4/18 Lucky PMPS 590 giving his 1.75 tonight 467+2

Status
Not open for further replies.

mtncat58

Member Since 2013
AMPS 460 362+1 51+4 31+5 63+5.5 145+6 388+8 590+12 467+2

ohmygod_smile 145 maybe to much honey


:mrgreen: 4/17 Lucky 417+11 AMPS 374 95+5 85+10 151+12 PMPS 156+1 156+2
Lucky had a great day yesterday,he is always high in morning didn't get a test before ~O) just feed him. I will be gone for a couple hours but will test when I get back.
 
Re: 4/18 Lucky AMPS 460

Hi guys .. a great day for sure .. fingers crossed more of it is to come today! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/18 Lucky AMPS 460 362+1

Looks like a bounce from those nice greens yesterday. I hope it clears quickly. Have a great day!
Liz
 
Re: 4/18 Lucky AMPS 460 362+1 51+4 31+5

Lucky has dropped. Maybe a little food or wait and see if he changes this seems to be his low time.Just gave him teaspoo of honey in some CD can food was going to store to buy some FF Is this ok :?:
 
Re: 911 4/18 Lucky AMPS 460 362+1 51+4 31+5

Do you have any high carb foods with gravy around. A few drops of honey with regular to make HC is a good idea if you don't have the gravy food around. Get some for next time. You could also feed him a couple of tsp of high carb (HC). Not too much, you don't want him full in case you have to feed him more. You should test again in 30 minutes. The procedure is test, feed, wait 30 minutes and repeat until Lucky is higher. You want him over 50, but keep testing frequently until he is quite a bit higher. like the 80's.

Here is the link to the Handling Low Numbers Sticky. You want the part at the bottom.

And Lucky has earned his first dose reduction. Congratulations!
 
Re: 911 4/18 Lucky AMPS 460 362+1 51+4 31+5

ok gave him a little of friskies to will go check him again, he seems ok maybe the honey is working back i a few.
 
Re: 4/18 Lucky AMPS 460 362+1 51+4 31+5 63+5.5

:mrgreen: wow 63 now yeah honey and food were good, when should I check him again. :?:
 
Re: 911 4/18 Lucky AMPS 460 362+1 51+4 31+5 63+5.5

get a +6 if higher you are set for the rest of the cycle.

it will be nice to see how lucky responds to that amount of honey. if he goes sky high, we know to do maybe 1/2 as much. or maybe this is good amount for him. the honey and BGs will stay because you gave fast carb AND a slower carb/protein to keep the BG up.
 
Re: 4/18 Lucky after low 51+4 31+5 63+5.5 145+6

ohmygod_smile

AMPS 460 362+1 51+4 up to 145 guess not so much honey ext time he responds well.
 
Re: 4/18 Lucky after low 31+5 63+5.5 145+6

the honey causes a fast spike, but it doesn't stay in the system for very long. I would test at +7 to be sure he is staying high enough.

Definitely pick up some higher carb canned food when you're at the store so you'll be supplied for next time. Gravy Lovers or some kind of Friskies with gravy are good. Those are better to use for low numbers than syrup because they will bump up the BGs but the food part will also stay in the system for longer than syrup.
 
Re: 4/18 Lucky after low 31+5 63+5.5 145+6 388+8

Used the last can the other night that I had here so I could give him a night shot. Haven't had time to get to store but will today.
Lucky has gone up out of the woods. Hope he mellows to a nice number tonight.
 
Re: 4/18 Lucky after low 31+5 63+5.5 145+6

Wow, Lucky! Great job! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: No one has mentioned this but that 31 would result in a reduction to 1.5u.

Also, I am a little concerned because it seems that you didn't test this morning before the shot. You should always test before a shot because you never know what he might be. Yesterday, Zener was 448 and he was 57 this morning. I wouldn't dream of blindly giving him a shot. It's too dangerous. Of course, Lucky is your cat and you decide on the treatment. But I would feel awful if Lucky had a hypo and I didn't say something about what seems dangerous to me.
Liz
 
Re: 4/18 Lucky after low 31+5 63+5.5 145+6

Good catch!

