4/18 - Sammy (7.5u) first dose lantus - amps 212; +1 182

Status
Not open for further replies.
how about a little more gravy. Karo can't hurt. We want to keep him in this nice, safe range, but it seems like the insulin is still having some pull over his numbers. Then test again in an hour.

It's looking more and more like we'll need to skip tonight's shot to let this dose run its course.

You're doing great! How is Sammy acting? He's had a lot of gravy and Karo today, so, ummm, the litterbox could be extra stinky tonight. :shock: Is he still eating somewhat willingly?
 
Sammy is doing great. He's curled up in one of those electric blanket baskets for cats. He's a very reasonable person and a very tractable patient. He'll eat because it's good for him.
 
that's good, I was worried that he might be getting too full. Lucy is a great eater too, it makes it a lot easy to stay on top of low numbers when you know they'll eat.
 
Wellllll .... Welcome to Lantus Sammy! You sure know how to throw a party don't ya?

p.s. I know this has been a hard day -- we are so glad you are here.
 
stubborn, isn't he?

When was the last time you fed him real food, in addition to the gravy? I'm wondering if a spoonful of the food chunks from the HC food (with some gravy attached to the food, of course) might give him some extra fuel.
 
OK, so now he's had 2cc of the karo syrup and he licked all the gravy off the hc FF, which Beauty is now eating, tho he must have eaten some of it
 
no shot tonight. It's not time to quit testing just yet, though. Hopefully soon. I think you can wait an hour now. Hopefully he has started on his way up and we'll be able to stop soon. Lantus overdoses can sometimes result in extended duration, so just because it has been 12 hours doesn't mean he's through dropping yet. Sorry.

I'll be back in a minute with tomorrow's plan.
 
ok, for tomorrow:

Jill mentioned that we think 1.5 units BID should be a good starting dose for Sammy. We wanted to be conservative because we often see that after a dental, cats' insulin needs can change very quickly. Getting that stuff out of Sammy's mouth will probably help his numbers tremendously. That dose might be too conservative (it's lower than the low end of your old sliding scale), but if it turns out to be too low, we can fast track through the dose increases. It's a lot easier to do that than to try to work down from a dose that is too high. Have you read the sticky about the Lantus/Levemir tight regulation protocols?

Remember, Lantus is a U100 insulin, so if you are using U100 syringes you do NOT need to use the conversion charts. If you want to draw 1.5 units of Lantus, you draw to the 1.5 mark on the syringe. It will seem like a teeny tiny amount when you're used to U40 insulin!

We don't use sliding scales in Lantus, we're looking for a dose that you can shoot safely every 12 hours.

Also, I'm sure you already know this, but Sammy's numbers will likely go very high tonight once he starts bouncing, and they might be very high in the morning. Still just shoot the 1.5 units, no matter how high the number is. That's always the hardest thing for the former PZI people to grasp - I know, because I was one. :smile: Ok? Questions?
 
yeah, define "tomorrow." I'm in New York but diabetic cat time could be 4 in the morning.
How long a run do you think advisable? Btw I looked at 1.5. In case I get caught in the woods without a U100 syringe or hop a trip on "Con Air," it's the depth of my fingernail
 
I would shoot at whatever time you want to be your usual shot time. We shoot every 12 hours, unlike the PZI tight regulation protocols, so you can actually have a schedule most of the time. Might as well take this opportunity to make things convenient for you (Sammy will find a way to mess that up sooner rather than later, I'm sure). :smile:

The fingernail, LOL! I've never thought to measure it that way. I don't have any syringes left here (cat is off insulin), but that sounds about right.
 
I presume you mean the portion of your nail above the skin.

Take a look at the syringe in the "close-up showing markings" photo below. The heavier black lines (the ones on top) are 1.0u. The lines on the bottom are half units. (I'm sorry if you know this. I'd rather provide more info than you need than have you shoot 15u thinking that it's 1.5 and go through this again tomorrow.

02260024_1.jpg
 
you promised Sammy diamond studs, because you know he'll hate them and give them to you? :lol:

I'll be here, keep posting updates. I'm up late usually anyway, and I won't sleep until Sammy is safely on the rise. I know Jill will be back on here the minute she gets home too.
 
Hi Maureen-

OMG! I just read your entire condo (sky scraper :o :lol: ) and you're doing great! This happened to my mom too. She had a cat on PZI on a high dose and they switched to Lantus. Mom was told to give 3 units of Lantus and his numbers dove right away on that first day. The board helped her (through me because she doesn't have a computer!!!!) to keep him safe. Long story short, he was off Lantus and OTJ in ONE month of starting Lantus.
 
Whew! I guess I can say "hello" now. :smile:
Maureen, aren't these gals fantastic? :smile: This place is my lifeline. My rope to hang on to, just in case I need it.
I hope your night is less stressful than your day was.
 
well crud. Not that 97 is low, I was just hoping it would be more like 197. Ok, I guess Sammy wants a little more gravy.

FYI, we don't normally gravy them up like this in the 90's, not even in the 40's this much! It's that extended duration thing I mentioned, the gravy has more carbs and less bulk than regular food, so it helps us get the numbers bumped out without filling him up too much (though how he's still eating is beyond me!). My goal is 15 hours, tell him he needs to be finished dropping by +15. I'm sure if you just explain the goal, he'll get busy on it, right?

My ears WERE pierced, but I can't get earrings into them anymore.
 
Ok, I've been using FF Grilled Chicken Feast in Gravy for the carbs 'cause it was the only thing I could find on short notice like 7-11 has suddenly started reading Binky's Charts. Anybody know anything about FF Chicken Feast Chunky or FF Sliced Beef Feast in Gravy?
 
I hate to say it, but with this much HC and Karo, there's bound to be poop, probably liquipoo, soon. If this doesn't start him up, then a vet visit might be in order.
 
Maureen & Sammy said:
Ok, I've been using FF Grilled Chicken Feast in Gravy for the carbs 'cause it was the only thing I could find on short notice like 7-11 has suddenly started reading Binky's Charts. Anybody know anything about FF Chicken Feast Chunky or FF Sliced Beef Feast in Gravy?

% calories from carb:
FF Chunky Chicken Feast ~ 5%
FF Sliced Beef Feast (chart doesn't say gravy) ~ 18%

These are from the old charts. If you have the new version FF, numbers may not be true anymore.
 
The drama king is 102 at 10 minutes short of +14, an hour and a half past 2cc of karo. This is gonna be a long night. What do you think I should do?
 
I would say HC food. You can mix a little Karo in if you want. The Karo helps get him up, but doesn't hold him there. One of these days the insulin will wear off (then we'll be wishing for these nice numbers back!). But we want these nice numbers without having to work so hard to keep them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top