4/19 Lovey PMPS 258 + 3.75 189 PMPS 142 +3 91 HC

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Marje, did they change the values for the alpha trak a bit? Lovey went down to 76 the other night with the same +3 so I gave her HC. I overcarbed her she was up to 209. Last time, the carbs just brought her up a tad. Lovey was getting tired of the ear pokings so I gave her 2 tsp Hc instead of 1. I need to get a MC food for these occasions.
 
Catherine --

If you mix the HC and LC and roughly average the number of carbs, it's probably close to a MC food.

If Lovey is liking these early drops, you might want t consider getting a +2 test.
 
Catherine

Yes, it did change.

The new Roomp/Rand research on Management of Diabetic Cats with Long-acting Insulin states:

If a serum chemistry analyzer or plasma-equivalent meter calibrated for cats is used (eg, AlphaTRAK from Abbott Animal Health), increase the target blood glucose concentration by about 1 mmol/L, 18 mg/dL, or adapt the normal range reported for cats as the target nadir glucose concentration (eg, change 2.8 to 3.8 mmol/L; change 50 to 68 mg/dL).

The above link was added to the TR Protocol Sticky and is worth the read :-D I was just rounding last night because it was late but the 91 would have been equivalent to 73 on a human glucometer. Unless a kitty is screaming down early in the cycle or it's night and the CG needs to abort the cycle and sleep, I don't think HC would be needed. Having said that, when it's late and I'm tired and it looks like Gracie wants to surf in green, I will give her some MC just so I can catch a few winks.
 
Thanks for the visits Marge, Sienne, and Carla. That's interesting how the range was altered. Thanks for the tips about HC and making MC. Hope you had a great Easter.
 
Hi Catherine,
Just getting caught up here and saw the interesting comments in Lovey's condo about the new scale for the AlphaTrak. This is good to know so that we don't keep spouting old information! I hope that all is well with Lovey today and that you had a good Easter weekend.

Ella & Rusty

p.s. thanks for your visits to Rusty's condo.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top