4/19 Shadow AMPS=62 ~PMBG=60~+1.5=94

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
AMPS=154 ~3.0u Lev
+2=116
+3=100
+5=70
+7=55
+0=98
PMPS=104 ~3.0u Lev
+1=100
+3=153
+7=119
AMPS=62 ~3.0u Lev (8th cycle)

Yesterday
Shadow had 4 Ps yesterday and 3 so far today. He started out the day with me in the bathroom which he hasn't been doing lately. He seemed more like himself this morning including eating his breffis. At the +7 snack time, he didn't touch the food so I figure that's why his preshot is so low this morning....He got 12 crushed Temptations sprinkled on top of his LC breffis. He did speak and his voice sounded stronger but not 100% normal yet.
I hope he ate all of those treats because his sister stuck her nose in his bowl and he let her eat what was left of his breffis. She is on a diet so his food doesn't count towards her daily allowance. Only her intake is cut back a little. Strange how she seems to know it.
Guess I should sit over them while they eat and monitor their behavior. Talk about a doting Mama!
I am so happy to see the improvement in his appetite and attitude. Hoping that he keeps on eating during today....
That is the one thing that gets me so worried...the not eating. So scary for cats to not eat!

Hope you all have a wonderful Tuesday! Hugs! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/19 Shadow AMPS=62

Look at that AMPS! Might be a busy day for you, Pat!! I hope Shadow's appetite perks up soon. That Raja is a sly one, isn't she? Too smart!!!

Enjoy the day. We have sun today!!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/19 Shadow AMPS=62 Thoughts?? Help!!!

AMPS=62 ~3.0u Lev (10 crushed Temptations with LC which he ate)
+1=58
+2=56 (12 crushed Temptations)
+3=53
+4=53 (HC gravy)
+5=61 (HC gravy)
+7=68
+8=55
+9=48 (more HC)
+9.5=38
+10=40
+10.5=46

Since he ate breffis, I thought things would be okay for his regular dose. I don't think I should give his regular dose tonight...but I am at a loss right now as to what to do. Any thoughts?

I think the HC gravy all day has been making him sick....adding to an already upset stomach perhaps? In the past, the HC seemed to fill him up so he was not interested in solid food and that seems to be the case today. I fed him a little 8% with Temptations and FD chicken which he at at +9 after vomiting at +8. He seemed to enjoy that solid food and has kept that down.
I called the vet office after he vomited and they told me to withhold food and water all night tonight to let his system "rest" and bring him in for the day tomorrow "to be regulated". They said that a sore throat is not unusual after the intubation from the dental... I am concerned that his appetite is not so great lately and he has vomited once a day for the past 3 days.

I cannot just not feed the boy....to me, that is insane. So, I am scheduled to shoot in one hour... 7:45... but with these low numbers today, I am not sure what to do about the insulin..... I just gave him some more HC gravy with a couple of drops of Karo at +10.5 since he went so low...
I guess the HC on an empty stomach might have been the cause of his vomiting, but I am not sure if that is it or if there is something else going on with him. If he would only eat a substantial amount of solid food, things would be a lot smoother.

Needless to say, I am not ready to drop him off at the vet office for the day tomorrow. They use Humilin there and as far as I am concerned, they don't have a clue about longer duration insulins. They are probably remembering his 600s the day of the dental and think he is out of control.

Should I just keep monitoring him and see if he eats? Should I give him a token dose, let's say 1.0u and keep doing what I am doing to try to keep his numbers up? Should I not shoot at all tonight? Anyone around now with some suggestions for me??
 
Re: 4/19 Shadow AMPS=62 Thoughts??!! Help!!!

Pat --

Try baby food. It's easy on the tummy and on the throat -- it slides down. Also, make sure Shadow is drinking. You don't want dehydration on top of everything else.

If you can get Gerbers, I'd go with that. It's higher in carbs (about 7%) than Beechnut since the Gerbers contains cornstarch.

I'd hold on the insulin. If Shadow's not eating, it's going to be an on-going battle to keep the numbers up. I'd err on the side of safety.
 
Re: 4/19 Shadow AMPS=62 Thoughts??!! Help!!!

