4/19 punkin amps 265 +3/225 +6/177 +9/200 pmps195

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/19 punkin amps 265

Julie, does Punkin bounce at the same cycle each time you up his dose? Gus is almost always on his 4th cycle and BOING. How long have you and Punkin been at this dance?
 
Re: 4/19 punkin amps 265

I just went on Punkin's SS and counted...he's only had 6 pinks TOTAL!!!! Lucky duck!! Champ's had 6 pinks in one day! Of course, Punkin being on a higher dose might account for that :-D

Hope you have a great day!!!
 
Re: 4/19 punkin amps 265

bev, honestly i totally don't get this part. i have no idea if there's a consistent time he bounces - i have a hard time telling what's a bounce and what's a "new dose wonkiness." last weekend on his 12th cycle of an increase from 7.0 to 7.25 he bopped down into greens. at that point sienne had said she'd have increased him up the scale, but there he went down to normal numbers. i've wondered if he just takes longer to settle in, and if i've been too hasty to increase his dose. nothing says wait 12 cycles . . .

i started here with FDMB on feb 20th. before that it was a month of 2 shots a day with weekly testing (jan 26-). :shock: It started with diagnosis dec 4 & the first month Dec 4-Jan 4 was 2 shots a day of ProZinc with weekly testing. On Jan 4 we had a BG test at the vet's of 146 and he took him off insulin - when i took him back 2 weeks later to be tested again he was in the 300's, so we started on lantus.
 
Re: 4/19 punkin amps 265

12 cycles doesn't sound as if you're rushing him on dosing. My Gus will most likely end up with doses of @6U based on his reluctance to lower. I thought you were a veteran of FDMB because the opinions you give always sounded so wise to me. I suppose it doesn't take too long around here to sound as if you're an expert. Baptism by fire and all!!
 
Re: 4/19 punkin amps 265

nah, i'm just trying to learn all i can by reading posts by all the Wise Ones and more experienced people. i read most of the condos every day, but it takes too long to comment on all of them. i'm trying to only actually give advice on something i know about - like food & giving pokes or shots. other than that sometimes it's just asking more questions and bumping up people's posts.

i also answer because i felt close to panic several times at the beginning when no one was around to answer my questions - and it helps to have someone else just answer you, even if they don't know the answer. Know what i mean? i kinda knew what i needed to do but needed someone to confirm for me.

Patty, i missed your post last time! he hasn't had too many pinks, true, but i suppose that is because of the dose. although there are several high dose kitties around - most of them seem to have some other factor - acro or something. i haven't had punkin tested for those.
 
Re: 4/19 punkin amps 265

Well, when you answered it did help. It's true, you feel like you're out in cyber space (really) and all alone. Just being in a position where you know nothing, you're in charge of medicating someone you love, and you have no real direction........can really be intimidating. Especially at my age (56) where I'm fairly certain of most tasks required of me! Like the 1st day of a new job, only scarier. That initial fear is gone now but the questions still pop up. Thanks for helping me over that first few weeks.
 
Re: 4/19 punkin amps 265

I was very glad to hear from you when I first joined the board, because, as you said, I was in such a panic if I didn't get an immediate answer to a question. I'm still glad to hear from you :-D
 
Re: 4/19 punkin amps 265

it really helped me when people chimed in when i was first on, even if it was to say "hang on til morning." i'm glad you were both helped by it. just paying back!

i've moved outside on chickadee house duty. dang if those swallows don't try to drive out the chickadees when they start a nest in the house on my front porch. last year they completely drove them out after they'd already laid eggs. this year the chickadees have been in the house for a couple of weeks - not sure on the egg action, but there must be some - and today the swallows have been dive-bombing the house. 2 years ago i discovered if i hung up a piece of rabbit fencing (think large tomato cage wire) a couple of feet in front of the birdhouse it was enough to keep the swallows from the house. but last year the chickadees just abandoned it.

we've had chickadees nest there for the past maybe 8 years - one year i got to see the babies emerge from the nest. OHMYGOSH it was a stellar once-in-a-lifetime moment. little black bumbles sliding down the front of the van. hanging around the front yard . . . yeah. it was awesome.

so now i'm sitting outside because one of those swallows is being too persistent. i only hope the chickadees will return. i saw the pair watching the porch action from on top of the street light.

back to our regular programming. gotta go check punkin and feed breakfast #2 in 15 minutes.
 
