4/19 TR Jenks AMPS 99 +5 64 +8.5 62 PMPS 72 +3 63 +6 59 +7.5 75

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
4/18

The good news is, I'm refreshed and renewed with 9 total hours of sleep! That was seriously fantastic.

Jumping right into it, this morning we returned to a normal dose, but I feel like I made a mistake now that he's already in the low 60s again nearing midcycle. Jenks went 24 hours yesterday on 2.0 unit doses and still didn't break 100.

What does this mean?

Does he have such a large depot, or such a slow draining depot, that even 24 hours isn't sufficient for it to empty and show an effect?

I'm now worried that this 4.25U dose (especially if it's still too much for his body) will refill the depot some and we'll be doing this dance all over again.

Is his body telling us that it's time to get out of the 4 unit doses? As @julie & punkin (ga) and @Vyktors Mum pointed out in yesterday's condo, when a cat is on a mission, sometimes 0.25U or even 0.5U reductions don't register. So how how far down the scale should I consider going if a reduced regular dose is called for? 0.75U (to 3.5U) or even 1U (to 3.25U)?

How likely is it that his depot is empty, and we're just seeing him stable on 2.0U doses?

No matter what, I'm open to another BCS dose as an option tonight if he shows any indication today of going lower than I'm comfortable with.
 
Last edited:
Isn't sleep wonderful! :):)

I think I would try going down to 4.0 U with Jenks. He seems like he's on a mission. With higher dose cats, you can do larger reductions to a point. When Neko started tumbling down scale from north of 8 units, I found that .5 U decreases worked until she got down to 3.5 units. ECID and different reasons for going down scale, but it' worth an experiment. Much easier to go back up if you need to. It can also take a couple of cycles before you see the results of a reduction so it's possible that is what you are seeing too.
 
I think trying 4.0u is a good option. This is one of those situations where you're just trying things to see how he responds. If you decide to go with 4.0u, I think you could reasonably expect to see him in the 50's -60's. If you want him higher than that, you might try another 2u dose and see what happens.
 
Another great cycle for Jenks!!

Sure looks like "something" has clicked!! Hopefully he'll be one of those that comes tumbling down the dose ladder....all the way down to OTJ

That would be wonderful!!:D:D:D
 
Cruising into PMPS at a respectable 72. That actually kind of sort of resembles a normal Lantus cycle. Hooray!

Ok, so we took a reduction to 4.0U, and we're going to just see what happens. Paws crossed!

Hold that dose Jenks. Only 16 more to go!!!
 
Jenks has come down just a bit in the first quarter of the cycle. So far, so good. I suspect that the next three hours or so should tell the story. Hopefully he just hangs out flat here.
 
Jenks is on a nice, gentle coast, only down 13 points in 6 hours. So happy for no drama. I picked up some Friskies Savory Shreds at the store earlier tonight. These clock in at about 14%, which I'm going to call "medium" carb for Jenks. I may put one out here in the next hour or so for him before going to bed, and seeing how he reacts to it BG-wise.
 
Offered him the 14% shreds. He turned his nose up. Offered him some 9% Classic Seafood Entree. He pushed it away. Hmmmm. How about some 6% Mariner's Catch? Nom nom nom. Go figure.

I don't know if its the MC or if he got a little taste of the gravy from the shreds or he's just on the rise, but he's up to 75. So I'm going to roll the dice and hit the sack. Hang in there till morning Jenks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top