4/2 Lucian PMPS2 409 +4/199 +6/176 +8/145 +10/186

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS@+11/264

Hope today will be a flatter, longer cycle and you can both get a rest...I do like Jen's idea of reducing the dose a smidge.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS@+11/264 +4/269 +8/229

He's running flat, but I haven't shot yet. I have to leave in 2 hrs and I'm gonna test again shortly. I will shoot before I go if he's in range, which I expect him to be. Just wanted to see how long he'd keep the flat yellow.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS@+11/264 +4/269 +8/229

Hmm. Interesting. Lucian is usually not the one who will let those numbers run past 12. Have we seen a long cycle with him before? I am taking this as a good sign.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS@+11/264 +4/269 +8/229

He's only at +8. He has had several 10, 11, 12 hr cycles and even a 13. His last shot was at +11.

I changed the subject, maybe that's easier to understand.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS(@PMPS+11)264 +4/269 +8/229

I didn't shoot the +8, because I'm waiting to see what he is at +9 or 10 if he stays flat. I have to leave after +10 and will be gone a couple hrs, so I can't wait longer than +10.

I try to put how long the last cycle was, in the subject, since we are trying to get duration.

I didn't see Jen say anything about reducing, she said increase a bit. I'll have to figure out when to do that, because at 2U he has dropped to 40.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS(@PMPS+11)264 +4/269 +8/229

Did I say reduce? :-D It's entirely possible...

I think I mentioned possibly trying a tiny increase as an experiment - of course the risk is that Lucian has been known to drop, so I'm thinking front loading the food if you were going to try that, just to see if you can stretch the cycles a tiny bit. That would be an experiment definitely to be tried only when you can monitor (I know I don't have to say that to you, Deb, but ya know...other people that might be reading, etc.). To be clear, I'm not seeing anything numbers-wise that would warrant an increase...just tossing some hypotheticals based on what I've seen with Eddie and dose/duration. :-D
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS 401

OK, he got to +9. I just put it as his PMPS, since the way I was doing it seems to be confusing.

Have to meet with the WC caseworker, got to go.

Hey Jen, my biggest problem is that I can't look at his SS and see patterns, etc. Never have had that ability. I have tunnel vision I guess, I see 1 cycle at a time, no matter how hard I look.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS 401

nckitties3 said:
Hey Jen, my biggest problem is that I can't look at his SS and see patterns, etc. Never have had that ability. I have tunnel vision I guess, I see 1 cycle at a time, no matter how hard I look.

I don't think it's a matter of you having tunnel vision, Lucian is just plan tough to read! :smile: The only distinct pattern I can spot with him is that while he does do the spike-type bounce, he also has those flat short cycles after a couple good cycles.

Since these days Lucian is closer to BID more often than not, I'm wondering if you possibly stitch back to a BID formatted SS? That might make the times line up a little more easily to maybe see some patterns more easily? What I do for Eddie when I shoot early or late is just denote time in the PS field. For example, if I shoot at +10, I'll put that in the PS column but denote that it was at +10. The other test times I put in the respective columns. For shorter cycles, it's more important to see what's happening early in the cycle, I think. I have actually thought about trying to tweak the formatting with Eddie's SS too, since I stall so frequently, it might be easier to see what's happening when he's doing when we're stalling.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS 401 +2.25/223

I was already thinking of going back to BID SS.

Here's another fast, early drop. Don't know what's up with that, he usually has a late nadir. If you can use the word 'usually' to describe anything about Lucian. :YMSIGH:

Just got in. Had to carry a 20# box of litter into the building, up the elevator and what feels/seems like about a block to my apt! The distance from the elevator to my apt is crazy. I'm at the far end of the building. This was in addition to a bit of groceries and cat food. I'm getting too damned old for that mess. I usually put my wheelie cart in my truck, I forgot to take it. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS 401 +2.25/223

Wow, that is a fast drop. Looks like he cleared not only that spike, but maybe clearing the flat cycle? Maybe Eddie will take note, and follow suit? :smile:

I do think it's interesting that his short flat cycles almost to the T stop at 8 hours.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS 401 +2.25/223

For real! Remember the 1st few weeks? Until I upped his dose, they were all 8 hr cycles.

