4/19 Cobb AMPS 176 +4 160 +9.5 104 PMPS 174 - early or late?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Go Cobb!! Way to calm down overnight!! Where are you going today?

We figured out a way to let Cobb out of the bathroom so he could explore a bit - without fear of peeing on the carpet. He was crying at the door to the room. So we've closed doors and only have to monitor one entry to a carpeted room. :roll:

Have a great Saturday!!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 4/19 Cobb AMPS 176

Very nice AMPS for Cobb!!

Hopefully he'll continue to surf those pretty blues and maybe even dip his toes into the green lagoon today too!

Have a great Caturday Suzanne!!
 
Re: 4/19 Cobb AMPS 176

Good job Cobb!! :-D Yes, I imagine he was pretty stressed last night, but looks like he handled it like a pro.
Have a beautiful day!
 
Re: 4/19 Cobb AMPS 176

Morning Suzanne! Yay for figuring out a way to let him out to explore a bit. and what a nice amps!

After reading Sandy and Wendy's comments about the dental, it does seem like a smart idea to lower the dose to 1/2 or maybe even 1/4 of the usual. Not having had him under anesthesia before, we can't know how he'll react. I'd just make your choice and tell the vet what you gave him when you bring him in - it's always better to be too high than too low. Once he's done this dental, then you'll have a baseline for how he responds and if he has anesthesia again, you'll have something to compare to and make decisions from.

Enjoy your time with your folks!
 
Re: 4/19 Cobb AMPS 176 +4 160

Suzanne, great blues today. I am glad that you figured out a way to have Cobb explore the house. How is Matty doing?
 
Re: 4/19 Cobb AMPS 176 +4 160 +9.5 104

I feel like we may have missed Cobb testing out the lagoon...he's so close! There's no way my parent's house is this relaxing. Plus, he was hanging out in the bathroom while we were out.

Tell me it's just a coincidence, not that my house is stressful!! :cry:
 
Re: 4/19 Cobb AMPS 176 +4 160 +9.5 104

I'm so glad Cobb has adjusted to the change and is giving you such nice numbers. Keep it up all weekend, Cobb, okay? You're dong great!

I hope Matty has adjusted as well!

Enjoy your visit, Suzanne!
 
Re: 4/19 Cobb AMPS 176 +4 160 +9.5 104

Suzanne, China has given me some of her greatest numbers when she SHOULD have been totally freaked out, like when I took her to a hotel room for a week while DM was having heart surgery, and at the vet...and after we got home from the vet (which includes two hours of drive time, plus the poking and prodding at the vets office)

Some cats have better numbers when they're stressed...I have no idea why, but there it is.....LOL
 
Re: 4/19 Cobb AMPS 176 +4 160 +9.5 104 PMPS 174 - early or l

Nice, unexpected day for Cobb!!

So tomorrow morning we are going to the sunrise service at church. We have to leave at 5:15 and won't be back until about 9:30ish. Which is the better option? Shoot 2 hours early or 2.5 hours late? I gave him a shot a bit early tonight, guessing it would be better to shoot a bit early since he'll probably be bouncing from today's numbers. I could shoot a few units less and leave out a little extra food? Thoughts? TIA!!
 
Re: 4/19 Cobb AMPS 176 +4 160 +9.5 104 PMPS 174 - early or l

Probably depends on what his numbers are in the morning. I don't think i'd give a full dose 2 hrs early, though. that seems a little iffy to me.

Is his dental on Monday morning? If that's right, maybe shoot late tomorrow morning, because then you'd have Sunday night late and if you're reducing the dose on Monday morning anyway, things will be all up in the air then anyway with the anesthesia and all.
 
Re: 4/19 Cobb AMPS 176 +4 160 +9.5 104 PMPS 174 - early or l

Well, we're not sure about when the dental is. The vet has to see him first. That appt is 9:30 on Monday. They said there's a chance he can get the dental the same day, depending on what she thinks needs to be done, since we are here from out of town. My guess is there won't be a dental on Monday and I'll have to stay a few extra days. That's just my guess. They led me to believe Monday was a possibility though...so you see my confusion with what to do insulin wise? I'm perfectly ok shooting him late though...I can always use a little R to compensate.
 
