4/19 Haley - AMPS 84, +4.5 49, +5 60, +5.5 64, + 7 109, +9.75 62, PMPS 63

To measure a drop dose, push the plunger of the empty syringe in fully, keep it pressed and insert in the pen. Let go of the pressure on the plunger and it will draw a drop. When you insert the needle into Haley, push the plunger and count to ten if she will let you.
 
To measure a drop dose, push the plunger of the empty syringe in fully, keep it pressed and insert in the pen. Let go of the pressure on the plunger and it will draw a drop. When you insert the needle into Haley, push the plunger and count to ten if she will let you.

Ok, ty, So much!
 
I think we can try the 1 drop dose.

I think Haley's just about done with this foolishness (as she see's it anyway)

With the one drop dose, should I be expecting lower numbers like I would normally be nervous about, but she would really be ok ... Like in the 40s or 50s?
 
To tell you the truth, I don't think you need to do the 1 drop dose. If you read the TR protocol, the recommendation is to try a 0.1 unit dose before going off of insulin. You did that, Haley dropped low. We use the 1 drop dose for kitties that still have some blue in their spreadsheet and need to spend some more time in the healing range.

With the one drop dose, should I be expecting lower numbers like I would normally be nervous about, but she would really be ok ... Like in the 40s or 50s?
Unless you took her BG before she became diabetic, it's hard to say what her normal BG would be. I've tested my non diabetics at home and gotten low 50's and upper 40's.
 
To tell you the truth, I don't think you need to do the 1 drop dose. If you read the TR protocol, the recommendation is to try a 0.1 unit dose before going off of insulin. You did that, Haley dropped low. We use the 1 drop dose for kitties that still have some blue in their spreadsheet and need to spend some more time in the healing range.


Unless you took her BG before she became diabetic, it's hard to say what her normal BG would be. I've tested my non diabetics at home and gotten low 50's and upper 40's.

That makes sense. I might just test my other kitties. Ty!
 
I think you could go ahead and start your OTJ trial. Like I said above, I think Haley is probably done with diabetes. She tried it, she's decided to take up another hobby like knitting ;)

Have you seen the OTJ Trial instructions?

  • Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
  • If she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
  • Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. Be sure you include “OTJ Trial Day xx” in your subject line with the “xx” being the day of the trial.
  • She may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
  • After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Once she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
 
I understand stand One question... Once she is through the trial successfully, if I see rising glucose numbers, it’s time for a visit to the vet. What is the vet able to tell me that you guys aren’t able to tell me here?
 
The vet can tell you if there is a medical reason for rising numbers. It could be something as simple, and common, as needing a dental. Some things can only be seen visually, or via bloodwork.
 
Just here to say yahoo :D Go Haley! This is so exciting, Shirley - good job sticking with it :bighug: Will keep an eye out for your OTJ trail posts :D
 
Just here to say yahoo :D Go Haley! This is so exciting, Shirley - good job sticking with it :bighug: Will keep an eye out for your OTJ trail posts :D

Ty, Susanne! I'm soooo excited. Crying happy tears for the second time today. Thank you all for helping us get this far! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ty, Susanne! I'm soooo excited. Crying happy tears for the second time today. Thank you all for helping us get this far! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
So for your title, you get to change the PMPS (PM Pre Shot) to PMBG (PM Blood Glucose) since not shot happened :D Tomorrow, your title will read something like "04/19 Haley - OTJ Trial Day 1 - AMBG XX" (you'd replace XX with the AM reading :)). Yippeeeee!
 
Back
Top