I bought some Sheba Turkey Pate for Lucian. I remembered (that's rare) that they were ok for carbs. Couldn't find it, but did find this in another thread:

So here are the values I got for the Pates (which all have the same as-fed values, according to the company):

Protein: 13.7
Fat: 6.9
Carbs: 1
Fiber .14
Ash 2.5
Moisture 75.9
Phosphorus .31g

Calories per can 113, with the exception of the beef, which is 114.

Translated to percent of calories:

Protein: 42.4%
Fat: 51.9%
Carbs: 3.1%
Fiber: .12 g per 100 kcal
Phosphorus: 274 mg per 100 kcal

I have plenty of Friskee's for the other 2, but wanted something just for Lucian, cause he's really been off his food the last few days. It's .60 at Dollar General, which is as far as I went after the meeting with WC. Just grabbed litter, few cans of Sheba, milk, bread, gatoraid, I'm good for another week. NO, wrong, forgot TP. WILL make a trip just for that. :lol:
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS 401 +2.25/223 +6/89 +8/103 +10/170

Yeah looks like he's coming back up. Better 11 hours than 8! :smile: Overall looks like a nice cycle, though!
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian PMPS 401 +2.25/223 +6/89 +10/170 +11/206

I'm gonna hold off until +12 and see how high he goes. I don't expect him to be too bad considering and I'm really trying to get him on that 12 hr schedule. Hope he's under 300.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 281 +4/82

As low/fast as he's dropped, I gave 2 tsp of MC at +4. Hoping it will level him off for a bit until time to start working his way back up.

Will test again in an hour since I haven't been to sleep, nausea and tossing my cookies. Yuk.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 281 +4/82 +5/64

1 tsp HC - mostly gravy. Maybe that should be enough to hold him until time to climb. Don't want to give much or for too long, knowing the way he spikes. But it's just too early in the cycle to be dropping that low.
 
Re: 4/1 Lucian AMPS 281 +4/82 +5/64 +6/69

Holding off on food since he's asleep. Check again in an hour. Maybe he'll come up a little now.
 
Re: 4/1-4/2 Lucian AMPS 281 +4/82 +5/64 +6/69 +7/65

Darn, another sleepless night, Deb. Time to lower the dose? Maybe just a little will help soften the drop. Normally we'd say soften it with food, but he is eating often........
 
Re: 4/1-4/2 Lucian AMPS 281 +4/82 +5/64 +6/69 +7/65

Geez Lucian - let momma bean get some rest will ya!

I am excited to read the word "reduction" in his condo. Even if it is a smidge.
 
Re: 4/1-4/2 Lucian AMPS 281 +4/82 +5/64 +6/69 +7/65 +8/84

That was a quick drop! But it looks like he did surf in those greens for several hours afterwards. Hopefully he'll give you a nice long cycle in those lower numbers without spiking dramatically at the end.
 
Re: 4/1-4/2 Lucian AMPS 281 +5/64 +7/65 +8/84 +10/185

Lucian wasn't the sole reason for my being up all night, my gall bladder was acting up.

We'll wait and see if he's gonna hold off till +12. Sure would be nice.

He had diarrhea an hour after the HC. I'm pretty sure that's what caused it because he's had the Sheba several times before and it didn't have that effect, although I don't know for sure if the HC did. I think it did help hold him up for a while.

I'm wondering if the Sheba had anything to do with yesterday and last nights numbers. According to the info I found, it has about 3 carbs, that's half or third of what he usually gets. Normally from 6-9. And he ate 2 cans of it yesterday/last night.

