4/19-Racci-262,+4.75-275,+6.5-309,PMPS-398

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
I'm thinking this decrease might be a mistake, or this is the biggest bounce she ever had, or I shot the air right through her fur without realizing it because Racci has been steadily going up all day! She's been at harmful levels since last night and at her age that's no good.

Any ideas, suggestions? I've even thought of giving a little extra insulin now and then shooting at regular time. You know, like a booster? :lol: I don't want to see her go in upper 300's or worse.

Thanks for your input.

Melanie & Racci

Yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69017
4/18-Racci-AMPS-212,+4.5-103,+7-130,PMPS-255,+4.75-283 bounce!
 
Re: 4/19-Racci-262,+4.75-275,+6.5-309 EEK! Dose Advise Pleas

Just call it a fur shot, let the shed drain some, and go back to your last best dose...
That's the best advice I can give you Mel.. Just start over tomorrow, Racci will be fine..
If you want to see my website, click on the world icon under Moonie's picture..

Really she will be OK tonite..Start over tomorrow-It's never a good idea to re shoot a cat as you NEVER know how much juice went in--Hugs & Love from us!!
 
Re: 4/19-Racci-262,+4.75-275,+6.5-309 EEK! Dose Advise Pleas

Melaine, dont panic. Although we hate seeing those numbers, we know it's a bounce.
Racci will come down, be patient.
 
Re: 4/19-Racci-262,+4.75-275,+6.5-309 EEK! Dose Advise Pleas

"No" to booster shots. That's a really, really, really bad idea.

I think you need to re-read the dosing protocol and stick to it. Increasing the dose for 2 cycles because of bounces is not a good strategy. These kind of dose changes may be causing the wonky numbers. If what you're seeing is a bounce off of the 70 on 4/17, you need to hold the dose for up to 72 hours for the bounce to clear. You also don't want to increase the dose due to a bounce. If the 3.25u dose brought Racci down to a 70, you need to see where the numbers settle after the bounce clears.

Also, since you increased the dose this morning, you may be seeing new dose wonkiness (NDW).

And, finally, the difference between 275 and 309 is within meter variance. Basically, Racci has been surfing.
 
Re: 4/19-Racci-262,+4.75-275,+6.5-309 EEK! Dose Advise Pleas

Thanks Roni and Tortie,

I never noticed you had a website listed, Roni. I'll go visit it. I just noticed I have to fix my link also. I had to redo the profile since it got lost on the old board.

I'm so aggravated because I bet that was a fur shot even though I never felt it or smelled it on her. She came down for a part of the day yesterday, so maybe it wasn't the dose? I'm all confused about whether it was the dose or the shot now. If it was a fur shot, do you think she would come down again by tomorrow or take a while?

Tortie, I'm not sure it is a bounce. It looks like a furshot. The way the numbers are going all straight up looks like a fur shot. With a bounce they still retain the proper shape usually with a nadir.

Thanks, I'm going to look at that site.
 
Re: 4/19-Racci-262,+4.75-275,+6.5-309 EEK! Dose Advise Pleas

She looks pretty flat to me.....I think if it was a fur shot, you might see much higher numbers. Hard to tell but 20% of 309 is roughly 60 mg/dl so the 275 falls within that range.
 
Re: 4/19-Racci-262,+4.75-275,+6.5-309 EEK! Dose Advise Pleas

Hi Marje,

So do you think it's a bounce still even though she came down for a while yesterday? She ate mostly 2% BG today too, whereas yesterday she was in the really low blues for a while and was eating mostly core at 13%! Or do you think it's a failed reduction and I should go back to the other dose?

The thing is, her last fur-shot was pretty flat too and never went high. It just went higher and higher at each test but stayed fairly flat but then again so did her last rebound!
 
Re: 4/19-Racci-262,+4.75-275,+6.5-309 EEK! Dose Advise Pleas

i think it could be a bounce from that 70 as well. it almost looks like the bounce didn't start til the next day, but i do recall hearing that some cats delay the bounce a day like that.

when punkin's bounced, there isn't any curve or nadir - it just goes up.

could also be from dose changes. either way, holding the dose til the numbers settle down is what i would do.
 
