4/2 charlie's AMPS 402! Day 2 of insulin...bounce?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kristina & Charlie :)

Member Since 2013
Hey guys and gals. I posted on tight regulation yesterday, but this may be a little better for me, as this is Charlie's second day of insulin and I don't have the schedule to practice the tight regulation. Here is yesterday's condo.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=92313

When I tested him this am I was surprised to see the 402. This is still the bounce right? That can last a few days? I just want to make sure. I won't be able to test him much today.

Well. I hope everyone is having a good morning! ~O) ~O)
 
Kristina & Charlie :) said:
Hey guys and gals. I posted on tight regulation yesterday, but this may be a little better for me, as this is Charlie's second day of insulin and I don't have the schedule to practice the tight regulation. Here is yesterday's condo.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=92313

When I tested him this am I was surprised to see the 402. This is still the bounce right? That can last a few days? I just want to make sure. I won't be able to test him much today.

Well. I hope everyone is having a good morning! ~O) ~O)


Hi Kristina,

With the disclaimer that I'm one of the relative newcomers around here - I'll tell you to keep in mind that meter variance can be +/- 20% - and that 402 is within about 10% of what you've been getting for morning numbers....so it really isn't too far off what you've been seeing in your preshots. Bounces can take 3 days to clear - so you're right as far as that goes also. And because Lantus builds on itself (the shed that they talk about) it takes a few days to "settle in" to a dose.

So don't let that 402 worry you - as you can see Charlie comes down well and stays in nice numbers between injections......and that should help you not worry when you can't be around to test mid cycle.

Em

The good news is that you likely won't have to worry about Charlie going too low today - looks like the Lantus is doing just what it should.
 
Good Morning Kristina and Charlie.

Lantus takes a few days as Em said to settle whenever a dose is changed so since Charlie is just starting out he is going to give you some fairly weird numbers until his depot is full and he settles. But so far he looks like he is going great on that .5u

The easiest way I have found to explain what Lantus is doing in his body is try thinking of it like when you add bath salts to the tub, some of it dissolves right away, and mixes with the water, but normally when you get in there is still a little bit of grit from the non-dissolved stuff, well that is kinda what Lantus is doing in the very beginning you may have given .5u but the first shot only about a .2u went to help bring down Charlie's BG, the rest is just sitting under his skin waiting to be used, the next shot some of what wasn't used from the first shot is now being used as well as that little bit of the second shot, so if he got .2 from the first dose and another .2 from the second shot, he effectively is now using .4u for his second cycle, and so on until eventually once his shed is full he finally gets to use that full .5u to help him bring his BGs down.

At least today you aren't going to have to worry about him dropping too low. One thing with Lantus is that you don't want to react to just one number (unless it is below 50) or one cycle, or even one day's numbers. What you are going to be looking for is trends, and for those first 3-5 days that you hold a dose while the shed fills you just want to make sure he isn't dropping too low on a any given dose. And collecting data to help you make a better decision later on if he needs to go up or down in dose.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top