? 4/2 "Bouncy" Bud in the blacks AMPS 502 PMPS 562, +2.25 492

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Stacy - those look very much like high bouncing numbers, not like highs that mean a cat necessarily needs more insulin.

With Lantus & Lev, dosing decisions are made by how low a dose will take a cat. Bud got to that preshot of 115 on 3/31 and right now that's the most important number on his ss in recent days. That blue preshot caused a bounce and a bounce can last as long as 3 days. That would mean he could be high until tomorrow evening's cycle. What you want to know is what number he gets to when he clears the bounce - so yes, those mid-cycle test numbers are critical.

I wouldn't plan to increase his dose right now. I'd wait and see what he gets to when he clears the bounce. He also is no doubt affected by the dose reduction, and when you've given a reduced dose, you then count 6 cycles before increasing the dose (if you're following Tight Regulation). There's a couple of great explanations of this - take a look at "Where Can I Find?" and check out the "New to the Group?" sticky at the top, where there is a post called "Should I Increase the Dose?" and then at the bottom half of the post, "counting cycles" is also helpful.

It says in your signature line that you're following Start Low Go Slow - is that still correct? If so, you'd stay at this 0.75u dose for one week (start counting after the 3/30 0.5u one-time reduction), then do a curve, then decide if you need to increase the dose.
 
I just don't know that I test enough for tight regulation. I like the idea of increasing only on weekends but then again I'm so anxious to get him in better numbers. I'd like to find his optimal dose ASAP of course. I regret that decreased dose but felt it was best since I had to leave right after his injection for almost 2 hours and I have no data with a preshot that low. Better safe than sorry and hindsight is 20/20... I was leaning towards staying at 0.75 but wanted advice from some more experienced eyes. I wondered if maybe he would settle into 0.75 if I stayed with it a while longer.

Thank you so much for your reply. You've been very helpful, much appreciated!
 
Have you read Libby's post on Is Tight Regulation Possible with a Full Time Job? Yes! She has some excellent tips on how to gather data when you are away for good stretches of the day.

Bud does love his trampoline! :rolleyes: Of course, going from 482 to 277 in three hours last night (over 70 points an hour), probably set off another bounce. Sigh. It will get better as he gets used to those lower numbers.
 
My Mikey is an expert bouncer. I wonder if he's been giving lessons again! :) Don't be discouraged. Just keep plodding on. You really do learn how to manage FD and still have a life. I work full time at a totally inflexible job, and it can be done. Do you have a timed feeder?
 
Don't be discouraged. Bouncing is frustrating, to say the least.
I am still dealing with it but am getting great results from feeding the curve and slowing the drop.
You are already ahead having Wendy and Julie to guide you:)
 
I don't want you to feel like you have to justify making the reduction when you were faced with a low preshot number. That's a perfectly reasonable decision! Especially for someone new to this, and it's the safest course if you're not going to be able to monitor afterwards. It was a good decision. My only point is that when you change the dose, you reset your "count" for when you would re-evaluate the dose.

The FDMB saying that "this is a marathon, not a sprint" is both aggravating, comforting, and true. Who knows how long any particular cat will be diabetic when the diagnosis first comes? You have to figure out how to still have a life, still sleep and be sane, while taking care of your cat. It's a balancing act and each person finds their way through it in a way that works for them. You never need to feel badly for making the choices that work for you. :bighug:
 
My Mikey is an expert bouncer. I wonder if he's been giving lessons again! :) Don't be discouraged. Just keep plodding on. You really do learn how to manage FD and still have a life. I work full time at a totally inflexible job, and it can be done. Do you have a timed feeder?

I do not have a timed feeder, mostly because I didn't think it would be helpful with 6 cats. But I was wondering about the 2 compartment one. I was thinking enough food would fit in there that maybe Bud would have a fair chance of getting some of it lol. I'm not always 100% certain that he hasn't ate within the last 2 hours before his preshots. And I was thinking it might be helpful to feed him mid cycle and then ensure he doesn't eat 2 hours prior to preshot. You think?

I'm trying my best to still have a life, I have to for myself and my family. So is Mikey making money off bouncing lessons or does he offer them for free? ;)
 
Have you read Libby's post on Is Tight Regulation Possible with a Full Time Job? Yes! She has some excellent tips on how to gather data when you are away for good stretches of the day.

Bud does love his trampoline! :rolleyes: Of course, going from 482 to 277 in three hours last night (over 70 points an hour), probably set off another bounce. Sigh. It will get better as he gets used to those lower numbers.

I have read over Libby's post. Is there any compromise in tight regulation like choosing a slightly higher nadir that earns a reduction? Say 60 instead of 50? I think I'd be more apt to switch then.

You know my daughter did just get a trampoline a couple weeks ago... I'll have to make sure he isn't sneaking out there when I'm not looking!
 
Some of the 2 compartment ones have been broken into by hungry kitties. I don't know specifics, but if you have kitties with voracious appetites you would want to read the reviews on any you are thinking of getting.