Re: 4/19-Racci-262,+4.75-275,+6.5-309 EEK! Dose Advise Pleas

Hi Melanie, sorry I don't give dose advice, but I do hope Racci will have better numbers tomorrow.
 
Re: 4/19-Racci-262,+4.75-275,+6.5-309 EEK! Dose Advise Pleas

Hi Sienne & Julie & Daphne,

I don't think it's a bounce off the 70. She's been at 70 and lower without bouncing and she always bounces the next day. I agree it could be from the dose changes though. I shouldn't have bounced back and forth. I was uncertain and did it without talking to you all first. I didn't know if I was going to hold the new dose or go back.

I'm not sure that the new dose gave her the low numbers. Could it be the shed that did? I also forgot about the 72 hour hold on dose.

I know you told me before not to reshoot, Sienne. I was kidding this time because I was totally unsure. I wouldn't really consider something like that in this situation. I don't even know that it was a fur shot.

I'll be back. I have to hurry and get Racci's shot, food and meds ready. She's due in 25 minutes. Should I go with the 3.25 or the 3.5 now?
 
Re: 4/19-Racci-262,+4.75-275,+6.5-309 EEK! Dose Advise Pleas

I don't think she is bouncing off the 70 still. Changing the dose so much is probably confusing. You raised today again and so she could have some NDW.

If you leave her at 3.5u, you will need to watch and test closely because she got to a 34 on it not that far back. She did get down on the 3.25u dose so IMHO, I'd take her back to that and then closely follow the protocol.

No extra little drops because of bounces...that could backfire on you :-D
 
Re: 4/19-Racci-262,+4.75-275,+6.5-309 EEK! Dose Advise Pleas

melanie, i just saw your previous post where you said that you were feeding her 13% yesterday. what was the reason for the 13%? you wouldn't ordinarily need to give anything other than low carb unless she gets below 50, or really because she's a longer term diabetic, below 40.
 
Re: 4/19-Racci-262,+4.75-275,+6.5-309 EEK! Dose Advise Pleas

I'm back. I checked to see your answers but didn't have time to reply, Marje & Julie. I didn't want my little patient to think it was ok to leave in the middle of getting meds. :mrgreen: Thank you, I went with the 3.25u. Do I have to give it another 72 hours if it is not working now? She went all the way up to 398! ugh! She also felt a little dehydrated to me When I gave her shot. I don't know why. She's been eating all day and drinking. It must be from the high BG.

Julie, the reason she's eating the 13% W. Core Salmon is because there are only 3 wet foods she'll eat and one of them won't be available for a while since I have to wait for the stores to sell out of the month of November,2014 and hope she'll eat it again. She was eating the Wellness Salmon & Trout @7% but I bought some at Petco and all of that month and year were bad. I didn't realize it until I served it to her once so she may never eat it again now. Then when I ordered it online they sent me 2 cases of the same month/year! When I opened a can from the new case it did not smell rotten but did smell funny/different. I called Wellness and they said they would send me a check but did not recall! The only other wet food she eats is the Merrick BG Salmon @ 2% mixed with the Core for texture. Racci is very hard to feed wet to. Luckily she's still been getting blues and greens even with the Core. I have to try to find something else she'll eat.

Thanks for your help! I hope she settles down with this dose and gets good numbers again.
 
i would look to the changing carbs in her food as one reason for her numbers not being what you're hoping for. switching from 2% to 13% is actually pretty huge. the "high carb" that i give punkin is 15%, which isn't especially high carb - technically it's a medium carb.

not sure of a solution for you, but you might go back to the Binky's & other charts and see if you can find something else low carb that she will eat. i think the 13% is likely messing her numbers up. if you can consistently give her the same carbs, then the insulin dose will be better matched to the carbs, if that makes sense.
 
The list isn't helping me. Its a matter of what she'll eat. I've given away or thrown away hundreds of $ so far trying to find what she will eat. I need a list telling me which are pates & creamy like Wellness. It seems to be texture as well as what it is with Racci. So far all she will eat are salmons that are smooth. I was surprised that she liked the BG because it has a texture similar to FF, which she didn't like. She liked The turkey gravy but left the turkey behind with the new Wellness and they were high too. She has been getting the Core pretty consistently without it effecting her numbers much but it's putting weight on her again, which is no good either so I've been mixing them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top