4/18 Gus PMPS 519; Wait on R

Status
Not open for further replies.

bev5477

Member Since 2011
At least Gus is starting out on the chart. We have to take our small victories wherever we find them. Have a great day LL.
 
Re: 4/18 Gus AMPS 547

Here's to hoping the R helps out Gus!

We take our victories when the show up. Sometimes it all just seems so darn random, but there is a benefit to consistency, persistence, and patience.
 
Re: 4/18 Gus AMPS 547

Also meeting with new vet today. Wonder what he'll make of me? "Who is this woman and why is she carrying a spreadsheet?" :lol:
 
Re: 4/18 Gus AMPS 547

Hi guys .. I agree, even though 547 isn't a pretty number, it certainly looks better then HI right? Glad you are getting the R today and I'm hoping you see the results you want soon .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/18 Gus AMPS 547

Hi Bev,
Good luck today with interviewing the new vet. I hope he will be one you'll be able to work with (or work around!) and not one of the "dictator" types!! And I hope that R will bring Gus' numbers down.

Check in with you later,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/18 Gus AMPS 547 New Vet

We struck gold!! This vet looks like Robin Williams and is every bit as quick. I liked him a lot. He was very familiar with glargine and was super happy that Gus was on it. I told him where I was getting my Lantus education (here) and he has actually heard of what a great site this is. He is totally comfortable with me being in charge of Gus' dosing and said he'd like to be kept abreast of all the developments. I asked what he thought about giving .1U of R to keep Gus out of the clouds and he was taken aback just a tiny bit. He grinned just a bit and thought that using R would be a much needed rest for Gus' body. He said that I'm in good hands and to be sure to let him know if he could be of any assisstance. That went a whole lot better than I thought.
 
Re: 4/18 Gus AMPS 547 New Vet

Oh, Bev. I'm so excited for you!! I've been through the vet nightmares, and our vets now are okay... one is knowledgable but doesn't like TR because she thinks it will burn owners out, the other is relatively new and is totally willing to learn, but doesn't have a lot to say.

To have a vet that is up on everything AND supportive?!?!? You have indeed struck gold in dem dere hills!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Can't wait to see how Gus' R trial goes!!!
 
Re: 4/18 Gus AMPS 547 New Vet

Awesome and what great news! I do so love a vet that is on board with all that we do here. SWEET!

Good luck with the R. I hope it will get Gus out of the clouds. It is nice that he posted a 500 this morning - a small victory, but ever so rewarding.

Have a great day guys - it is off to such a great start! :cool:
 
Re: 4/18 Gus AMPS 547 New Vet

What great news! You must be so relieved. Having a vet who is a partner and who doesn't need to trip over his or her ego is worth it's weight in gold.
 
I bought the R today, but some things came up tonight where I think I'll be better suited to do the R trial on Gus on hhis next bounce. I will be giving him his dosecrease of .5U tonight, bringing him to 4.5U. We can watch for his bounce and do it then. From what I understand, I have to be very present and accounted for in the administration of this stuff. I just feel as if I'm being pulled in too many directions tonight. It would be possible, but I want to give him my undivided attention. So, we'll watch for the bounce. Based on what I know about my Gus, his bounce will take place either tomorrow PM (4/19) or Wed. AM (4/20). Of course, he'll prove me wrong. Libby, I'll PM you if I see it happen and haven't heard from you.
 
Lucky you and lucky Gus to find a good vet! Now that you have the R, Gus may decide to come down on Lantus alone!!!!!

Have a good evening, guys,

Ella & Rusty
 
If you are going to use R, please make sure that Libby is available to help you. While I know about how to use R is theory, I've not used it myself and I wouldn't be comfortable guiding you with it's use.
 
Now, wouldn't that be just like a sugar kitty! I'd be happy to see him come down on Lantus alone.
 
LOL! That's kind of what Jazzy did. Jojo said "go get R and learn to use it." So I went and got R and her numbers got so pretty I didn't get to use it much for a while. I'm pretty sure I remember someone here (I don't remember who) buying it and never using it. If that's what it takes to get the numbers down, I'm all for it!

Since you just increased Gus's Lantus dose, I agree with your thoughts to wait a few days to see what that dose does before adding R to the mix. When you increased to 4 units, he responded on the 4th cycle, so if the 4th cycle of 4.5 comes and goes without much movement we'll hit him with some R. If he does go blue and then bounces we'll hit him then. Keep practicing measuring the teeny dose! It will feel like you're shooting nothing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top