Just so you have it handy, you might want to print out or bookmark these instructions on how to handle low numbers. These are the written instructions on how to test and feed.

Liz -- there is an AMPS on Lucky's SS.

Linda -- when you have a chance, could you complete a Profile on Lucky?
 
Re: 4/18 Lucky after low 31+5 63+5.5 145+6 388+8

trying to figure out how to do that? not sure what to fill in but will try it.let me know if I got it right?
 
Re: 911 4/18 Lucky AMPS 460 362+1 51+4 31+5 63+5.5

Sarah and Velcro said:
get a +6 if higher you are set for the rest of the cycle.
just for clarification, this is not necessarily true, especially if there is honey or syrup involved. If the spike at +6 was just due to the syrup, then the spike can wear off just as quickly as it started.

We also don't have a ton of data to show when Lucky's nadir is. Yesterday it was later than +6 (he was lower at +10 than he was at +5). The day before it was earlier.

If you have used syrup, it is always a good idea to test an hour or so after you see the syrup spike (and repeat that, if needed, until after the nadir) to make sure the number is staying up as the syrup wears off. That is less of a concern if you are using food to steer the numbers because the food tends to hang around for longer.
 
Re: 4/18 Lucky AMPS 460 362+1 51+4 31+5 63+5.5 145+6 388+8

Linda --

I don't understand your question. What do you mean by DX? (To me, that's an abbreviation for diagnosis.)
 
Re: 4/18 Lucky AMPS 460 362+1 51+4 31+5 63+5.5 145+6 388+8

yes I always test before shot, been around human diabetes for ever.And understand that human meter can be 20% higher for even humans, didn't panic I have worked in a hospital and lab tech vampire.Just first time seeing this low of a number on Lucky. Humans I can handle know what to do.This to will come natural before to long.
 
Re: 4/18 Lucky AMPS 460 362+1 51+4 31+5 63+5.5 145+6 388+8

Yes duh:/ wasn't thinking do I have everything on here I need? Think I got
 
Re: 4/18 Lucky AMPS 460 362+1 51+4 31+5 63+5.5 145+6 388+8

WOW.....Lucky is being dramatic here lately....LOL. Next time you have a 911...make sure to edit the subject line of the very first post and add the icon 911. That way it will show up on the board for everyone. No one knew you were having a great day with some really low numbers because you added the 911 to a reply post. But you did FANTASTIC!!!!!!! GREAT JOB!!!!! :-D :-D :mrgreen: :-D :-D
 
Re: 4/18 Lucky AMPS 460 362+1 51+4 31+5 63+5.5 145+6 388+8

Congrats again on the reduction to 1.5U. Going in the right direction now! :-D :-D Great job today, especially on not panicking! I freaked out when Neko first went low and so did she. :lol:

I don't if anyone has mentioned the concept we call shooting through the bounce. Lucky has started a rather spectacular bounce in reaction to that 31 today. If he is still high (over 300) at PMPS, you can give him his old dose of 1.75 just for tonight, to help him through the bounce. Tomorrow you'd start his new lower dose.

@Donna - She did have a 911 on her main subject line at that 31, but took it down later when Lucky came back up.
 
Re: 4/18 Lucky AMPS 460 362+1 51+4 31+5 63+5.5 145+6 388+8

Im trying to get this down,I will be good here soon. I went over to Feline diabetes site and asked too,I kinda knew what I needed to do just sometimes good to hear feed back. I will be checking him in a bit and have more food on hand this time if he goes low. I know if I go low I drink OJ or feeling high some cinnamon,I'm controlled with food.So was kinda knowledgeable about it and had to do things quick and Lucky is a very good patient. Love this boy<3 Well he gets a reduction here starting tmro if not high tonight YEAH!!! :RAHCAT
 
Re: 4/18 Lucky AMPS 460 362+1 51+4 31+5 63+5.5 145+6 388+8

Wendy&Neko said:
@Donna - She did have a 911 on her main subject line at that 31, but took it down later when Lucky came back up.
Ahhhh, I didnt know.....I just saw it on a post further down. Linda is new and is still learning the ropes so I wasnt sure. But looks like she did the right thing.

Congrats on the reduction! Lets hope you find that sweet spot soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top