Another trick that people use is to freeze "catsickles" - mix the cat food with some water and freeze in muffin tins or ice cube trays. The goal being that the cat waits to eat it til it thaws, although some cats will gnaw on them even when they're frozen, lol. I'm positive Punkin would've eaten them frozen.

We used the PetSafe 5 compartment feeder. My daughter has 2 cats and she bought one feeder and has ours, and she sets them in 2 different parts of the house to open at the same time. Not sure how well that works, but it's an idea. Would you have to have 6 feeders? :eek: There is at least one post on feeders in the Where Can I Find? post in the bottom section.
 
Don't be discouraged. Bouncing is frustrating, to say the least.
I am still dealing with it but am getting great results from feeding the curve and slowing the drop.
You are already ahead having Wendy and Julie to guide you:)

What method are you using to slow drops? Doesn't look like he's dropping any too fast tonight tho...
 
Some of the 2 compartment ones have been broken into by hungry kitties. I don't know specifics, but if you have kitties with voracious appetites you would want to read the reviews on any you are thinking of getting.

Another trick that people use is to freeze "catsickles" - mix the cat food with some water and freeze in muffin tins or ice cube trays. The goal being that the cat waits to eat it til it thaws, although some cats will gnaw on them even when they're frozen, lol. I'm positive Punkin would've eaten them frozen.

We used the PetSafe 5 compartment feeder. My daughter has 2 cats and she bought one feeder and has ours, and she sets them in 2 different parts of the house to open at the same time. Not sure how well that works, but it's an idea. Would you have to have 6 feeders? :eek: There is at least one post on feeders in the Where Can I Find? post in the bottom section.

My cats always show up at dinner times, but I wouldn't say any of them have a voracious appetite. They eat a bit and walk off. None of them are scarfers oddly enough... Lol. Sometimes there's even food left when I go to pick up their plates! I'm playing around with how much I put down trying to find that balancing act of feeding enough but with no leftovers. Of course I think it depends on flavors too as some disappear quicker than others lol.

Soooooo I'm totally kicking myself for this but I think there's been a food breach... I had a bag of dry in a cabinet and I was only keeping it until I could find someone who wanted it. Well I see the bags been ripped open and there's some kibble loose in there. Of course I don't know which cat did it, but that would certainly explain today if it were Bud. Ugh! Whoever it was even closed the cabinet behind themselves.... Smart buggers! Needless to say, that bag of dry is now in the garage. Bleh!
 
Is there any compromise in tight regulation like choosing a slightly higher nadir that earns a reduction? Say 60 instead of 50? I think I'd be more apt to switch then.
If it helps you any, the normal range for non diabetic cats goes down to 40. You might want to try testing the rest of the herd to see what you get. We've even see a couple of cats in remission get to high 30's. However, we use below 50 as the cutoff for reductions and time to give higher carbs, as otherwise we have no margin for error.

Bummer on the kibble raid - that happens so often around here. :rolleyes:

To slow drops, you first try to figure out when they are doing the big drop, and try to give them some food/carbs before hand, to slow it down. I don't know when you feed feed Bud, but mini meals or several meals of smaller portions can help the drop. With the data you do have in your spreadsheet, it does look like Bud likes to drop somewhere between +2 and +3. In that case, I'd give him a meal (part of his dinner) around +2 so he has carbs on board when the onset happens. It might even have to be slightly higher carbs than his regular meal, if his regular low carb food is not enough to slow him down. Figuring out the right feeding schedule is a bit of an art and requires some experimentation. Try something for a while and see how it works, change it if it doesn't improve things enough. If you look at the Where Can I Find Post, there is a listing for a post called Feeding the Curve, Tashie. Lots of good info in there.
 
410 at +4, calling it a night.

I think I will see how this next week goes and then I might decide to switch to tight regulation. I did test Goobie once because he was losing weight and he was 50. He has no symptoms of being ill, I just think the wet food is making him healthier. I mean he was a butterball and could stand to lose the weight. :)

I think tomorrow morning I will feed the lowest carb I have at shot time (4%) and then try a medium carb snack at +2 or +3 then. Thanks for the tip! Makes sense.
 
I do not have a timed feeder, mostly because I didn't think it would be helpful with 6 cats. But I was wondering about the 2 compartment one. I was thinking enough food would fit in there that maybe Bud would have a fair chance of getting some of it lol. I'm not always 100% certain that he hasn't ate within the last 2 hours before his preshots. And I was thinking it might be helpful to feed him mid cycle and then ensure he doesn't eat 2 hours prior to preshot. You think?

I'm trying my best to still have a life, I have to for myself and my family. So is Mikey making money off bouncing lessons or does he offer them for free? ;)

Mikey gives lessons for free as a public service. I'd recommend avoiding him. He's trouble! ;)

I have the two compartment timed feeder. I'd call it very so-so. It doesn't take up nearly as much space as the five compartment one, which is great in our tiny house. Our Scottish Folds have never even tried to figure out how to open it. They're pretty mellow, though, so I'm not sure you can judge by them. On the down side, it's hard to set with any precision, and it goes through batteries pretty fast.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top