4/18 Max AMPS 135+1.5=274 +3=347+6=364 PMPS 407+4=312

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117378

Max tried to get me up early this morning but I didn't sleep well so I ignored him. He also was trying to vomit again early this morning. He apparently did clear the bounce last night. With a low AMPS I don't think I should increase today. He MIGHT have gone lower than his +5.5 163. I think he did but don't know if he was green. I think I should not increase before tonight. What do you think?

Yesterday's #
AMPS 261
+4 386
+6 331
PMPS 378
+2.5 261
+5 163
 
Re: 4/18AMPS 135 DOSING ADVICE

I would not increase either with this preshot. With other blue preshots, a little bit higher, at this dose, he got into greens. I hope he doesn't bounce since, he may have been in lower numbers than he has been use to these past few days.
 
Re: 4/18AMPS 135 DOSING ADVICE

Thanks for answering. I didn't increase. I sure hope he doesn't bounce again either as he just cleared the last one last night.
 
Re: 4/18AMPS 135 DIDN'T INCREASE+1.5=274BOUNCING AGAIN?+3=3

I'm so confused as to what is going on with Max. He apparently cleared the bounce last night. He had a blue AMPS and now is pink again. Does this mean he bounced again? Could the somalgi effect be happening even though the increases are small? Am I doing something wrong?
 
Re: 4/18AMPS 135 CONFUSED +1.5=274BOUNCING AGAIN?+3=347

Sorry, I don't really have any dosing advise, but I'm wondering if Max dipped lower last night, and he's going to give you a little bounce again today from that? I hope he starts to come down for you.
 
Re: 4/18AMPS 135 CONFUSED +1.5=274BOUNCING AGAIN?+3=347

Even if he didn't drop much lower I guess he dropped enough to bounce. He just cleared his last bounce last night. Thanks for visiting Jen.
 
Re: 4/18AMPS 135 CONFUSED +1.5=274BOUNCING AGAIN?+3=347

There are 2 reasons for bouncing...One is going into a low number their body isn't used to, and the other (which I think is what's going on here) is a FAST drop...Last night he dropped 117 points in 3 hours and then another 98 in the next 2...for some cats, that's enough to trigger a bounce.

It's also possible that he continued to drop after the 163 last night and the lower number triggered the bounce.

Either way it happened, yes, I think the numbers you're seeing today are bounce numbers.

cat1.gif


Now Max...You stop that right now!!...LOL
 
Re: 4/18AMPS 135 CONFUSED +1.5=274BOUNCING AGAIN?+3=347

I thought he bounced but he just cleared the last bounce last night so I wasn't sure. So I made the right decision to not increase his dose. Thanks Chris.
 
Re: 4/18AMPS 135 CONFUSED +1.5=274BOUNCING AGAIN?+3=347

I'm sorry Max is bouncing again today (or so it appears). Jersey seemed to do that, too - clear a bounce in one cycle and then bounce again the next. That has to be one of the most frustrating parts of the FD dance; it was for me anyway. :YMSIGH: People here kept telling me that cats will bounce until they don't. I didn't understand how that could possibly happen. How can a cat's liver get used to the low numbers when they are so rarely seen? It definitely happened, though. Jersey bounced until one day she just didn't. I have my paws crossed that this happens soon for Max....that he'll just stop bouncing.

Hang in there!
Shelly
 
Re: 4/18AMPS 135 +1.5=274BOUNCING AGAIN+3=347

Hi Shelly. I'm telling Max he needs to follow Jersey's wonderful example. So far he isn't listening though.
 
Re: 4/18 AMPS 135 +1.5=274 BOUNCING +3=347+6=364

Hi Elise,
I'm sorry Max is bouncing again.
Paws crossed he's be done with bouncing soon!

Thank you very much for checking in on Lucy!
She'll be on ABs for 7 days. :-x
 
Re: 4/18 AMPS 135 +1.5=274 BOUNCING +3=347+6=364

Is there anything I can do to prevent this bouncing or is it up to Max? I assume the latter. Back to back bouncing is so frustrating. If I tested again an hour or two later I suspect he dropped a little more but I doubt he got too low since my last test was around +5.5.

I just came back from volunteering at a No Kill shelter and played with some kittens probably 6 months to a coulpe of years old. I needed to see what it was like to be with well kitties. Boy do they have energy!! This place is amazing!! They have so many volunteers.
 
Re: 4/18 AMPS 135 +1.5=274 BOUNCING +3=347+6=364

From what I understand, there's really not a darn thing you can do to stop the bouncing. In cases where cats bounce because their numbers drop quickly - I think some people have tried to slow down the drop with food. I don't know how well that works in reducing bounces, and I know it's a fine line between slowing the drop and preventing the kitty from hitting blues and greens. (Hopefully some of the experienced users can share their thoughts on this.) I honestly found that feeding never worked well for Jersey. When she wanted to drop, she dropped. There is one time I remember,too, that I think I fed too much and prevented her from hitting the greens. :YMSIGH: I finally gave up and let Mr. Liver decide when he was done bouncing. Of course, ECID, so it's hard to say what might work for Max.
 
4/18 Max AMPS 135 +1.5=274 BOUNCE +3=347+6=364 PMPS 407

First red since March 26th. I have to admit that he did eat a little. When I got home it was about 2 1/2 hours before insulin so I left the food out. Then I forgot to pick it up. It doesn't matter. I will never think of rainbows in the same way again.
 
Re: 4/18 Max AMPS 135 +1.5=274 BOUNCE +3=347+6=364 PMPS 407

I know how you feel! China's had some really great numbers, and then today throws a pink in (bounce)

It's the most frustrating part of this crazy dance!

Hang in there!
 
Re: 4/18 Max AMPS 135 +1.5=274 +3=347+6=3 64 PMPS 407+4=312

What I'm experiencing with Rocky is that the closer we are to a correct dose of insulin for him, the shorter his bounces will last. The other thing is, you don't know if he is getting into some green numbers while you're sleeping. Those greens for Rocky always caused a lot of bouncing. What I'm finding though, for Rocky, is that the longer he can stay in those blue or green numbers the more his liver is getting used to it.

I did the protocol and let Rocky clear his bounces, but I hated the waiting. Now, Rocky is seeing a very long stretch of hours in green numbers and I wonder what a bounce will look like for him, when it comes again.

I can't remember, did Julie look at Max's SS and tell you if she thought he had cleared his bounce yet?
 
Re: 4/18 Max AMPS 135 +1.5=274 +3=347+6=3 64 PMPS 407+4=312

He cleared the bounce Thursday night into Friday morning and the immediately bounced again. I have to test in a little while and bet he will be high because he's been drinking water this morning. I hope he clears this one today.

I've seen Rocky stay in green for long periods. With Max it's no more than 1-2 cycles and them a bounce. Darn it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top