Gerbers...ok....thank you Sienne....I had given him mushy watery food so he did have that extra fluid.
I keep thinking about hepatic lipidosis..I hate it when they don't eat as they usually do...
Maybe I will skip the shot tonight...and try to get him to eat the baby food....many thanks!!
I had given him Pepcid in cheese the other morning, but he got sick right afterward. I think the vomiting could be from an empty stomach.
Thank you so much!!
 
Re: 4/19 Shadow AMPS=62 ~PMBG=60

PMBG+60

Thank you all! I gave him some 8% Friskies mixed grill and put Freeze dried chicken on top with a few crushed Temptations and he ate it!!!! I am so happy he ate!
Okay...no shot tonight....hopefully he will keep eating on his own....I don't have to worry that the insulin will drive his numbers down too low during the next cycle...
 
Re: 4/19 Shadow AMPS=62 ~PMBG=60

Hi pat - oh my - what a day you've had... so sorry! but I am glad that Shadow is eating. YAY! I hope all is well with Shadow. When Mannie had his last dental I had a long haul with him before he was his normal self, two days worth. I think skipping tonight was a good decision. Good luck - and be better Shadow!
 
Re: 4/19 Shadow AMPS=62 ~PMBG=60

(((Pat)))....sending mega healing vines to your beautiful boy. Wise decision to not shoot tonight. Eat Shadow!!!
 
Re: 4/19 Shadow AMPS=62 ~PMBG=60

I'm glad he ate his dinner. One less thing for you to worry about tonight (((hugs))). I know exactly how you feel about when they don't eat.
 
Re: 4/19 Shadow AMPS=62 ~PMBG=60

He has never, ever had this experience with dentals in the past. In my mind, the sore throat could have lead to his not wanting to eat. When he didn't eat, he would vomit. Vomiting made his throat hurt more....that acid coming back up from his stomach. One thing lead to another over the past few days. It looks as if he lost weight too....he just seems so lethargic and is so quiet.
I expected better numbers after the dental, but the not eating made the numbers much lower than they would have been normally I think. The low numbers and his not eating made the HC gravy come into play to bring the numbers up. The HC gravy was too heavy on his empty stomach and he would vomit...oh, the vicious cycle!
IF I knew for sure that there was nothing else gong on with him, I would be able to relax a bit. But there is always a concern that there is something else happening...besides what I mentioned above.
 
Re: 4/19 Shadow AMPS=62 ~PMBG=60

whew, I'm glad Shadow ate some dinner. I agree with skipping the shot. That's one less thing to worry about tonight, and it would be hard to bring him up if he dropped.

Poor little guy, I hope he'll feel better soon.
 
Re: 4/19 Shadow AMPS=62 ~PMBG=60

Hi Pat, I'm glad you skipped the shot this evening. You and Shadow will rest better and he can have a real rest because you won't have to be testing him every half hour. It sounds like the combination of the pre-dental preparations, the dental itself with the tube, the anesthesia, the gravy food, which may have been too rich, etc. etc. just snowballed on him. I think you're very smart not to take him in to spend all day at the vet tomorrow! Give him some time at home to recuperate. The KTSS will bring him some chicken soup.

Sending lots of healing vines and thinking good thoughts for your boy. Feel better, Shad-0! Get a good night's rest, all of you.

Many hugs, :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/19 Shadow AMPS=62 ~PMBG=60

What a day you've had, Pat! Fingers and paws crossed that Shadow continues to eat well, keeps the fuds down, and feels better soon!! Glad you have some breathing room tonight as well!
 
Re: 4/19 Shadow AMPS=62 ~PMBG=60

+1.5=94
He is by the open screen door....just resting...
I put a bowl down for him at dinner time.... I thought he would go over and eat next to Raja as always, but he didn't. So, little Miss Piggy who is supposed to be slimming ate from both bowls! She is driving me crazy! :lol:
Will see how he does at the next snack time....
Thank you all! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/19 Shadow AMPS=62 ~PMBG=60

Hope he is feeling better tomorrow morning! FWIW Kazi never eats well the day after needing gravy/hc food so I would imagine it upsets her tummy a bit.
 
(((((((((Pat)))))))))) I am so relieved to see that Shadow is eating. I hope he continues to keep things down. I know I was up the walls when Tess didn't want to eat a few weeks ago. One thing that she did go for (when I finally thought of it) was her raw food. Or maybe just boiled chicken if you don't want to try raw. That would get some calories in him at least. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

0-get_well_cat.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top