4/19 Kismet AMPS 161, PMPS 129, +2 60

Status
Not open for further replies.

Courtney and Kismet

Member Since 2012
Good Morning LL,

I finally figured out the cause for Kismet's erratic BGs these past couple of weeks. DH has been shooting more often than he has done in the past, and is officially the morning duty bean for TSF and I am night duty bean. Sometimes we alternate, and sometimes he does all shooting and I do all tests. Last night, I asked him to show me on a used syringe just where he measures the insulin, because whenever he shoots, we get much nicer cycles, and when I shoot, we get much higher numbers. We switched to Monoject syringes some weeks ago, and they are slightly different in appearance from our old Walgreens super thin IIs. DH was reading it inaccurately, and was mistakenly shooting 1unit when he was supposed to be receiving .50u, and since he earned the reduction a few cycles back, has been shooting 0.50 instead of 0.25. ohmygod_smile :roll:

This explains a lot. No wonder we've been getting incredible dives to the 40s, and then some days in flat blues and yellows. I have shown him numerous times how to measure the insulin and it just never occurred to me that perhaps there was an issue. I am glad we finally figured it out, though, and hopefully Kizzy will start to stabilize now. In hindsight, I wonder if there was anything really wrong with his old vial, or if it can all be chalked up to the inconsistent dosing.

Given the nature of this discovery, Kismet has been taken back up to a skinny 0.50u, the dose that he apparently has been receiving every morning and has proven to do very well on. You can't imagine how shitty I felt last night when I finally figured this out. What an awful mamabean. :sad:

Today is the last day of classes for us, and next week is finals week. Tomorrow is moving day. I hope it is not too stressful on Kizzy. Please send good moving vines for him.

Sending big hugs to Michelle. I already miss Mannie. What a special guy. I was so sad last night that I couldn't sleep, so I stayed up making a special tribute video for him. If you haven't seen it, you can find it here.

Hope everyone has a wonderful day.

Today
AMPS 161
+2--- 133
+5--- 110
PMPS 129
+2--- 60
 
Re: 4/19 Kismet AMPS 161

At least you now have the answer - and its a fixable one :-D
Good luck getting Kismet back on track.

Sending good moving vines for tomorrow.

(ps. lovely tribute to Mannie :YMHUG: )
 
Re: 4/19 Kismet AMPS 161

Are you not using calipers? You might have missed our discussions on Monoject syringes but for a long time, the needle was just barely coming into the hub and so it was drawing the insulin in the hub PLUS the insulin in the syringe. I measured the amounts in the hub and it varied widely from syringe to syringe. So I quit using Monojects and went to Terumos where there is no hub issue to deal with. So did Ann and Ella and many others. But if you use the calipers, you don't have to look at the dose markings once you get the dose=mm setting.

I hope your adjustments help.

Sorry I've been missing you and your condo lately but thinking of you. I wish you great luck with all you have coming up....esp the finals and the move. I hope it's all GOOD!!!
 
Re: 4/19 Kismet AMPS 161

Oh, I did miss that conversation :shock: I still have his old walgreens ones, maybe the thing to do is to just go back to them and ditch the monojects. Bleurgh.

We have been posting intermittently, so that's probably why you've missed us! I haven't been on for a few days, and just posting on other people's condos randomly.
 
Re: 4/19 Kismet AMPS 161

Hi, Courtney, I wish you guys an EASY move this weekend, and I hope Kizzy adjusts quickly, healthily,and well.

And you're not an awful mamabean by ANY means. As a matter of fact, you're a caring and loving one (just ask any of us, or more importantly, Kizzy :-D ).

Good luck with everything! Sending oodles of good-moving vines to Kizzster.
Give him love from us.
cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 4/19 Kismet AMPS 161

Don't beat yourself up over the dose mixup. You've been taking great care of Kismet. Now that you found out what is going on, you're fixing it. I hope Kismet flattens out on the new dose and gives you good numbers. Sending prayers all goes well with your move and Kismet isn't stressed by it.
 
Re: 4/19 Kismet AMPS 161

Paws crossed Kizzy will now be getting more consistent dosing. And don't beat yourself up about it. I use calipers so DH and I dose the same, but Neko bounces around in spite of it. Hard to tell what was the dosing and what was the cat! It's great DH does morning duty.

Best of luck for this weekend. May it all go very smoothly.
 
Re: 4/19 Kismet AMPS 161

cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon You are a wonderful mommabean. Are you doing your level best?? i thought so = wonderful. I know it's not a laughing matter..but isn't it kind of poetic justice that after all mr l and mr. p put us through, they have to deal with erractic for a cycle or two? I'm sure Kismet will get right on track.

Sending you lots of calm, peaceful moving vines and prayers for you all and good finals to you.

Your tribute was so beautiful. You put into words and pictures the essence of Mannie and Michelle, why we love them and why Mannie will never be gone from this board.
have a wonderful evening
 
Re: 4/19 Kismet AMPS 161

You're a great mamabean for your guy, there's no doubt about that. We love the calipers, it has helped with reducing the stress of the drawing up the dose, if nothing else. :lol: :lol: And I think he's getting a more consistent dose too. Paws crossed for the move. I'm jealous that your classes are over. We have two more weeks. Mannie's video is wonderful, I wondered how you had time to do that because I knew things are crazy for you now. Big hugs!
Liz
 
I think I definitely need to invest in calipers. I've been saying I'd get them, and there's no time like the present! Once the dust settles, that will be the first thing I do.
Thank you all for visiting us today. I can't wait for some normalcy and time to visit everyone's condos. We're exhausted after hauling stuff all day. Can't wait to be in the new house and be done with this already.

Kiz is weirded out tonight. I disassembled his cat tower and he is none to happy about it :lol: He keeps sniffing the individual pieces like he can't figure out why it is broken. His numbers, on the other hand, don't seem to be reflecting any stress at all :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top