4/19 Dimitri AMPS 69, +6 59, +7 70, PMPS 272

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChEMom

Member Since 2014
I want to double check that Dimitri is doing o.k., based on his numbers? His behavior is fine. I was just pleasantly surprised
by yesterday's numbers, and then today I think they look o.k.too, but I wanted someone with more experience to check.

I am going to check him again in about an hour to make sure he's not going too low. I feel so bad for him because his ears
are so bruised up. Most times it takes me 2-3 pokes to get a drop. Part of it is I have trouble seeing the end of the lancet
even with my glasses on. I may try using a magnifying glass next time.

Thank you.

edited: updated with the latest result
 
Re: 4/19 Dimitri AMPS 69, +6 59, +7 70

Dimitri's numbers are looking pretty awesome! One thing I would strongly urge you to do is test much earlier in the cycle when you have such a low preshot numbers. This 69 was Dimitri's lowest preshot by far, and in order to make sure he stays safe, ideally you should get at least a +1 and +2, to get a feel for where he might be going.

In general, you do want to try getting a few more mid-cycle tests, like you did last night. I know it's so hard on us beans at first, because their little ears look bruised, but it is important to make sure he doesn't drop too low - and it helps you see how he's responding. So far, I'd say he REALLY likes Lantus!
 
Re: 4/19 Dimitri AMPS 69, +6 59, +7 70

Thanks. I was so frustrated with the ProZinc, because he kept staying so high, like it wasn't working at all. So I wasn't hopeful
that just 1 unit of Lantus would do diddly, but he really seems to like it! I will get a few more data points soon.
 
Re: 4/19 Dimitri AMPS 69, +6 59, +7 70

I agree with everything that Amy posted. Unlike with ProZinc, your dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle. As a result, getting spot checks is critical. Given that you don't yet have a great deal of data, when you see low numbers, it's important to get additional tests so you have a sense of how Dimitri is responding to Lantus. At the bare minimum, you want to get at least one spot check in addition to your pre-shot tests every cycle. I encourage people to get a test at +2 or +3. If you see that those early tests are substantially lower than your pre-shot number, there's a good chance that numbers will be dropping during that cycle.
 
Phooey! His PMPS was 272. I'm trying a new syringe tonight that has the good half-unit marks that I can actually SEE. But the needle is 5/16". I *think* when I
grabbed his skin and shot him, I may have gone through both layers of skin and out to the air, because he meowed very loudly at me, like I hurt him,
and I sniffed his skin afterwards and noticed that "bandaid" smell I've heard is bad. Now what do I do? Just let him go until the morning and
try to do the morning shot right? I don't think I should do a repeat shot, right?
 
Definitely don't give him another shot as it's hard to know how much insulin he got on the first one. Fur shots are a bummer but they happen to the best of us!
 
Hi Janet! You've gotten great advice, especially on checking earlier in the cycle, especially if the preshot is lower than you've shot before. Then you want to get a +1 and a +2, just to make sure Dimitri isn't going lower right from the beginning, just in case he needs carbs given right away.

A lot of people get a +2 after every shot. With Lantus it can often act as a "pointer" to how the cycle is going to go.

If the +2 is significantly lower than the preshot, that's a strong indicator you've got to monitor more because it will be an "extra" active cycle.

If it's about the same as the preshot number, that's an indicator that it will likely be a "normal" active Lantus cycle, meaning that it will start to go down about +2 and continue down til the low point some time in the next few hours after that.

If it's much higher than the preshot number, that tells us Dimitri might be starting a bounce.

Those aren't definitive in every cat for every cycle, but it's something to look for as you take care of Dimitri and see if they hold true for him.

Great job shooting low! Looks like he likes the Lantus and will do well on it!

And welcome to Lantus Land! Glad to meet you and Dimitri!!!
 
I was pretty sure y'all would tell me not to do a second shot, but it's a bummer I messed up because he was doing so well.

Thanks for the help Julie and Alexis.
 
that number tonight may very well be a bounce, not because you had a furshot.

either way, he'll get back on track. it's always safer to just let it go than to try to reshoot when you don't know whether or not any insulin got in. everyone does it. take the night off and "save a strip" tonight.

did you note on his ss that you think this might've been a furshot? it would be important later when it comes to talking about his dose.
 
Yes, I made a note on his SS. Thanks. I guess I'll try to have a "Scarlett O'Hara" attitude - "After all, tomorrow is another day..." :smile:
 
:lol: you've got a great attitude!

by the way, i'm a quilter and one of the little tricks i've learned is that, as long as the fashion police don't see you, you can "stack" reading glasses on top of each other. yes, 2 pairs worn at the same time. you'd be amazed how sharp everything is! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Anne/Liz/Zener have these cool magnifying visors that they bought. some people clip a magnifying lens (like from a craft store) to a cupboard door so they can look through it while the syringe is up in the air at eye level.

and for his ears, try neosporin ointment with pain relief. the stuff is AMAZING! put it on every night and the ears are healed by morning. some people put it on about 20 minutes before testing to kind of numb it. you want to wipe off most of it before you poke or it will goo up your test strip.

we have a trick for everything, so if you're having other problems, just ask away. this place is a fount of knowledge.
 
I used to quilt (we won't talk about the king-size, "Grandmother's flower garden" quilt that is tacked together, but still waiting to be quilted. :oops: ).
I've gone back to knitting and have a magnifying glass that can hang around my neck, so I will try that. I may also just do what you suggested and
add another pair of reading glasses. It makes me go cross-eyed trying to see those itty-bitty black lines on the syringe.

Thanks for the tip on the ointment. I've got some, just hadn't thought to use it. Dimitri thanks you! :-D
 
it sounds wonderful - and like a project for a professional long-arm quilter! i've taken a few to someone i know who has a long arm and she makes magic with them!

many of the people in my "quilting" group have gone to the dark side as well (knitting). :lol: but i love quilting too much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top