4/18 Juno AMPS 139: which dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tininha & Juno

Member Since 2014
Hello everyone!

I am new in this board and I was hoping you could give me some word of advice on which dose to give my Juno. He is using levemir, but this board is very active and it has many experienced people, so I hope you do not mind me asking for advice here instead.

His AMPS number is now 139 and I am a bit nervous to shot the complete dose, but on the other hand his values have been terribly high in the past week since I skipped and reduced the dose because of some low pre-shot values. He is now on 1u dose of levemir and I should give him the morning shot at this time. Which dose do you recommend?

Thank you!
Cristina
 
I think you did fine to give a BCS dose (that's a one time reduced dose), this time. Unless he goes below 50 today, I would go back to the 1.00 tonight and stick with it as much as you can.
Also, since this is a lower than normal pre shot test, I would start the cycle with a +1 and a +2 (that's a test after 1 hour and then another after 2 hours) to see how he's doing. The depot of the 1.00 is still active in him.
 
Thank you Dyana! His number at +4 is 86. I will be checking on how he is doing the whole day. Good thing that it's Easter!
 
Hi Cristina and welcome to LL (usually, we refer to the board as Lantus Land, but in your case, it's Levemir Land!) There are quite a few people here using Lev so there's nothing to worry about. Lantus and Lev work in much the same way. The only difference is that onset and nadir for Lev is later in the cycle than with Lantus.

Given that you're seeing an 86 at +4, how about giving Juno a snack of some low carb food and testing in 30 - 60 min?

In case you haven't seen it, here's the link to the sticky note on Shooting & Handling Low Numbers.
 
Thank you. His numbers at +6 and +8 were 77 and 94. Not bad given the last week. I think the 94 number is higher than what expected because I gave him some new treats (after the poking) and they have a little bit more carbs than the food he's eating.
 
Those are great numbers for Juno!!

When you have a few minutes, would you mind completing a Profile for Juno. It will allow us to get to know him (and you) better and we won't plague you with the same questions over and over again.
 
Hi Christina! Just wanted to add my welcome to LL to you and Juno! I hope you'll post daily/regularly and ask as many questions as you have. Lev is a great insulin and many folks here use it as well.

What a nice day for Juno! we call it a "surf" when a kitty spends hours in green and blue numbers - it's very good for their bodies and helps them get reaccustomed to a more normal blood sugar range.

Very nice to meet you! :-D
 
Hi Christina,

Welcome to LL! I don't give dosing advice (too inexperienced), but I do give lots of encouragement and support! I'm glad you found us.

Juno is a cutie - I love the pics in his profile. I did notice that you feed variably throughout the day. One of the recommendations is to not feed for two hours before the AMPS and PMPS readings. We don't want food to influence those numbers. I didn't know if you knew that and wanted to mention it just in case you were feeding during those times. Those two-hour periods were the only times when I would not let Jersey eat. Otherwise, she pretty much ate whenever she wanted. She's definitely a grazer!

If you ever have questions, please make sure you ask. There are so many wonderful people here who have an absolute wealth of knowledge. Without them, Jersey and I would have been lost!

Have a great night!
Shelly
 
Hi Julie and Shelly!

Very nice to meet you too! Today Juno is back to the red numbers again... His fur is becoming greasy and he keeps loosing muscular mass on his hind legs. I am thinking of increasing his dose again to 1.25u. I have seen some good results a few weeks ago before I messed up his numbers again by reducing his dose... :sad:

Thanks for the advice about the food, Shelly. I will try to avoid giving him some food a couple of hours before the shots.

Great to have this board for advice!
Cristina
 
Hi Christina!

The high numbers you have today are a bounce from the good numbers you had yesterday. We just hold the dose and wait for the bounce to pass. It can last as much as 72ish hours - so 3 days - from the low numbers before it clears. Here's an explanation of what bouncing is on the second post down:New Dose Wonkiness, Failed Reductions and Bouncing

Just stick with the 1.0u dose. It looks pretty good on him. If you increase the dose now, he'll be overdosed when the bounce clears.
 
Hi Julie!

Thank you for the advice. I will read about what bouncing is. I will stick then with 1u dose for 3 days and see how well he goes.

Have a nice Saturday!
Cristina
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top