4/2 Pearl PMPS 175, +2.5 164

Silly Pearl, what is she thinking? Perhaps a little NDW? Well in any case, it was worth seeing what a little nudge might do, if it is NDW, she should be back to business within 24 hours.
 
Silly Pearl, what is she thinking? Perhaps a little NDW? Well in any case, it was worth seeing what a little nudge might do, if it is NDW, she should be back to business within 24 hours.
Thanks for the encouragement Christie. I will be watching like a hawk (as I am sure you all know by now hahahah) for the next 24 hours.
 
I had to look twice at Pearls numbers today :eek:... you're right, she doesn't like the mini dose. Never know until you try though right!
I know you'll get her back on track Margaret. I hope Chessie is doing good and surf safely Pearl.. make your mama proud! Enjoy the long weekend :bighug:
 
Don’t feel bad I had to keep increasing until Molly numbers were good again. I know it’s frustrating.! Have a great day Margaret and Pearl
I looked over Molly's historic SS. What an emotional roller coaster...I think I have to stop focusing on remission and just take one day at a time, or I might be liable to fall into despair about how long this might last.
 
I think I have to stop focusing on remission
I know it can be so hard to not focus on remission as the goal. But getting Pearl tightly regulated would be a good goal to set first. Don’t worry about the dose but concentrate on getting her into healing green numbers. It can become frustrating if remission is the focus right now.

fwiw, I had to take butters up to 4.25u before getting her tightly regulated. I still am not focused on remission as a goal for her. My primary goal is the healthiest, happiest kitty possible. Healing numbers are where it’s at for goal number one:bighug:
 
I'm getting distressed about Pearl. I know I know, tonights PMPS affected by Pred - but just a week ago, her Pred affects were like blips on the screen, and now 175 - what the HECK??! And she was doing SO WELL on her dose!! I don't know what in the heck happened (if indeed no Pancreatitis involved)!!

I mean...does this happen? Your cat is all GREEN FOREVER and so GREEEEEEN and then....all of a sudden....your cat is NOT GREEN?!? Is this a "thing" I need to get used to?

Tomorrow PM cycle will be Cycle 7 at this dose, oh and we ARE getting an increase for sure (I mean if 6 Cycles with a NADIR at 85 is ok to increase). I was planning on another 1/8th to put her squarely at 2.25, but I am worried....I mean, she did well before on 2.25 (before needed reduction), but if I go back up in 1/8ths is it too little at a time and so we are flying under the radar and her body isn't even noticing? I went up by an 1/8th this time b/c 2.25U was too high for her before, but 2U was too low so now we are at 2.125U and it is NOT working. Any input on this? @Marje and Gracie @Wendy&Neko I know this is a weird question!

Thanks so much everyone for your comments and encouragement today! @Butters & Lyla @Mel and Cargo @carfurby @Missy & Tammy @Adrienne & Molly @Christie & Maverick
 
Last edited:
I know it can be so hard to not focus on remission as the goal. But getting Pearl tightly regulated would be a good goal to set first. Don’t worry about the dose but concentrate on getting her into healing green numbers. It can become frustrating if remission is the focus right now.

fwiw, I had to take butters up to 4.25u before getting her tightly regulated. I still am not focused on remission as a goal for her. My primary goal is the healthiest, happiest kitty possible. Healing numbers are where it’s at for goal number one:bighug:
THanks Lyla! I think the part I am really struggling with is that Pearl went to 3U then started getting reductions, even with me being very diligent about foods so that she would not get reductions too quickly. Now she is going back up, after being squarely in the green for a long while and doing really well. It was like day and night...green goddess, then all of a sudden NOT. I don't think I was prepared for the possibility that this could happen. I thought she went up, hit her max, then went down, not go back up into higher numbers and higher doses.

Also worrisome is knowing I will have to start being out of the house several days a week for 11 hours, so the entire AM cycle, and how I will deal with that and her numbers. I think that is why I was focused so hard on getting her as low as possible in her dose, and I just have to let this part go I think, because as Marje told me early on, there is no guarantee she will go into remission.
 
:bighug::bighug: It is soooo hard, I know. I was always told not to look in the rearview mirror with regards to past doses and what Butters's numbers were. They need as much insulin as they need, and those needs can change.
FD is a marathon, not a race and it is just so true. I've gone up and down the dosing ladder with Butters a couple of times. The second time I had to climb the dosing ladder with butters was after she had a pretty bad acute pancreatitis attack...and the hospital messed around with her insulin dosing:banghead:. I know what it's like to have to go back up in dose. She was at 1u and tightly controlled when she went into the hospital in mid-October. Post-pancreatitis attack, her dose went all the way up to 4.25u by almost the end of December before I saw much in the way of green numbers again. Now she is at .75u, so just below where she was at in dose six months ago.
This is Butters's story. I use it as an example to say that's why I think it's better to focus on getting Pearl into the greens. Follow TR and take your increases.

