is awful. McGee is a tuxedo boy - he has a gentle soul. I love them all, of course, although I hope Frodo settles down. They both just turned 2.

Have a great time at your family gathering! It sounds like fun.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top