If I wait till +12, I'm pretty sure he'll do the 'Lucian Spike'. Wonder if I should shoot at +11 and reduce or wait till +12 and hold the dose. I don't think more than a skinnying of the dose will help, cause he was on 1.75 and I couldn't get any duration out of it. Was only after I took him to 2U he started stretching out his cycles. He is so confusing.

Any suggestions?
 
Re: 4/1-4/2 Lucian PMPS@+11/289

I went ahead and shot at +11 because of his numbers. I did try to skinny his dose a tad. I think I got it between 1.75 and 2.0, hard to tell.

I'm going to go back to his BID SS in the morning, since he's a lot closer to BID than TID now.

Down for another nap.
 
Re: 4/1-4/2 Lucian AMPS 281 +5/64 +7/65 +8/84 +10/185

Lucian you are such a little puzzle!

Maybe see where he's at at +11, and if he's zooming up, and looks to be headed into a bounce, hold the dose? If he stays flat and gradually comes up to +12, maybe a skinny?

Those greens look great on him, so I guess it's whether or not you want to steer with food to keep him safe to keep him in those numbers maybe? He looks like he did wonderfully with the MC, and the tiny bit of HC -- numbers wise anyway. Bummer about the loose poo. He's had two good cycles in a row, so time for him to have a bounce cycle?

I dunno. From big picture standpoint, I wonder if Lucian might have better luck holding a reduction and being able to stretch his cycles on a lower dose if you can keep him having these great cycles for a little bit longer? What do you think?
 
Re: 4/1-4/2 Lucian PMPS@+11/289

Well, I did just the opposite. :lol: Too late to worry about it now. :o

I figure the longer he can hold onto the longer cycles in good numbers, the more he's healing. But It's either push the 12 hr and try to shoot on a sliding scale or keep chasing his preshots and shooting as needed with slight variations in dose.The problem being, he has no consistency. He'll be fine on the same dose he drops too low on a day later, wash rinse repeat.

Right now, I can't think, gotta get some sleep. We'll chit chat more about it later.
 
Re: 4/1-4/2 Lucian PMPS2@+10/409

BOING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Too exhausted to deal with it tonight. Should get over the bounce by tomorrow.

Got to decide if I'm going to push the BID and sliding scale or keep chasing numbers. :?
 
Re: 4/1-4/2 Lucian PMPS2@+10/409

Oh darn! Ah well, lets you get a little rest tonight. :smile:

I wonder if you might "aim" for BID, but shoot sort of as needed?
 
Re: 4/1-4/2 Lucian PMPS2@+10/409

Uhhhhhhhhh thought that's what I WAS doing. @-) :lol:

If I could go to sleep now, I might get 2 hrs uninterrupted before he wakes me to eat. Then @+4, I'll test and he'll be at 86, dropping too damned fast. If it's 'crazy' that's what he'll do.

Feel like I'm banging my head against a brick wall. 16 months of this. But have to say, he has been better on the PZI. The only time he was running similar, was the first few months on Levemir, then it went to hell in a handbasket. "Where we goin' and what am I doing in this handbasket?" :lol: Oh yeah, sleep deprivation, a wunnerful thing. :roll: I'm just plain goofy tonight and running on caffeine and adrenalin and couldn't go to sleep if my life depended on it at the moment. Gonna lay down and see if I might doze off for a bit. Sleep? Who needs sleep? I'll sleep when I'm dead! At this rate, that may be sooner than later. :shock: :lol: Oh geeze, gonna lay down.
 
Re: 4/1-4/2 Lucian PMPS2@+10/409

nckitties3 said:
Sleep? Who needs sleep? I'll sleep when I'm dead! At this rate, that may be sooner than later. :shock: :lol: Oh geeze, gonna lay down.

I feel ya! @-)

I don't think you really need to change anything you're doing. Overall, Lucian's cycles are looking pretty darn good! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/1-4/2 Lucian PMPS2@+10/409

I agree. His numbers are great overall, but I know it is stressful to go between TID and BID. I vote going with a safe, smaller dose when you need some sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top