4/2 Rudy AMPS 338, +2 340, +4 341, +7 354, +9 318, PMPS 387, +1 368, +3 308

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey Jen, welcome back. We have all been where you were yesterday with being overwhelmed and frustrated. It will start to get easier as time goes on. Hang in there.

Here is yesterday's thread. We like to attach them to the current thread so we can easily go back and see what occurred the day before .


Also, the YA that you are giving, do you let him free feed on it? The reason I ask is that if he is eating within 2 hours of the BG tests, the numbers can be higher.

ETA: I forgot to attach yesterday's thread :rolleyes:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-361-2-346-4-274-6-292.175673/#post-1930818
 
Last edited:
Hi. Yes. Dry food is free fed. I have 2 other cats that nibble throughout the day. Rudy's not big on dry. If he eats a tablespoon or two in a whole day it's a lot.
 
Looks like Mr. Flat Cat today. You could be seeing a little New Dose Wonkiness or NDW today. I hope Rudy comes down soon.

I had many a meltdown and pity party in my condos (what we call threads or posts, where the cat lives) back in the day. :bighug:
 
Looks like Mr. Flat Cat today. You could be seeing a little New Dose Wonkiness or NDW today. I hope Rudy comes down soon.

I had many a meltdown and pity party in my condos (what we call threads or posts, where the cat lives) back in the day. :bighug:


Yeah. He's been pretty flat today. It's better than all over the place. Maybe it means his depot is almost full? Fingers crossed. And, hopefully, he'll have a yellow for me before bed tonight.
 
I think you could safely jump to 4u, Jen, if you want. If you are nervous about that, you could do what we call "fast-tracking." That means as long as your test results are still above 200, you can increase by 0.25u every 4th cycle. So 4 cycles at 2.5u then increase to 2.75u. That would help Rudy get into better numbers quickly.

In my opinion, I think fast-tracking is safe to do in your case - not everyone's, dear lurkers - because we already know that Rudy took 4u of ProZinc, and even with that was just in middle blue numbers. If you get a blue test, stop the fast-tracking strategy. It means you're getting closer to better numbers. At that point, you would slow down with the increases and revert to the normal guidelines. In your case, the SLGS guidelines, since he's eating dry food. Then doses are held for a week at a time.

This is just an option for you to consider. You don't have to do it, but if we'd given you advice on your starting dose, we'd have suggested 4u - this is just a choice for you.
 
I think you could safely jump to 4u, Jen, if you want. If you are nervous about that, you could do what we call "fast-tracking." That means as long as your test results are still above 200, you can increase by 0.25u every 4th cycle. So 4 cycles at 2.5u then increase to 2.75u. That would help Rudy get into better numbers quickly.

In my opinion, I think fast-tracking is safe to do in your case - not everyone's, dear lurkers - because we already know that Rudy took 4u of ProZinc, and even with that was just in middle blue numbers. If you get a blue test, stop the fast-tracking strategy. It means you're getting closer to better numbers. At that point, you would slow down with the increases and revert to the normal guidelines. In your case, the SLGS guidelines, since he's eating dry food. Then doses are held for a week at a time.

This is just an option for you to consider. You don't have to do it, but if we'd given you advice on your starting dose, we'd have suggested 4u - this is just a choice for you.

Hi. Sorry for the delay in replying. Was out all day.

Thanks for the advice. I was going to ask when I should up his dose. I'm comfortable moving him to 3. The consensus here is that his dose was too low to start anyway. Plus, Rudy's a big cat. Might need a stronger dose because of his size. (My vet must have followed the .25/kg to get him started on Lantus. He's 8kgs, so 2 units would be correct for his size.)

I think as of Wednesday AM I will move him to 3 units if he's still riding numbers in the 300s tomorrow. I would up him next dose, but I didn't get much testing done today, so I don't have a full picture of where really he is. And his evening shot was a little late, so I need to adjust his times tomorrow to get back to his regular schedule.

If he needs a dose higher than 3 - I can move him up again after a few cycles.

This sound like a proper plan for him?
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top