4/2 Biscuits AMPS 536 +3 /512

Hi Sandy!!!

Welcome to Lantus and Levemir Land. We’ve got your SS up and running and here’s the first post you did on the Main Health Forum. Any time you see blue in a thread like you see in “first post”, that means there is a link there so if you click on it, you can see what’s in the link.

I PMd you some info on titles and that we would love to see you and Biscuits here every day; we start a new thread every single day with all of your questions in that thread even if it is related to food or anything else concerning Biscuits. This post will give you some info on how we “do business” around here :) If you haven’t read any of the stickys at the top of this forum, it’s a great idea to do that; tons of great info.

Right now, we need to start doing a bit more testing so we can see if Biscuits needs more or less insulin. It’s important to always get a preshot test. Then we want to start filling the SS in like a puzzle. For the daytime cycles, try getting a +2 and a +6 one day and then a +3 and a +8 the next, etc. In the evenings, after the PS test, a +2 and a before bed test will really help us start to sort out where he is.

I’d suggest holding the 3.5u dose until we get a little more data. Then we can see which way Biscuits’ dose needs to go. How does that sound?

We are SOOOO glad you found us!!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Awesome job getting the PMPS!!!

Do you mind, please, adding the date and his name in the title of this thread so we will know which cat it is? Thank you!

We might all have to wear our patience pants just for a few days until you are able to start getting those extra tests and we can see what he’s doing. Thanks for trusting us!
 
Awesome job getting the PMPS!!!

Do you mind, please, adding the date and his name in the title of this thread so we will know which cat it is? Thank you!

We might all have to wear our patience pants just for a few days until you are able to start getting those extra tests and we can see what he’s doing. Thanks for trusting us!
Got it!
 
Hi Sandy!!!

Welcome to Lantus and Levemir Land. We’ve got your SS up and running and here’s the first post you did on the Main Health Forum. Any time you see blue in a thread like you see in “first post”, that means there is a link there so if you click on it, you can see what’s in the link.

I PMd you some info on titles and that we would love to see you and Biscuits here every day; we start a new thread every single day with all of your questions in that thread even if it is related to food or anything else concerning Biscuits. This post will give you some info on how we “do business” around here :) If you haven’t read any of the stickys at the top of this forum, it’s a great idea to do that; tons of great info.

Right now, we need to start doing a bit more testing so we can see if Biscuits needs more or less insulin. It’s important to always get a preshot test. Then we want to start filling the SS in like a puzzle. For the daytime cycles, try getting a +2 and a +6 one day and then a +3 and a +8 the next, etc. In the evenings, after the PS test, a +2 and a before bed test will really help us start to sort out where he is.

I’d suggest holding the 3.5u dose until we get a little more data. Then we can see which way Biscuits’ dose needs to go. How does that sound?

We are SOOOO glad you found us!!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 

Hi Sandy!!!

Welcome to Lantus and Levemir Land. We’ve got your SS up and running and here’s the first post you did on the Main Health Forum. Any time you see blue in a thread like you see in “first post”, that means there is a link there so if you click on it, you can see what’s in the link.

I PMd you some info on titles and that we would love to see you and Biscuits here every day; we start a new thread every single day with all of your questions in that thread even if it is related to food or anything else concerning Biscuits. This post will give you some info on how we “do business” around here :) If you haven’t read any of the stickys at the top of this forum, it’s a great idea to do that; tons of great info.

Right now, we need to start doing a bit more testing so we can see if Biscuits needs more or less insulin. It’s important to always get a preshot test. Then we want to start filling the SS in like a puzzle. For the daytime cycles, try getting a +2 and a +6 one day and then a +3 and a +8 the next, etc. In the evenings, after the PS test, a +2 and a before bed test will really help us start to sort out where he is.

I’d suggest holding the 3.5u dose until we get a little more data. Then we can see which way Biscuits’ dose needs to go. How does that sound?

We are SOOOO glad you found us!!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:[/QUOTE
Hi Sandy!!!

Welcome to Lantus and Levemir Land. We’ve got your SS up and running and here’s the first post you did on the Main Health Forum. Any time you see blue in a thread like you see in “first post”, that means there is a link there so if you click on it, you can see what’s in the link.

I PMd you some info on titles and that we would love to see you and Biscuits here every day; we start a new thread every single day with all of your questions in that thread even if it is related to food or anything else concerning Biscuits. This post will give you some info on how we “do business” around here :) If you haven’t read any of the stickys at the top of this forum, it’s a great idea to do that; tons of great info.

Right now, we need to start doing a bit more testing so we can see if Biscuits needs more or less insulin. It’s important to always get a preshot test. Then we want to start filling the SS in like a puzzle. For the daytime cycles, try getting a +2 and a +6 one day and then a +3 and a +8 the next, etc. In the evenings, after the PS test, a +2 and a before bed test will really help us start to sort out where he is.

I’d suggest holding the 3.5u dose until we get a little more data. Then we can see which way Biscuits’ dose needs to go. How does that sound?

We are SOOOO glad you found us!!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

i gave the 3.5u. before reading this. I'm testing him in an hour
 
Excellent getting the +2. I know these numbers are hard to see.

