? 4/2 Oren AMPS-422;+11.5-141; PMPS-161, pm+1-195;+2-253;+4.15-362;pm+10-247;

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan & Oren

Member Since 2015
Yesterdays Breakthrough day!

Well of course, the bounce continues this a.m, but at least he didn't go all the way to black. frustrating i won't be around today to see how low he gets... hope by PMPS he's clearing already, but i won't get my hopes up too much about it.

Best of everything to all kitties and their devoted folks here today!
 
Last edited:
well well, he is full of surprises. Cleared the bounce already and got a bit lower than yesterday, which means at this 11.5 he may be going up from something even lower?? should I wait 15 min to 1/2 hr and test again? full dose? reduce? It's now 6.15 pm, i normally shoot about 6.45. Did have plans to go out this evening about 8.00, for a few hours. If i shoot normal 5.25 I would at LEAST have to leave a few meals I assume... Boy oh boy, here we go. I can get a pm+1 at least, maybe even a 1.5 or so...
 
odds are pretty good he'll repeat himself. and bounce some more....
you will be able to see if he's going up or down here in a bit....at preshot... ( 30 minutes)
i'm on my way out the door....

if you stall remember to not feed.
stalling... if he goes lower... might buy you some time to enjoy your dinner.....or whatever....
 
WAHOO! That is very telling that he cleared the bounce in 24 hours. So he's very likely been hitting some blue numbers inbetween all the high numbers and his body isn't as unaccustomed to them as we thought.

The time to shoot low (the full dose into normal numbers) isn't when you have to leave for a few hours. I think if you have to go out, unless he's over 150 at pmps, I'd go with a plan B - probably reducing the dose.

I'll check back in with you in a half hour and see where he is at pmps and help you walk through what you want to do tonight.
 
thanks Julie; I don't HAVE to go out, i was hoping to go just a few miles down the road to see a friends gig; she got snowed out a few wks ago, and this is the reschedule, but I don't have to go, or could delay going till closer to 9 or 9.30 even... pmps is now only 15 minutes away. it also occurs, i may have to dash to get more test strips, only have 18 left...
 
I'd probably go buy strips right after shooting, if you end up shooting on time.

Then if you're flexible about your evening plans, you could maybe wait and decide based upon his first tests post-shot. And maybe not stay too long, but you surely would be able to at least stop by for a bit if it's not too far away.
 
so, if in 10 min. he's 150 or more, i could feed, shoot normal dose, go get strips, try to get a +1 test at least before feeding any other meals?
 
As long as you're going to be able to monitor tonight if he drops into lower numbers. Last night he bounced right away, but as cats get used to being in lower numbers, their bouncing patterns change.

If you can monitor, I think your plan sounds good. Actually, if you can monitor i'd shoot even if it's lower than 150.

I just realized today was one of your workdays - how lucky you were able to get the +11.5 test in!
 
ok, so we got 161 at pmps, I assume I go ahead and feed and shoot normal now? then the dash to Walmart for strips (boy they better have them!!)
 
right, well back from store, bought a few cans of med. carb food too (have gravy, higher stuff here already), and 100 more strips!
about 15 more min. to +1 test time, but first momma is gonna eat something, or I'll pass out before test time!
 
ok, well not a big bounce yet, I suspect I should test again at least at +2, maybe 1.5? if he's still going up would it be safe to leave for a little while if i leave some meals in the feeder?
 
I'd test at +2 unless you want to leave earlier, in which case I'd test right before you want to head out the door. And yes, I think if he's still going up at the next test, I'd assume another bounce.

I'd probably still get a before bed test, just in case he decides to clear the bounce quickly.

Great job shooting, Megan! :D
 
Thanks so much Julie, all your advice and all the reading I've done is helping a lot, but I'm still feeling a bit adrenalined about all this!
if he's still going up, do i need to leave food out? or only if he goes down? even if i go out, the latest I'd be out is about +3.5 or so
 
i haven't typically been feeding him after his regular dinner time in the past. So i don't have a model. I've typically only been feeding mini-meals in the morning.
 
ah, I fed punkin 3oz at preshot and 1.5oz at +3 every day.

Spreading out Oren's meals will likely help to flatten out the bouncing. I'd go ahead and give him some of his regular food somewhere around +2-4ish maybe, just to help with that.
 
indeed! could take a lifetime. amazing how much you can soak up when you have to though! being thrown in the deep end as it were...

so, as to the dose, would I continue to hold at 5.25 for now? tonight was cycle 7...
 
Last edited:
ok, at +2 253, so not a huge bounce, but up. I'm going to leave some food that will be available by +3, and head out. Should be home by 10.30, 11 latest, which is 3.5 or 4. and will test again then.

this is encouraging, no?!
 
i'm very tempted to stay up and see if he's going to go much higher... or, perhaps i should just go to bed, and get up 2 hrs. before AMPS to see, since he seems to like to go low later in the cycle, at least in daytime. I left him a small (1/4 can of ff) meal at pm+3 tonight and he's only at 362 at +4, where last night he zoomed to 467 at +2... maybe he's lowering his bounces already?!

I'm glad I got to go out for a little while, caught up w/ many friends at the gig and enjoyed a glass of wine to take the edge off. literally a 5 min. drive away which made it feel doable!
 
Lovely blues today. Now he's bouncing - don't need to stay up. I'm glad you got out - gotta have a life along with FD too. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top