4/19 Noodle AMPS 217 +3 269 +6 324 +9 438 PMPS 388 +3 401

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patricia & Noodle

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-11-180-pmps-142-1-25-144-3-135-5-199.136451/

Thanks for stoping in yesterday, @manxcat419 and @rhiannon and shadow ! She didn't seem to hit any green last night, but she didn't go up very much either! Happy kitty this morning, purred her way through AMPS, CPC, and is sprucing up before she makes a morning window appearance.

This is cycle 10 on 1u. What should I look for in today's cycle to confirm a dosecrease for tonight? Does a cycle with anything but <50 mean I go up tonight?
 
If you're following the TR Protocol, then you increase after 6 cycles if numbers are consistently above 200. If numbers are below 200, you wait 10 cycles. I'm assuming you're following TR. If a kitty is in normal numbers, you might hold the dose for longer than that since a reduction can be given if the cat is in normal numbers for a week.
 
Thanks @Sienne and Gabby .

I thought that'd be the case, just wasn't sure because she's very bouncy and consistently quite high in the mornings. I didn't know if that meant I should try to hold the dose for a bit longer than 10 cycles to see if she could level out more without earning a reduction first.
 
Remember that your goal with Tight Regulation is to get all of her tests between 50-120, not to earn dose decreases. I didn't really understand that for a while.

I would try to keep her at 1.0u for a while by propping her nadirs up . Just feed her a bit if she's looking like she wants to go under 50 for a few days. That can help the higher numbers to come down.
 
Remember that your goal with Tight Regulation is to get all of her tests between 50-120, not to earn dose decreases. I didn't really understand that for a while.

I would try to keep her at 1.0u for a while by propping her nadirs up . Just feed her a bit if she's looking like she wants to go under 50 for a few days. That can help the higher numbers to come down.
Thanks. So you would err on the side of keeping her at 1u to see if she will come down overall rather than increase tonight?
 
She's getting to 60 on the 1u...so yes I probably would. I would've said that about the 1.25u too, though. Lol. It's up to you. I just wouldn't let her get a decrease anytime soon.
 
I think she's clearing the bounce. Flat blue last night usually means an active cycle next. It might not happen until tonight though if she's anything like Max. He has delayed reactions often, lol.
 
She's getting to 60 on the 1u...so yes I probably would. I would've said that about the 1.25u too, though. Lol. It's up to you. I just wouldn't let her get a decrease anytime soon.
Haha, ok. Maybe give her a couple more cycles to clear the bounce and if I don't see lower numbers I'll increase and still try to keep her above 50.
 
hmmm, waffle waffle waffle.

Your comment about the bounce made me look again. She cleared the last bounce last night and only got to 135ish. Maybe it would be a good idea to give her a little more juice. Sometimes these questions are obvious - this one isn't to me. If you increase her just be aware that she can get into the 40's at least on the 1.25u.

Whatever you choose, I'd still try to keep her over 50 so she can stay a little longer at the dose.

Maybe leave your question up and see if others have an opinion.
 
If you increase her just be aware that she can get into the 40's at least on the 1.25u.
Yeah, the thing that keeps me from wanting to go up to 1.25u without seeing a little more here is how she gave me that 41 at +12 on it when she earned her last reduction. Work is flexible, but I generally am not around the second half of the AM cycle (and hopefully asleep second half of PM, hah). Is there a good strategy for feeding to avoid that late dive if I increase? Maybe set the feeder with snack at +9?
 
Looking at 4/12 when she hit 41 at +12, that was because she was clearing a bounce that cycle. They can get a lot of momentum going when they are bounce-clearing, especially when the blood sugar is starting from such a high point. Notice how she didn't stay long at all in good numbers and was over 400 really fast that evening.

Same thing happened on 4/16, only she didn't hit the bottom of the bounce-clearing cycle until +2 in the pm cycle. That drop was a little slower, and the result was that she stayed longer in good numbers before she rocketed back up again. Slowing down the drop is a good thing.

I'm not sure I'd feed as late as +9 in a regular non-bounce clearing cycle. I think what I'd do on a regular cycle is feed around +5, perhaps. Feeding too late in the cycle can put the brakes on the Lantus and cause a rise at the end of the cycle. The Lantus just runs out of steam if they get a lot of carbs late in the cycle. When a cat is really close to OTJ and it's obvious their pancreas has sputtered back to life, then we encourage a bite about +9 if the preshot numbers need to come down some. But that doesn't work until the cat is close to OTJ. I kinda don't think Noodle is quite in that position yet.

On a bounce-clearing cycle, I'd try to intervene by feeding to try to slow down the action some. That might help in preventing the resulting bounce right back up.
 
Yeah, I definitely don't think she's close to OTJ. I do spread her meals into small servings from PS to +5, so I'll continue with that. Maybe add a small amount of gravy to increase carb content slightly if she's clearing a bounce at shot time. I did that on 4/16 and it worked pretty well (I was actually thinking that day that I didn't want her to earn a reduction, I'm learning!).
 
there's a lot of trial and error with FD. What works on one cat might not work on another. What works in one phase doesn't work at another time. You just have to plod on through, analyzing as you go to try to see what works on any particular cat at that phase.

I think you're doing a great job of getting the hang of things!
 
there's a lot of trial and error with FD. What works on one cat might not work on another. What works in one phase doesn't work at another time. You just have to plod on through, analyzing as you go to try to see what works on any particular cat at that phase.

I think you're doing a great job of getting the hang of things!
Thanks :) I'm sure some of these swings will calm down once I can get her in for a dental. I was going to get it done in May, but I just won a trip for work to Italy the first week of June. With how I've seen some kitties here react to dentals, I'm thinking about waiting until after. She'll be with my mom again, but I won't be as reachable. I could get it done sooner.... but that means this bean would have to get over her nerves rather quickly :nailbiting:. I'm considering my options.

With her now at 324, I'm thinking about erring on the side of a dosecrease tonight. I think she needs more juice.
ETA: Ugh, definitely more juice. :banghead:
 
Last edited:
Most cats do fine with a dental and if a cat needs one done, it can really change the cat's blood sugar. Punkin had 2 and was fine with both. He had a total of 7 anesthesias and all were ok. The second dental I chose to have a veterinary dentist do the procedure so a separate person monitored the anesthesia.

There are risks to everything, but if you know she needs one there isn't any substitute for the procedure.
 
Most cats do fine with a dental and if a cat needs one done, it can really change the cat's blood sugar. Punkin had 2 and was fine with both. He had a total of 7 anesthesias and all were ok. The second dental I chose to have a veterinary dentist do the procedure so a separate person monitored the anesthesia.

There are risks to everything, but if you know she needs one there isn't any substitute for the procedure.
That's my main concern, now--if I do it before the trip and she's racing down the dosing scale with someone else taking care of her in less than 6 weeks and me out of the country.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top