4/18: Sammy - AMPS 149; +2 115: +6 132

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Good morning from Knit Camp. We are having a ball. There was a lot of laughing and giggling last night, and today the fun has already started.

Sammy's numbers have not been as nice as I would like them, but I am wondering if he is actually having small bounce from the big drop on the 16th. He really hasn't seen numbers down into the 50's since way before we attempted the OTJ Trial. What are your thoughts. I am sort of getting a itchy trigger finger. I did like the numbers on the 16th, and am hoping he might give me more of those really soon. He hasn't stayed under 100 for very long for the last couple of days, but for the most part he has been under 120, other than the couple of random higher numbers before PS and at PS. Any suggestions.

Hope everyone has a great day.
 
Seriously not liking Sammy's numbers today. He hasn't dropped below 100 during this cycle. I really hope this this the high before a low, because I am getting nervous. How long should I hold the .1u dose before increasing to .25u.
 
Also I don't remember seeing any poop in the last day or so. I might have to start miralax. What is the right amount to give and how often?
 
I could really use some help with dosing Miralax for Sammy. I don't have good internet connection so it is very hard to read through the feline constipation website.

Sammy is just under 14 pounds how much miralax should I give home and how often?
 
Hi Tina.

Constipation could definitely affect Sammy's numbers. I give Cinco 1/8 tsp of Miralax in his breakfast when he needs it. I've been giving him about a teaspoon of baby food squash (pure squash, nothing else added) every morning in his food, and it has kept him from being constipated for some time (anti-jinx). Cinco is about 10.5 pounds. If the Miralax doesn't do it, you can also give 1/2 - 1 tsp of canola or coconut oil in his food. That works pretty well. Be sure to increase the water you add to his food, too.

As for dosing, I don't generally give advice on that. Looking at your spreadsheet, I don't know that I would increase, but I'll leave that to some of our more expert people to advise you.

I hope this helps. Sending poo vines!
 
It could be a bounce, but I wouldn't be surprised if there is some stress behind the numbers too. Even if he seems calm he could be stressed, who knows where Tess would be if I took her on a retreat!:rolleyes:

For the Miralax 1/8 - 1/4 tsp mixed in food BID. Mix extra water into food. Plain canned pumpkin or squash baby food can help too.
 
@Tricia & Cinco and @Ann & Tess I am going to give some Miralax and start giving pumpkin, and maybe a bit of coconut oil. I hope we see a poop in the next 24 hours, but how long does it usually take?

I always add about ¼ can of food to the full can when I mix it up in the morning, is that enough extra water?
 
That's probably plenty of water. I don't know if I would try all three methods at once - might be a bit too much. I find that oil works fastest - usually within a day. Miralax, with Cinco, takes at least that, but ECID.
 
Miralax can take a few days and I think the pumpkin is the slowest.

Do you have a pet store near you that carries Dave's pet food? They have a "Restricted Diet" Pork Dinner that is lower in carbs and Phosphorus than the Hills Rx W/D and Tess loves it. I mix a little into lower carb foods that are a little too high in phos, about 30/70. I have a SS that calculates the carb % and Phos/100 kcal and calories/oz. I can share it w/ you if you want it. PM me.
 
Sending along poop vines for Sammy.

Given that Sammy has a few "things" going on that could be affecting his numbers (being away from home and possibly being constipated), I might be inclined to hold off on any dose adjustments until you are back home and you get some poop from the boy. Increasing during stressful times could lead to a big drop once things are back to normal...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top