Re: 4/19 Cobb AMPS 176 +4 160 +9.5 104 PMPS 174 - early or l

if it was just an hour early and he was high, i probably wouldn't worry bout shooting early. but given the option of being late, and using R, i'd probably go that route instead.

i can see why monday sounds confusing. I wouldn't want food in his stomach when they do the dental - you don't want him vomiting under anesthesia. So if they decide to keep him to do the dental, it shouldn't begin until it's been long enough since he ate that there wouldn't be food in his stomach. sorry cobb! but it's better than vomiting!
 
Re: 4/19 Cobb AMPS 176 +4 160 +9.5 104 PMPS 174 - early or l

Agreed. How long do you think food stays in his stomach? I'm thinking of giving half of his regular breakfast on Monday, just in case.
 
Re: 4/19 Cobb AMPS 176 +4 160 +9.5 104 PMPS 174 - early or l

i don't really know - perhaps someone else will. i'd guess 2-4 hrs would be typical for canned food. but i'm just guessing. the vet should know.
 
Re: 4/19 Cobb AMPS 176 +4 160 +9.5 104 PMPS 174 - early or l

Nice cycle today! Neko also done some surprise lows at or shortly after going to the vet.

I've heard different things from vets on food before anesthesia. The dental specialist Neko went too said last meal at 6:00AM and no more than 1/3 of her meal. But she eats raw food which is metabolized even faster than wet. Other anesthesia's Neko's had (dental and SRT), it was no food after midnight. When the civie had a dental they wanted no food after some 8PM but I convinced them it would be OK to be a bit later. I think some vets are more conservative because some food, like dry, takes a lot longer to metabolize. I'd allow at least 4 hours for wet food.

I also like Julie's idea of shooting late and dealing with high numbers with R. You will only be able to do 1/2 shot (or what you decide) when you go in Monday as you don't know if he's going to have the dental then or Tuesday.
 
Re: 4/19 Cobb AMPS 176 +4 160 +9.5 104 PMPS 174 - early or l

Hmmmm....as I write this out. If I shoot late tomorrow, it will be around 9/9:30. Then tomorrow night would be around the same time. His appt is at 9:30 on Monday morning. I could totally get away with it giving him any insulin until then, and I wouldn't have to worry about how much to give at all...take the insulin with me, and let the vet give it afterwards if they felt like they needed to? Or just skip that shot entirely. I could just give him an early meal. Thoughts? That might make everyone more comfortable! This might actually work out better than I thought...

Matty is actually adjusting very well. He's sleeping better here than he does at home. Wait a second...Matty is sleeping better, Cobb's numbers are better...this place must be more calming than I think...strange, it wasn't like this when I was a teenager... :lol:
 
Re: 4/19 Cobb AMPS 176 +4 160 +9.5 104 PMPS 174 - early or l

Sounds like your parent's place is a great environment. Hope you are sleeping well too. :-D

I like the idea of taking the insulin with you on Monday - that way you don't have to worry about giving him too little and not having a dental. And definitely take some of Cobb's food with him. If you do give a shot and don't have a dental he could eat more. If he does have a dental, the vet could give him a little afterwards. I always worry the vet will feed inappropriate foods from their own stock. Last time I picked up my civie from a dental I had to bite my tongue when they were telling another client how their cat was eating kibble after the operation.
 
Re: 4/19 Cobb AMPS 176 +4 160 +9.5 104 PMPS 174 - early or l

i think that sounds like a good plan (the shooting late and taking the insulin with you to the vet's). seems like that might help in a number of ways.

i had to laugh at your comment about your folks' house not being calming when you were a teenager! :lol: my folks always wanted to go eat at Hometown Buffet every Sunday, including Easter, which meant this hour wait in line! I always hated that. I like going to restaurants where they bring me my food! but yesterday i said to DH that maybe if we went to my hometown for Easter church services that we should go to Hometown Buffet too. :shock: my folks have both been gone for years and i haven't been to the restaurant since then, but it somehow seemed the right thing to do. ;-) funny how time changes things.
 
Re: 4/19 Cobb AMPS 176 +4 160 +9.5 104 PMPS 174 - early or l

Hahaha! Well, it's a time-honored tradition to go now!

Matt was a tad upset about the sunrise service. He goes to work at 4am every day and he wanted to sleep in. I told him he was getting an extra hour of sleep, but that wasn't much of a consolation. :sad: Oh well...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top