Could there be an aggravating factor (besides the pred) that is causing her numbers to rise? Is she feeling a-okay?

No wonder you're stressing, given you have to be out for 11 hours a day. Have you read this post on doing TR with a full time job? It has lots of great ideas. Maybe you'll find something useful there.

Hang in there, mama bean:bighug:. You're doing a wonderful job.
 
Margaret :bighug:. I can very much sympathize and it is only natural to feel frustrated sometimes. Often times we look for reasons why the cat doesn't seem to be doing things like they did before, and I can't answer specifically why she needs more insulin now. I do see the pred is having more of an impact. I'd personally try not to focus in on one or two particular cycles, but maybe look at her patterns, then let the numbers guide you, and increase following the dosing methods until you get the results you want. I'd let the next couple of cycles follow their course, then determine whether you need to increase. My suggestion would be up to 2.25u, but perhaps let's see if Wendy and Marje have different opinions. How is Pearl feeling otherwise?
 
I mean...does this happen? Your cat is all GREEN FOREVER and so GREEEEEEN and then....all of a sudden....your cat is NOT GREEN?!? Is this a "thing" I need to get used to?
Unfortunately yes. Things cat can change. Marje even had to deal with seasonality with Gracie's numbers. Allergies in the air or the barometer or whatever. There is a limit to what you can control. For me I had this pesky pituitary tumour and there were limited things I could do about it. In such a case, just follow what the BG numbers tell you to do.

I also found that 0.25 unit increases were better than inching the dose up. I tended to take smaller decreases, unless of course we were on a roll down dose. Know thy cat. Experiment and see what works for her.
 
I looked over Molly's historic SS. What an emotional roller coaster...I think I have to stop focusing on remission and just take one day at a time, or I might be liable to fall into despair about how long this might last.
Although it would be nice to see Molly go in remission. I just focus on how she feels. I know she’s a happy cat. You’re right it has been an emotional roller coaster. She’s considered a long term diabetic. I have to admit I get jealous seeing cats go into remission so quickly. But then I look at @Diane Tyler's Mom. He was a long term diabetic cat and is now in remission. There is always hope!
 
:bighug::bighug: It is soooo hard, I know. I was always told not to look in the rearview mirror with regards to past doses and what Butters's numbers were. They need as much insulin as they need, and those needs can change.
FD is a marathon, not a race and it is just so true. I've gone up and down the dosing ladder with Butters a couple of times. The second time I had to climb the dosing ladder with butters was after she had a pretty bad acute pancreatitis attack...and the hospital messed around with her insulin dosing:banghead:. I know what it's like to have to go back up in dose. She was at 1u and tightly controlled when she went into the hospital in mid-October. Post-pancreatitis attack, her dose went all the way up to 4.25u by almost the end of December before I saw much in the way of green numbers again. Now she is at .75u, so just below where she was at in dose six months ago.
This is Butters's story. I use it as an example to say that's why I think it's better to focus on getting Pearl into the greens. Follow TR and take your increases.

Could there be an aggravating factor (besides the pred) that is causing her numbers to rise? Is she feeling a-okay?

No wonder you're stressing, given you have to be out for 11 hours a day. Have you read this post on doing TR with a full time job? It has lots of great ideas. Maybe you'll find something useful there.

Hang in there, mama bean:bighug:. You're doing a wonderful job.
Hi Lyla, and thanks for your message! I appreciate hearing Butters' story so much! So...the Pancreatitis. Usually I can tell when we are in an attack - her BG goes up, she gets crabby and doesn't eat, growls a lot. I thought a week or so ago we were starting an attack. But things didn't escalate with her behavior, and now it is fairly a-ok. So I don't know if there is an attack going on, given her BG is still...odd now and not so stable. I have debated taking her to the vet multiple times, but I know she is not sick enough for a hospital and so I don't think doing bloodwork will be very informative right now - I am doing supportive care for the Pancreatitis, IBD, and CKD - been down this road a lot before and am very skilled with nursing senior cats, so aside from a hospital (which isn't needed at this point), the vet won't be able to give any additional care based on bloods if any of these issues are out of whack. I could get her tested for a UTI, but she is also symptom free there.

