4/18 - Sammy (7.5u) first dose lantus - amps 212; +1 182

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm starting to feel tired; I ate some (yuch) junk food; I can usually catch another wave; on the other hand, I could just fall over. In the words of Jimmy Cagney in one of his gangster roles "I ain't so tough."
 
better. :smile:

I'm tired too, so I know you must be. How about testing in 30 minutes to see which way he's going?

oooh, just saw Jill's note about a nap, that sounds good too!
 
Think carefully before a nap though.. you've been running on adrenaline all day.. once you say "ok I can sleep a bit".. your body may go semi-coma for a while.. if you are one of those types.. more chocolate! :)
 
how true.
i'll hang out as long as i can. i have a few reports to finish up anyway.
libby went to bed as she has to get up in a few hours for work...
 
nice! well, the 231 isn't, but t this hour it's a welcome sight!
i'd retest in another 30 minutes to see if he's still up there before going to bed. he's going to bounce like nobody's business, but he'll come down.
 
Yah hehe.. I saw 231 and said "yay!" out loud.. and the inside my brain.. "something seems wrong about cheering that a cat has gone up to 231".. ;).

Home stretch now hopefully!
 
Maureen & Sammy said:
Under normal circumstances how long before you know if she'll go lower?
she's very carb sensitive so if i feed her lc, i can pretty much count on a 20 - 30 point rise withing 30 minutes. i probably won't even retest her for another hour. most would retest in 30 minutes after getting that 62...
 
Sammy tolerates low numbers. I realize that he can be hypo at 60 but he's been in the 30s without blinking an eye. I cannot say the same for myself.
 
we don't suggest decreases unless a kitty falls below 50 or stays under 100 overall for seven days.
when all this is over and you've recharged your batteries, take a look at the "protocols" sticky towards the top of the page.
 
Sammy's getting the hang of this now. I told him no 3s. He delivered 239 at +17.5, an hour and 15 minutes after the last hc feast. I have that stuff all printed out 2x I think but today was not the day to try to digest it, altho that was NOT the plan.
 
i'm fine. :-D
alex is sleeping next to me. i'm going to retest her in about 15 minutes. i'm sure she's risen after eating. not worried bout it at all...
 
OK. Thanks for Sammy's life. See you in a few hours. I'll start with 1.5U (U100) whatever his BG at a sensible hour and expect to run for 12. If I remember right I guess I should start curving at +4.
 
yes, get some sleep! you did an awesome job with sammy today!
you might want to start with a +3, but i suspect he'll run high all day tomorrow.
17.5 hours... you have to be beat!
goodnight...
 
Great job today Maureen and all your great helpers along the way! He's a lucky kitty to have you.. you obviously love him times infinity! (that's how much I tell my cats I love them).
 
On three hours sleep, yuckky. I realize I just added wrong. That's 192 at +22.25. Uh-oh. I see he's coming down again, I guess the overdose is still effective.
 
Normally we take away food 2 hours before shots so you know the number you get at pre-shot is not food driven. Then you'd test/feed/shoot. That generally takes me about 15-20 minutes from test to shoot with my crew. I don't even begin to know if that applies to your situation though!
 
I need to catch up on numbers here but an overdose can last a few days.
Can you open a new thread for today? Meet you over there.
You haven't had breathing space to make a spreadsheet right?
 
I'm on my way out the door for work, but whew! I'm glad to see that Sammy came up. I wouldn't worry too much about the 192 being on the way down, that could be the bounce clearing. If you want to wait til tonight to shoot, or shoot a far reduced amount, that is fine.

Running out the door (late as usual) but I'll look in today from work. You can start a new condo for today, this one is getting pretty long!

Fantastic job yesterday, really. I hope you'll have a chance to get a nap today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top