4/19 Pumpkin AMPS 322 PMPS 322 +2 302, eating broom!?

Jacques and Pumpkin

Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-286-2-283-4-303-pmps-269-2-318-3-269.276597/

Pretty typical BG number for Pumpkin today.

But, when I got up I found she’d vomited up some mucus … and there were broom bristle in it!? I confirmed it came from the broom by looking at the chewed bristles on the broom. So far her appetite is normal and there has t been more vomiting. I don’t think she brought everything up, based on how many bristles are chewed down.
 
Hope Pumpkin gets to feeling better. Her numbers hold pretty steady even for upping her dose, they aren't all over the place. How often do you feed?
Wish I could get my readings in constantly like you do. Maybe after the 1st of the month I'll have more free time.
 
Hope Pumpkin gets to feeling better. Her numbers hold pretty steady even for upping her dose, they aren't all over the place. How often do you feed?
Wish I could get my readings in constantly like you do. Maybe after the 1st of the month I'll have more free time.

Thanks! So far she doesn’t seem to mind having eaten a broom all that much.

I do something a bit unusual with pumpkin’s feeding. She’s always been a very hungry cat, and eat an entire day’s worth of food then vomit it all back up if I let her. So she gets a larger meal in the morning, then four smaller meals every 2 hours (adding up to the size of the large meal). Then a four hour fast before her PM meal. Then I repeat the pattern for her PM cycle. That’s larger snacks than is usually recommended, but it works for Pumpkin.

I hope you can figure the testing out. Right now I’m getting a lot of tests because my wife isn’t traveling for work. Once she heads off for her next gig I won’t get quite as many tests because I’m away for work for 10-12 hours of the day on Tuesday-Thursday.
 
Thanks! So far she doesn’t seem to mind having eaten a broom all that much.

I do something a bit unusual with pumpkin’s feeding. She’s always been a very hungry cat, and eat an entire day’s worth of food then vomit it all back up if I let her. So she gets a larger meal in the morning, then four smaller meals every 2 hours (adding up to the size of the large meal). Then a four hour fast before her PM meal. Then I repeat the pattern for her PM cycle. That’s larger snacks than is usually recommended, but it works for Pumpkin.

I hope you can figure the testing out. Right now I’m getting a lot of tests because my wife isn’t traveling for work. Once she heads off for her next gig I won’t get quite as many tests because I’m away for work for 10-12 hours of the day on Tuesday-Thursday.

I give the largest in the morning too 8am. Allie will come back at 10am, 12pm, 2pm, 4pm, (trying to change that to 5pm or she wants to eat at 6pm) 8pm another main with a shot and then 10pm and 12pm. She goes until 8am the next morning. See this is where I get into trouble if I can't be here to feed her in the day like today. I was leaving and her sugar was at 279 about 12:30 and I did not get home until 4pm. Not sure if we over compensated yet.....

Pumpkin and Allie sound a lot a like. Glad you are able to be there but I'm slowly working on integrating a schedule.

How is Pumpkin doing since the broom incident?
 
Could be a combination of New Dose Wonkiness and/or tummy upset from her "treat". :rolleyes:

She was back at 322 at PMPS. I’m going to disregard the 400. It was about 10 minutes after a meal because we failed to get the sample on the first try. Her BG is still being weird, but unless I see a 400 after her usual 2 hour fast I’m not going to worry about it being too weird.
 
Down to 302 at +2. Let’s see if she can keep up a more normal cube at +3.

In one if my more unconditional acts of love, I’ve confirmed she’s passing some of the bristle in her stool. It was buried right in the middle…
 
What is it that they eat strange things. Allie did this at a young age.
I am going for 5 tomorrow here I need to get her numbers down but I also start a new pen soon. I'll be home for 3 days to monitor.
Pumpkin get well ASAP.
 
Back
Top