? 4/18 Gus another failed reduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

elizabeth and gus

Member Since 2015
4/18
AMPS 364, +4 334
PMPS 403 +3.4 499

His BG is high again. Is it failed reduction??? Should we stay with 0.75 or increase to 1U??
 
Since you are following SLGS, you would hold the dose for a week, and then perform a curve to determine that to do next with the dose. From the SLGS Sticky Note:

Hold the dose for at least a week
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) if kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours
Note
: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.

  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Note that you do test enough for TR if you wanted to, but since you are following SLGS, you wouldn't increase yet. There is a good chance that Gus got down to blues last night. He went from 426 at shot time to 203 3 hours later. That's a pretty quick drop (average 74 points an hour). Any drop over 50 points an hour can cause a bounce, which is what you are seeing today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top