4/19 Belle AMPS= 335 +4 372, PMPS = 428 +2 339

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jason & Belle (GA)

Active Member
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12312

We seem to be on our way back up. She's eating great, acting fine, and her bout of severe diarrhea is getting better after starting amoxicillin. I guess I should have been more aggressive from the start instead of backing off so much. I have kept her on 2.5U as to not fluctuate too much, and will increase in the next few days if necessary.

Actually, the fact that she had that stomach bug and wasn't eating normally may have been the cause of the low numbers. Oh well, off to the drawing board once again.

Update: Now that she's up to 372, I'm thinking that she needs to be in the 3U range. Should I stick with the 2.5U through tomorrow(making it 3 days) and then adjust or should I start on the 3U tonight?

Jason
 
Re: 4/19 Belle AMPS= 335

Hindsight.. evil evil hindsight :)..

Try to nab at least one spot-check somewhere in the middle of your am and pm cycles if possible.. it'll give you an idea how much is safe to increase in a couple days.
 
Re: 4/19 Belle AMPS= 335

Good morning Jason. If Belle is anything like my cat, she could still be bouncing from those blues she had.
I can't wait to see a picture of her. Is she beautiful?
 
Re: 4/19 Belle AMPS= 335

Aren't they all? :smile:

But yes she is. AS soon as I can figure out how to post a picture, I'll put one in my signature. (Edit: That's her as my Avatar)

I do think her being sick skewed things, so I'll keep a close eye in the next few days to get her back on track.

Edit: I noticed you're from Hunterdon County. I grew up in Parsippany and lived in Somerset until 6 years ago.

Jason

Dyana said:
Good morning Jason. If Belle is anything like my cat, she could still be bouncing from those blues she had.
I can't wait to see a picture of her. Is she beautiful?
 
Re: 4/19 Belle AMPS= 335 +4 372

Ok, now I'm convinced her stomach virus and her diminished eating caused the low numbers on Friday. She's back to eating normally and had gained 8 ounces since Thursday, so that has definitely had an effect.

Would I be wrong in moving her back to 3U starting tonight? Should I just keep her at 2.5U for the next day or so to see if she levels out?

Thanks,

Jason
 
Re: 4/19 Belle AMPS= 335 +4 372

Oh, she is a beauty. A female orange tabby. That's rare. Is she as super friendly as the male orange tabbies usually are?

They'll probably have you wait the 6 cycles on this dose, but I don't know for sure. If you edit the subject line on your first post from today to say something like "Dose Question" you'll get more eyes and answers or suggestions.

ETA: I'm from Walnut Creek, California. I moved here in 1995. I love the horse countryness of this area. But, I'm just a poor person living in a rich world.. wish I had a horse and some land and a new car and never mind :-D
 
Re: 4/19 Belle AMPS= 335 +4 372

She is not super friendly to most, and actually she can be downright nasty to some. When I first met my wife, Belle would sit at the top of the couch and attack her whenever she came even close. Now she adores my wife. The people at the Vet love her though, and say she is the sweetest, best patient they ever had, so she may be mellowing with age.

I couldn't wait to get out of NJ, but now I sort of miss it. I don't think I'd ever go back, but there is always a soft spot for home. It was just way too expensive to live.

Jason

Dyana said:
Oh, she is a beauty. A female orange tabby. That's rare. Is she as super friendly as the male orange tabbies usually are?

They'll probably have you wait the 6 cycles on this dose, but I don't know for sure. If you edit the subject line on your first post from today to say something like "Dose Question" you'll get more eyes and answers or suggestions.

ETA: I'm from Walnut Creek, California. I moved here in 1995. I love the horse countryness of this area. But, I'm just a poor person living in a rich world.. wish I had a horse and some land and a new car and never mind :-D
 
Re: 4/19 Belle AMPS= 335 +4 372 -Dosage Question

Lantus really, really likes consistency. I would stick with this dose unless Belle's numbers dictate otherwise (i.e., they drop low). You will probably need around 5 days, maybe less, to get her shed built and to see some action off of the Lantus. Until the shed/depot is built, not all of the insulin is available for use -- a portion of each dose goes into "storage." One of the hardest issues to get used to is being patient. At this point, let the dose get established and then the work of dose adjustment takes place.

When you travel, are you gone evenings, as well? I'm just trying to anticipate how you can get mid-cycle checks in during the week.

Belle is a beauty. I have a special place in my heart for orange tabbys. I had an orange female, Gracie, as well. She was a very special cat and at least from your avatar, she looked a great deal like Belle.
 
Re: 4/19 Belle AMPS= 335 +4 372 -Dosage Question

I remember the day I got Belle. She was 5 weeks old and sat in the palm of my hand. She's been like a daughter ever since, and she has required a lot of care. Every minute, every dollar I've spent has been worth it, because she is very special. My wife and mother both think I'm going a little overboard, but she deserves the effort. For example, I went away last week and she wasn't eating well. I set up a webcam facing the food so I could monitor her eating at all times from my phone. Anyway, my travel is overnight, but I expect to be home this week. I will be able to check her this week to make sure the 2.5U, which I will stick with, is kicking in. She is eating very well now, and she wasn't last week(stomach bug), so I'm sure that has increased her levels some. I also had to take the Blue Buffalo Wellness out of her diet due to her IBD, so she's on dry only too. Put those things together, along with my withholding her nightly shots, and I guess I'm not surprised things have changed.

I must practice patience... I must practice patience....

Jason



Sienne and Gabby said:
Lantus really, really likes consistency. I would stick with this dose unless Belle's numbers dictate otherwise (i.e., they drop low). You will probably need around 5 days, maybe less, to get her shed built and to see some action off of the Lantus. Until the shed/depot is built, not all of the insulin is available for use -- a portion of each dose goes into "storage." One of the hardest issues to get used to is being patient. At this point, let the dose get established and then the work of dose adjustment takes place.

When you travel, are you gone evenings, as well? I'm just trying to anticipate how you can get mid-cycle checks in during the week.

Belle is a beauty. I have a special place in my heart for orange tabbys. I had an orange female, Gracie, as well. She was a very special cat and at least from your avatar, she looked a great deal like Belle.
 
Re: 4/19 Belle AMPS= 335 +4 372 -Dosage Question

First cat I ever had was a female orange tabby.. "not super friendly to most" would be an an EXTREMELY polite way to describe her ;). She makes Nova.. my extremely opinionated and bossy FD cat.. look like a care bear.

I don't think the webcam thing is over the top.. I had a kitty cam set up when I had to work in the office.. so I could check on my HCM cat.. not that it would have helped him any, but it helped me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top