Did the vets ever tell you about testing him for ketones? You can buy urine ketone strips at Walmart or any pharmacy. I’d highly recommend testing him every single day while he’s high. If he will let you, it’s easiest just to stick a large spoon under his bottom when he squats. Then just dip the strip in the urine, wait exactly 15 seconds, and then read it against the bottle.

I’ll check back in a bit for his before bed test,
 
I asked about that. The vet said it wasn't necessary and it wouldn't change the treatment plan.
His +4 has come down!
Curious about morning shot and the numbers.
 
I asked about that. The vet said it wasn't necessary and it wouldn't change the treatment plan.
His +4 has come down!
Curious about morning shot and the numbers.
It’s really important to test ketones and do it daily when numbers are high. Ketones can lead to diabetic ketoacidosis which can be deadly.

Let’s just hold the 3.5u for now and see what he does the next few cycles. Hope you get some rest tonight and I’ll check in in the morning.
 
Glad to see a tiny step in the right direction. I'll hold off on the Lantus in the morning. I'll post the amps and +2 .
 
Hi, Sandy and welcome to the group!

I agree with Marje about testing for ketones. From your nursing background, you know how dangerous ketones can be. I look at getting a test for ketones as an inexpensive way of preventing a very expensive and potentially disastrous situation. I'm not sure what your vet means by DKA not changing the treatment plan! IVs, basal and bolus insulin, problems with electrolytes -- that sure sounds like a change in treatment plan to me!! At diagnosis, my cat was in DKA and it do not recommend it to anyone.

In addition to what Marje has suggesting, it might be useful to look at a range of kitties' spreadsheets. It will give you a feel for the kinds of patterns we see. You're also likely to see some numbers that look like Biscuit's early on. You'll also see that there are people and Marje and I who were confirmed testaholics. (We like data!) You may also want to look at the sticky on how to do this if you work outside of the house.

Please let us know if you have questions. There are people here who have a great deal of experience and everyone is willing to lend a hand.
 
Hi, Sandy and welcome to the group!

I agree with Marje about testing for ketones. From your nursing background, you know how dangerous ketones can be. I look at getting a test for ketones as an inexpensive way of preventing a very expensive and potentially disastrous situation. I'm not sure what your vet means by DKA not changing the treatment plan! IVs, basal and bolus insulin, problems with electrolytes -- that sure sounds like a change in treatment plan to me!! At diagnosis, my cat was in DKA and it do not recommend it to anyone.

In addition to what Marje has suggesting, it might be useful to look at a range of kitties' spreadsheets. It will give you a feel for the kinds of patterns we see. You're also likely to see some numbers that look like Biscuit's early on. You'll also see that there are people and Marje and I who were confirmed testaholics. (We like data!) You may also want to look at the sticky on how to do this if you work outside of the house.

Please let us know if you have questions. There are people here who have a great deal of experience and everyone is willing to lend a hand.
Thanks, I'll get the test strips today. I have asked about testing for ketones for 1 year! I'm not a vet so I figured the vet knew best about cats.!! My head is spinning with all of this information but I will get it together!!
 
Can you clarify what you meant by "holding off on the Lantus"? It looks like you didn't give Biscuit a shot. Was there a reason why?

Just to clarify, "holding" a dose means that you continue to give the same amount/dose of Lantus, in other words, don't change the dose. It doesn't mean to hold off on giving a shot.

 
Last edited:
Can you clarify what you meant by "holding off on the Lantus"? It looks like you didn't give Biscuit a shot. Was there a reason why?

Just to clarify, "holding" a dose means that you continue to give the same amount/dose of Lantus, in other words, don't change the dose. It doesn't mean to hold off on giving a shot.
This is my fault. I didn’t check back in after my last comment to “hold the 3.5u for now” to see her question. I’ve been here too long and it didn’t occur to me that “hold the dose” does sound like “don’t give the dose”. I should have said, “continue to shoot 3.5u”. I’m very sorry, Sandy.

I would give insulin now at +4. I know from PMs that you are retired and have the flexibility to get back on track. With his numbers as high as they are, you could shoot two hours earlier than normal tonight. That would, theoretically, leave two more hours to catch up on but you mentioned in passing in a PM that you might like to change your shot time to 9/9. That would enable you to shoot on time tomorrow at 9 a.m. if that is the time you prefer.

Again, my apologies. Mea culpa :confused:

I’ll be back shortly with some other info for you.
 
Sandy....I’d grab a +6 test from the time you shot.

Tomorrow, you will want to start a new thread (we call them a “condo” here) by clicking on “start new post” on the main Lantus/Levemir page (where you see all the stickys; just look under “inbox” and you’ll see it).

Each day, first thing, we link the previous day’s condo in the text box and also put some info about how he’s doing. We call it a “well cat report”. Is he doing the 5Ps (purring, playing, preening, peeing, pooping)? Is he eating well? Anything you’d like to tell us as well as any questions you have.

To link the previous day’s condo, go to that condo, click on the browser address for that condo, highlight it and copy it. Then start a new post, put your title in (e.g. 4/3 Biscuits AMPS xxx with xxx being his BG). In the text box, write something like “yesterday” or yesterday’s date, whatever you’d like, highlight it, then click on the paper clip looking icon in the tool bar above the text box. It’s the 7th icon from the left. Paste the browser address you copied into the box and click “insert”. That should do it!!

I’ll check back in later today before your shot time.
 
Back
Top