I am honestly terrified about the thought of leaving the house for an extended period of time. It's not imminent (I have to get the job first), but I suspect that it is coming in the next few months.

I think I will increase her to 2.25U tomorrow night so that we are at a normal even dose, and take your advice and try not to look in the rearview mirror! Have a good night and hope you and Butters get some rest!
 
Margaret :bighug:. I can very much sympathize and it is only natural to feel frustrated sometimes. Often times we look for reasons why the cat doesn't seem to be doing things like they did before, and I can't answer specifically why she needs more insulin now. I do see the pred is having more of an impact. I'd personally try not to focus in on one or two particular cycles, but maybe look at her patterns, then let the numbers guide you, and increase following the dosing methods until you get the results you want. I'd let the next couple of cycles follow their course, then determine whether you need to increase. My suggestion would be up to 2.25u, but perhaps let's see if Wendy and Marje have different opinions. How is Pearl feeling otherwise?
Thanks so much for your message Christie. Pearl seems to be feeling better than she did a week ago. Maybe not totally herself, but definitely not crabby and has a much better appetite. The diarrhea has also passed, so in theory she should be ok in all those health aspects. I think that is what messed me up with her BG increases - I was thinking it was tied to Pancreatitis attack, so when the symptoms died down and the BG didn't, I started to panic.

I will plan to do 2.25U tomorrow night. Have a nice night!
 
Unfortunately yes. Things cat can change. Marje even had to deal with seasonality with Gracie's numbers. Allergies in the air or the barometer or whatever. There is a limit to what you can control. For me I had this pesky pituitary tumour and there were limited things I could do about it. In such a case, just follow what the BG numbers tell you to do.

I also found that 0.25 unit increases were better than inching the dose up. I tended to take smaller decreases, unless of course we were on a roll down dose. Know thy cat. Experiment and see what works for her.
Thank you so much, Wendy. I am so glad to know that this DOES happen and Pearl is not the odd-cat-out. It's interesting you mention Gracie's allergies. Pearl has allergies and asthma. Much worse during the Spring Summer and Fall months (asthma for 3 years, allergies just commenced last Spring for the first noticeable time). Pearl has not seemed to be reacting yet, but maybe that is what is going on at a level I can't see yet. I hadn't thought of this possibility.

I think I will stick with 0.25U increases from now on. But question - since we are at an "odd dose" 2.125U, when I go up tomorrow should I go up to 2.25U to make that normal number, or do the 2.375U? I also really LOVE the idea of smaller decreases actually (except when she is trucking down which I can tell when she is on that roll based on how much carb intake is required to keep her afloat). Somewhere in my brain they seem a more logical way for her to "for sure" hold her reduction?? And I monitor her enough to do this, I think.

Have a nice night!
 
Although it would be nice to see Molly go in remission. I just focus on how she feels. I know she’s a happy cat. You’re right it has been an emotional roller coaster. She’s considered a long term diabetic. I have to admit I get jealous seeing cats go into remission so quickly. But then I look at @Diane Tyler's Mom. He was a long term diabetic cat and is now in remission. There is always hope!
Thank you so much, Adrienne! We must never lose sight of that hope! Somewhere inside I had been looking forward to the time SOON I could sleep in and get enough rest...I have to just resign myself to having a cat who is like an infant for as long as it will take! I appreciate you sharing. I have HOPE for Pearl and HOPE for Molly! Have a nice night!
 
when I go up tomorrow should I go up to 2.25U to make that normal number, or do the 2.375U?
I would go the full 0.25 units. It'll be an odd number, but if you are using calipers should be OK. And if you need to decrease after that, it'll be a smaller one down to a "regular" number.
Somewhere in my brain they seem a more logical way for her to "for sure" hold her reduction?? A
For cats that don't hold reductions well, you can try the technique of 3 times between 40 and 49 on separate days, or immediate reduction if she goes under 40. But if you do that, it's a full 0.25 unit reduction, not a skinny one.
 
Thank you so much, Adrienne! We must never lose sight of that hope! Somewhere inside I had been looking forward to the time SOON I could sleep in and get enough rest...I have to just resign myself to having a cat who is like an infant for as long as it will take! I appreciate you sharing. I have HOPE for Pearl and HOPE for Molly! Have a nice night!
Hi Margaret like @Adrienne & Molly said there is always hope.
At one point I had to increase Tyler's dose to 2.75 back in 2020
It took him 2 years and 4 months to go into remission, which I never thought would happen.
I wish you all the best with Pearl ♥:bighug:
 
Back
Top