4/1Beta amps stall+14 =95 dose given? Travel

Beta kitty

Member Since 2016
Any suggestions for a dose today? Bg +12.75=84. Bg steady at 70 overnight. Her bgs have been varying a lot lately, likely due to Prednisone and anesthesia- dental and CT recently.

I'm taking Beta to the University of Mn Vet today for surgery/oncology consult appt tomorrow. It's a 3-4 hr drive. We're leaving approx at +6 after normal shot time.

Sorry on phone don't know how to link previous post. Thanks for any help.
 
Sorry no one was around to answer your question. Did you give any insulin? I hope your trip and the appointment go well.
 
You're going tomorrow right, Tuesday?
If it's just a consult they'll probably want to see her in her normal state. I assume they've already given you any special instructions. That could be a long drive depending on the cat and strangers will be poking and prodding her. If you weren't told otherwise proceed with her normal dose. Beta is your baby, you know here best.
If anyone says "Actually it's doctor" you might be in the wrong place, just put up with it and do what's best for Beta. Good luck.
 
Sorry no one was around to answer your question. Did you give any insulin? I hope your trip and the appointment go well.
Thanks for responding. Yes I gave 2U at +14 when bg was 95. I think maybe she needs a lower dose than her normal 3 U in general but can't tell because numbers are jumping around lately.
 
You're going tomorrow right, Tuesday?
If it's just a consult they'll probably want to see her in her normal state. I assume they've already given you any special instructions
Going this aft. No instructions given. Just made appt for consult after vet sent all records. Hope for surgery - likely injections site sarcoma. Beta travels ok. Thanks
 
If she travels okay just make it a normal day. I have sometimes reduced a dose to 2/3 of what was indicated in case of puking and stress. Easier to fix a high number later that be stuck on a highway with a HYPO.
 
Noah and me--
I gave 2U instead of usual 3U due to lowest amps ever. Had to stall 2 hrs. Will give cerenia to prevent puking but she doesn't usually have problems with this.
 
Lowest amps ever? Maybe tomorrow will be your lucky day, cat is in remission and the oncologist is wrong. It's happened to me. :bighug:
 
Remission:) that would be great!! She did stay around 70 last night from +4-AMPS. But I think it's maybe because she's getting the prednisone out of her system from higher doses a while ago.
Driving down there today and appt is tomorrow in case my earlier response wasn't clear. I'm not all there right now, very anxious about driving in Minneapolis and don't usually function before noon.
 
You're going tomorrow right, Tuesday?
If it's just a consult they'll probably want to see her in her normal state. .
Ha, Ha, don't think she'll be in a normal state after travel and staying in the hotel and seeing strange vets and dogs in waiting room!
 
You'll be fine. Don't forget to give us updates.
This is stating the obvious but some doctors put too much faith in ultrasounds in diagnosing cancer. Please feel free to correct me anyone. For us the next step were failed needle biopsies. I've always been told getting cells under a microscope is best. It's was too long a story for now.
 
You'll be fine. Don't forget to give us updates.
This is stating the obvious but some doctors put too much faith in ultrasounds in diagnosing cancer. Please feel free to correct me anyone. For us the next step were failed needle biopsies. I've always been told getting cells under a microscope is best. It's was too long a story for now.
Unfortunately they got fluid aspirate that was suspicious for injection site sarcoma. I posted labs in other post on main page. Too complicated for me to link it right now. Thanks will keep you updated.
 
Back
Top