4/19/11 Kushi PMPS~77 +1~97 +2.25~65 +11~88

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/19/11 Kushi AMPS~71 +1~64 +2~54 +2.5~59 +3~67

O.K., headed to Walmart for test strips. Sure glad the Relion strips are about half of what others cost! This gets expensive. :shock:
 
Re: 4/19/11 Kushi AMPS~71 +1~64 +2~54 +2.5~59 +3~67

kushi sure is looking great. you're doing a fabulous job taking her down to normal numbers!
 
Re: 4/19/11 Kushi AMPS~71 +1~64 +2~54 +2.5~59 +3~67

Wonderful job with those #s. Kushi is Gus' hero!!
 
Re: 4/19/11 Kushi PMPS~77

Kushi's vet called today and said she had looked at her SS. She (vet) said it looked to her like Kushi was in remission. She is still concerned about dosing her with such low numbers. I gave her the protocol I'm following and we are meeting Friday afternoon. I do wonder why, with Kushi's low numbers, and shooting .1u why she drops so. I understand the principle of what we're doing, but maybe just don't see the fine details of why I am continuing to dose at such consistently good numbers. Guess I am just looking for some reassurance.as to the procedure.
 
Re: 4/19/11 Kushi PMPS~77 +1~97

Hmmm, +1 is 97. That's not following the pattern. Maybe dose was NOT even a drop????
 
Re: 4/19/11 Kushi PMPS~77 +1~97

could be food spike.
from din.
looking great thou.
some vets aren't use to seeing low dose measurements. mine asked me how the heck I was able to measure that!
lol, you'll be ok, stuff is working right.
 
Re: 4/19/11 Kushi PMPS~77 +1~97

Ronnie & Luna said:
could be food spike.
from din.
looking great thou.
some vets aren't use to seeing low dose measurements. mine asked me how the heck I was able to measure that!
lol, you'll be ok, stuff is working right.
Could be food spike, but if you look @ her SS, you will see she almost always has a decrease in the first hour.
 
Re: 4/19/11 Kushi PMPS~77 +1~97

Kushi is looking good! She is mostly flat, flat, flat and that's what we're looking for.

As far as why you're still shooting, we find that the more healing time we can give the beta cells, the better the chance that remission will last. Kushi came down the dosing scale very fast and the idea is to give her that little bit of extra healing time before removing the training wheels. Most likely you will only be able to keep shooting for a few more days, if that, but in my opinion it's worth it to keep shooting for as long as she will let you.
 
Re: 4/19/11 Kushi PMPS~77 +1~97

Libby and Lucy said:
Kushi is looking good! She is mostly flat, flat, flat and that's what we're looking for.

As far as why you're still shooting, we find that the more healing time we can give the beta cells, the better the chance that remission will last. Kushi came down the dosing scale very fast and the idea is to give her that little bit of extra healing time before removing the training wheels. Most likely you will only be able to keep shooting for a few more days, if that, but in my opinion it's worth it to keep shooting for as long as she will let you.
Thanks Libby! That helps my understanding a lot; I also want to be able to explain all this to my Vet. She is really interested and has called me about 5 times to check on how Kushi is doing. When she is able to buy into this protocol, it may go a long way in helping her other patients. I printed some of the articles from from FDMB and took them to her today. :smile:
 
Re: 4/19/11 Kushi PMPS~77 +1~97 +2.25~65

Joe --

Your vet sounds great! Why not give her the link to the site. She can always lurk or ask questions. If a vet is comfortable with what we do here, maybe she'll refer her patients.
 
Re: 4/19/11 Kushi PMPS~77 +1~97 +2.25~65

Sienne and Gabby said:
Joe --

Your vet sounds great! Why not give her the link to the site. She can always lurk or ask questions. If a vet is comfortable with what we do here, maybe she'll refer her patients.
Sienne, I gave her the link several days ago and she did visit. That's how she saw Kushi's SS. I have an appointment to see her Friday afternoon so i can go over all the things I have learned here. I believe what she sees here will certainly be a benefit to her and her patients. This forum has certainly been a great blessing to me and Kushi!! :smile: Pay it forward.
 
Re: 4/19/11 Kushi PMPS~77 +1~97 +2.25~65

How wonderful that you are passing all of this learning on to your vet (and how great that your vet cares).

I just want to add that I tapered Kitty of very, very, very gradually. (You can check the SS in my link.) Fat.5, .5, skinny .5, fat .25 (yes, there's a difference), and a good spell of .1. I would do it that way again.

I've had a vet tell me that he thought Kitty was already in remission when Kitty was getting, I think, .5. I explained what I was doing, and he said, "Well, it's true, I've seen cats taken off quickly go back on insulin." Why not let that pancreas heal?
 
Re: 4/19/11 Kushi PMPS~77 +1~97 +2.25~65

Kathy and Kitty said:
How wonderful that you are passing all of this learning on to your vet (and how great that your vet cares).

I just want to add that I tapered Kitty of very, very, very gradually. (You can check the SS in my link.) Fat.5, .5, skinny .5, fat .25 (yes, there's a difference), and a good spell of .1. I would do it that way again.

I've had a vet tell me that he thought Kitty was already in remission when Kitty was getting, I think, .5. I explained what I was doing, and he said, "Well, it's true, I've seen cats taken off quickly go back on insulin." Why not let that pancreas heal?
Thanks! That's the bottom line.....Kushi in remission and no relapse.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top