Re: 4/18 Merlin AMPS 426,+3/292
I was worried about how my vet would respond as well when I basically went "rogue" and started dosing ProZinc on my own. Sue probably remembers my worried posts as it was not that long ago! nailbite_smile :lol: I was very pleasantly surprised when they were supportive after seeing the data I had collected with home testing. When I made the decision to switch to Lantus, my vet was totally on board as well. I'm sure vets vary in how they decide which insulin they prescribe, but my vet initially indicated they started with ProZinc because it's more flexible, and from what I've read, I suspect that they also prescribe it first since it's cat-specific. I think you can definitely point to the fact that changing diet for Merlin dramatically reduced his need for insulin, and that he was dropping dangerously close to hypo, which you would not have been aware of, had you not started home testing. I don't know how a vet could not be impressed with what you've accomplished with Merlin in such a short time. :smile:
I will say that when we very first started home testing, we caught some unexpected low numbers, which freaked me out. It was pretty evident that the 3u bid he was on was too high. I initially spoke with a tech who is not the one we normally work with, and she was unpleasant, and disagreed when we indicated we wanted to go back to 1u and go from there. We did it anyway. The next day, I got a call from our regular vet tech who was totally on board and supportive of us dosing based on what we were seeing. I sent her copies of the ProZinc protocol from FDMB, and also told her we were going to be using a conversion chart and u100 needles. They now provide the FDMB ProZinc protocol to new FD patients, and also encourage them to use u100 syringes and a conversion chart to make smaller adjustments. Since then, they've been nothing but supportive.
I'm fortunate to have found a wonderfully supportive vet, but I've seen it suggested elsewhere that you present your info, listen to what they have to say, and if they are completely unsupportive of what you're doing, you basically nod, and smile, and do what you were going to do anyway....and look for a new vet. I hope others will chime in with how to deal with an unsupportive vet.