4/19 Peepee amps 85+2-71 +6-101

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doreen and PeePee

Member Since 2009
Hi everyone,
I thought I would join this group as her PS and nadir numbers keep coming down nicely. I thought I would need your help at this point.
She has been OTJ for 4 years, but here we are again. Started Prozinc on 3-1, then Lantus on 3/29 .
Today at +12-82, +12.75,13.5-85,not really at rising number so I shot .25 instead of .5. I've been shooting .25 in the evening
because I could't deal with low numbers at this time because we just lost our civie, and I didn't cope well. Now is the time to concentrate on Peepee.I know I should't shoot different doses, but maybe it was good I did.
At +2 she is at 71, I gave her 2 tsp. lc.
Any suggestions would be welcome.
Thank you, Doreen
 
Re: 4/19 Peepee amps 85+2-71 new to TR

Welcome back, Doreen. I'm sorry you're here but it looks like PeePee is responding well to a little juice. :mrgreen: I'm sure one of the more experienced members will have some advice for you.
Liz
 
Re: 4/19 Peepee amps 85+2-71 new to TR

Welcome to Lantus Land! Or, I guess welcome back is more accurate.

I think you have all of the basics down. Is sounds like you need to decide if you want to stick with shooting 0.5u twice a day or if you want to shoot 0.25u twice a day. If you needed to shoot a reduced dose to get through a tough time, it's understandable. It looks like you were used to shooting low numbers, so that shouldn't be an issue.

Just out of curiosity, did you get PeePee checked by your vet when you lost regulation? You noted a UTI? Were there any medical issues that contributed to his needing to be back on insulin?

Often, with a cat that comes out of remission, we tend to be more aggressive. Are you OK with that?
 
Thanks guys,
Well, it looks like I set myself back a bit. Sometimes in the past she has double dipped at the end. I thought I would check her at +10 or +11.
She did have a UTI and gingivitis and was treated, when we went back for follow up it had cleared up. I thought I would have her mouth checked again. No other health issues that we know of.
Her brother was on CRF food and every once in a while she would sneak up and grab a bite of his 29% carb.She got really sneaky.
That won't happen again.
I quess I'm ready to be more aggresive.
Thanks, Doreen
 
Just as an FYI, Dr. Lisa updated Janet & Binky's food chart. There are now 2 charts, one of which specifically lists the phosphorus content. Depending on what the phos level is, maybe you can find a food that's good for your CRF kitty and for Peepee.

I think it's your call whether to shoot 0.25u or 0.5u BID.
 
Welcome back to LL!

From your first post, I'm guessing that Peepee's brother has crossed the bridge, but if that's not the case, I had some e-mail communications with Dr Lisa a few weeks ago because I was confused about some discrepencies between her two food charts. She hasn't had time to get her phosphorous chart updated, but her protein/fat/carb chart, which includes phosphorous levels IS up to date. Here's the link:

Dr Lisa's food chart

Keep asking questions!! Hopefully you'll be back at the Falls before you know it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top