4/18 George AMPS-268 +1.5-342 +4-281

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/18 George AMPS-268

Lantus is a depot insulin.
Here are some terms that explain what is happening ...
You are getting more action than the 12 hours .



Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
How to do a Curve- a simple explanation

Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

A typical Levemir curve will have an onset at approximately +4 and a nadir around +8 - +10. However, please keep in mind every cat is different (ECID). Data collection will offer you a better picture of YOUR cat's response to either of these insulins.
Video: Levemir: Mode of Action


A full understanding of the following concepts will go a long way in helping you regulate your kitty's blood glucose when using Lantus or Levemir:
Carryover - insulin effects lasting past the insulin's official duration
Overlap - the period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing and the next insulin shot is taking effect
Insulin Depot - (aka "storage shed" in Lantus Land) "spare tank" of insulin, which has yet to be used by the body
what is the insulin depot
This link gives you a fuller explanation of what the depot is.
 
Re: 4/18 George AMPS-268 +1.5-342

Thanks for the links. More action and a built up depot is what we want, correct? I keep telling myself we're on the right track ;-)
 
Re: 4/18 George AMPS-268 +1.5-342

Hi guys ..nice amps this morning george, but time to turn around and head back down .. nothing to see up there! have a great day guys!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top