I gave him his usual LCFF and he’s now at 79 (this was 15 minutes ago) Will test again in 10 minutes to see where we are.I would test again in 30 mins to see if the 51@+6 drops further....oh I see you are using an alphatrak. Have you given some high carb food to bring the BG up higher? Test again in 20 mins after food.
You have earned a reduction in dose with that 51.
But he’s also had very high numbers. I think I should consider reducing the dose but only during one of the 12hr periods.Actually looking at your SS Walter has dropped down to the 50 x 3 in the last 4 days and you have not taken a reduction.
If he drops under 68 on TR you need to reduce the dose.
What do you mean?But he’s also had very high numbers. I think I should consider reducing the dose but only during one of the 12hr periods.
I would give him 1.25 at AMPS and 1.5 at PMPS rather then decreasing to 1.25 at both intervals.What do you mean?
Levemir doesn’t work like that. It is a depot insulin and likes consistency. If you give a different dose like you suggest you will get wonky numbers and mess up the depot.I would give him 1.25 at AMPS and 1.5 at PMPS rather then decreasing to 1.25 at both intervals.
Yes—ketones are at .01Levemir doesn’t work like that. It is a depot insulin and likes consistency. If you give a different dose like you suggest you will get wonky numbers and mess up the depot.
You need to give the same dose each cycle unless you get a reduction or need an increase and then you stick to that dose until you earn another reduction or increase the dose as per TR protocol.
TR says that you reduce the dose if you drop under 68 on the alphatrak meter.
If you don’t take the reductions when they are earned, you risk the depot getting overfull and your kitty dropping really low.
Are you still testing for ketones?