4/18 larry AMPS 255 +7 294 PMPS 305

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/18 larry AMPS 255

Look at that beautiful amps for Larry!! Come on buddy you can do it, lets head for the water today and at least get your toes wet. Autumn and Cassanova are waiting for you. And Cali can show you the way.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/18 larry AMPS 255

Pam

I just looked at Larry's spreadsheet for yesterday. He brought himself down without insulin yesterday by his pmps so lets try taking him down again in dose tonight to .5u and hold him there until next Friday and see if he gives you even better numbers.

If you go look at my Cassanova's spreadsheet you'll see how when I dropped his dose from 1u to .75u he went from pinks and yellows to solid blue.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/18 larry AMPS 255

that tickled me bc larry keeps his toes wet, literally, a lot. he is obsessed with water, since i got him. he usually drinks with his paw in the bowl! messy bug. i have to give them water a good 10 times a day bc he splashes it, and turns it over, constantly. always been like this. funny but irritating.
 
Re: 4/18 larry AMPS 255

Actually none of mine drink water anymore since I took them off dry food but I also add a can of water to a can of food and make it like a smoothie. Only time someone heads for the water bowl (the dog's) is if they're running high. But the kitten Mariposa is obsessed with the flushing toilet, she'll just about push you off to watch the swirly water lol.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/18 larry AMPS 255

yes, larry loves that, i started putting a lil water in his food, but i cant put much or then he doesnt eat it all. picky rat. he leaves the meatier part. the water is his favorite part.
 
Re: 4/18 larry AMPS 255

Yes I had to work up to the amount that I know add. Even with Cali I started with just enough to make it like thick apple sauce then slowly increased it until she's now eating it like everyone else.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/18 larry AMPS 255

oh, ok. i bet they barely finish the meal, if they do, and run to the litter box! larry is bttr now than when he was way higher, but he used to barely finish half a can, without any extra water, and he would fly to the potty! reminded me of my mom. shes was diabetic, and always had to go.
 
Re: 4/18 larry AMPS 255

mel, i dont doubt u, but i am just curious how this all works. can u explain how/why he shoots up first after the dose is missed, then a little lower by the next dose? or why that is how u determine a decrease would help? just trying to learn. thanks.
 
Re: 4/18 larry AMPS 255

He goes up because of food but the fact that he didn't keep going up but actually dropped means he's producing some of his own insulin so his pancreas is working just not enough to keep up with what he's eating. If it wasn't working at all he would have been sky high by last night so all he was working with yesterday was his own power and a little of his left over shed.

I'm not positive it will work but we know up isn't the answer going up makes his numbers climb so the only direction left to go is down. So far with each decrease his numbers have gotten better.

There is really no scientific formula (Lord I wish there was) it's a lot of trial and error to find what works for each and every cat. You try something if it works great if it doesn't you try reversing course. If that works great if not you start looking for other things to try.

Cali will be 6th sugarcat I have tested and dosed and not a single one of those 6 have done this dance the same way. Maxwell went from pink and yellow while in foster care on 1u got no insulin so he could be flown out here from Boston and arrived here basically OTJ. Musette never had stable numbers it didn't matter what dose I tried she dive and bounce on Lantus switched to Levemir and she smoothed out and was on an OTJ trial when she stopped eating and passed away from anemia. Autumn I've chased up and down the dosing scale. We go up for awhile then we go down for awhile. Cassanova held steady for months on a single unit and now I'm back to figuring him out and Cali just needs a little time and support while her body relearns normal again and she'll be diet controlled. And my very first girl Muse never really got a chance to dance because she just too much wrong with her by the time we discovered the diabetes.

Its in her honor and memory that I do what I do here everyday. Because I lost her to this disease Maxwell, Autumn, Cassanova and now Cali are alive. And why share what each of them taught me along the way with all of you.

I in no way shape or form have all the answers or even half the time truly understand how it all works. Nor will I ever claim to be an expert. I'm just been dancing with sugarcats for the last 4 years and have a few tricks up my sleeve that may or may not work.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/18 larry AMPS 255 +7 294

oh ok....wow! i cant get past u saying...his pancreas is working a little?? really??? i was afraid it was too late for him. he has me, who adores him more than life, but my best care of him, is not the greatest, for sure. if its doing anything, im excited!

i just wish the urine would slow down. i cant remember when it got bad again, but im so exhausted. cant keep up with the boxes. its not the buckets like b4 dx but its a lot! more than all other 5 combined. i cant wait for it to be better. seems like even when he was at 2u or so it was better? I forget, i just wish i knew how to slow it down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top