Courtney and Kismet
Member Since 2012
Good Morning LL,
I finally figured out the cause for Kismet's erratic BGs these past couple of weeks. DH has been shooting more often than he has done in the past, and is officially the morning duty bean for TSF and I am night duty bean. Sometimes we alternate, and sometimes he does all shooting and I do all tests. Last night, I asked him to show me on a used syringe just where he measures the insulin, because whenever he shoots, we get much nicer cycles, and when I shoot, we get much higher numbers. We switched to Monoject syringes some weeks ago, and they are slightly different in appearance from our old Walgreens super thin IIs. DH was reading it inaccurately, and was mistakenly shooting 1unit when he was supposed to be receiving .50u, and since he earned the reduction a few cycles back, has been shooting 0.50 instead of 0.25. ohmygod_smile :roll:
This explains a lot. No wonder we've been getting incredible dives to the 40s, and then some days in flat blues and yellows. I have shown him numerous times how to measure the insulin and it just never occurred to me that perhaps there was an issue. I am glad we finally figured it out, though, and hopefully Kizzy will start to stabilize now. In hindsight, I wonder if there was anything really wrong with his old vial, or if it can all be chalked up to the inconsistent dosing.
Given the nature of this discovery, Kismet has been taken back up to a skinny 0.50u, the dose that he apparently has been receiving every morning and has proven to do very well on. You can't imagine how shitty I felt last night when I finally figured this out. What an awful mamabean. :sad:
Today is the last day of classes for us, and next week is finals week. Tomorrow is moving day. I hope it is not too stressful on Kizzy. Please send good moving vines for him.
Sending big hugs to Michelle. I already miss Mannie. What a special guy. I was so sad last night that I couldn't sleep, so I stayed up making a special tribute video for him. If you haven't seen it, you can find it here.
Hope everyone has a wonderful day.
Today
AMPS 161
+2--- 133
+5--- 110
PMPS 129
+2--- 60
I finally figured out the cause for Kismet's erratic BGs these past couple of weeks. DH has been shooting more often than he has done in the past, and is officially the morning duty bean for TSF and I am night duty bean. Sometimes we alternate, and sometimes he does all shooting and I do all tests. Last night, I asked him to show me on a used syringe just where he measures the insulin, because whenever he shoots, we get much nicer cycles, and when I shoot, we get much higher numbers. We switched to Monoject syringes some weeks ago, and they are slightly different in appearance from our old Walgreens super thin IIs. DH was reading it inaccurately, and was mistakenly shooting 1unit when he was supposed to be receiving .50u, and since he earned the reduction a few cycles back, has been shooting 0.50 instead of 0.25. ohmygod_smile :roll:
This explains a lot. No wonder we've been getting incredible dives to the 40s, and then some days in flat blues and yellows. I have shown him numerous times how to measure the insulin and it just never occurred to me that perhaps there was an issue. I am glad we finally figured it out, though, and hopefully Kizzy will start to stabilize now. In hindsight, I wonder if there was anything really wrong with his old vial, or if it can all be chalked up to the inconsistent dosing.
Given the nature of this discovery, Kismet has been taken back up to a skinny 0.50u, the dose that he apparently has been receiving every morning and has proven to do very well on. You can't imagine how shitty I felt last night when I finally figured this out. What an awful mamabean. :sad:
Today is the last day of classes for us, and next week is finals week. Tomorrow is moving day. I hope it is not too stressful on Kizzy. Please send good moving vines for him.
Sending big hugs to Michelle. I already miss Mannie. What a special guy. I was so sad last night that I couldn't sleep, so I stayed up making a special tribute video for him. If you haven't seen it, you can find it here.
Hope everyone has a wonderful day.
Today
AMPS 161
+2--- 133
+5--- 110
PMPS 129
+2--- 60