Re: 4/19 punkin amps 265 +3/225

those danged swallows. i went inside to check punkin's bg for a few minutes and when i looked back out, there was a swallow at the opening of the birdhouse, another swallow on top of the birdhouse, and the chickadee on the fencing wishing they'd leave his/her nest alone. so i refortified the fencing with another piece.

it's war now. :lol: i think i need a picture.
 
Re: 4/19 punkin amps 265 +3/225

swallows want to swoop right up to their nest/houses, which is why a little bit of a barrier is enough to discourage them. i'm just a tiny concerned that the squares in the fencing are too small for the chickadee to feel comfortable going through. don't want to discourage them. i might have to keep going on my search through the husband's trash (oops i mean treasures) to find some with bigger openings.

i'm on a mission now. ;-)
 
Re: 4/19 punkin amps 265 +3/225 chickadees 1 - swallows 0

i know everyone's been worried :lol: so i'll tell you that after about an hour and a half, the chickadees returned to check their eggs, found them un-messed-with and after saying a LOT about those swallows, seem to have returned to life as usual. you can see the chickadee on the fencing in front of the house on the second one. the first pic shows the chickadee on the sumac about 15 feet away from the house. S/he looks like the star, doesn't s/he!

heehee. i'm easily amused.

and now i can leave the kitchen! wanted to make sure i didn't drive them off with the fencing.
 
Re: 4/19 punkin amps 265 +3/225 chickadees 1 - swallows 0

Those Chickadees are smart birds. I love them. I had no idea swallows were so aggressive!

ECID and Punkin is a cat! All I can tell you about NDW is that it often takes the full number of cycles for it to wear off. I think Punkin's numbers look good today: already he's in blue. I'd just hang in there and see what happens.

Have a great evening,

Love seeing little green leaves on your trees while we wait for spring to come here!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/19 punkin amps 265 +3/225 chickadees 1 - swallows 0

Hi guys .. mocha and twix can't wait for peter to figure out a way to hang up a bird feeder near the patio door here .. I can tell you that there were several times mocha was on a dose probably much longer then she needed to be .. I always waited for others to speak up and say bump up that dose!
 
Re: 4/19 punkin amps 265 +3/225 chickadees 1 - swallows 0

Hi Julie. Aren't the birds fun to watch? One time we had a Barn Swallow, nesting on a ledge above the front door, so we didn't use that door or porch for the whole nesting season. Then we discovered a gazillion mites on the door frame. Guess who got to clean that mess off? :roll:
The beautiful, but pesky Tree Swallow takes over the bluebird houses, because we put them too close to the pond, where they swoop and catch bugs in midair. It's amazing to watch.
They would divebomb, and annoy my little dog, when we walked near the nest boxes. (hehe)

When I saw your subject line, I thought you were going to say Punkin caught a little chickadeedeedeedee.

Ya know, I still like having someone around, and answering me, when I'm nervous about something. Even if the person doesn't have advice, it's nice to know you're not alone.
 
:lol: :lol: the house i'm in has birdhouses all around the kitchen window...
i never cleaned up this much poo when i had my cockatoo!!
 
Julie....well, girl....good question about bounce vs NDW. BUT....typically you would wait six cycles for a bounce to clear. If the numbers are still high, then you raise per the protocol. If you get high numbers at that time, then it's probably NDW and you want to give it about six cycles. The numbers may appear to be a bounce because they may be high like bounce numbers but a bounce *usually* follows either lower numbers (can be blue or green) and/or a steep drop. Does that help??
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top