4/18 Frank AMPS 167 Help forgot to give shot..what to do??

Status
Not open for further replies.
i'd shoot a bcs dose of 1u and hope he's high enough to shoot at your regular shot time unless you have some flexibility in your schedule...
 
So if I shoot 1 U now, 2 hrs after normal time......I can shoot my regular dose at my regular time tonight??

I would prefer this...rather than be shooting at 10 PM ..
 
there's no guarantees. he *should* be high enough by then because of shooting such a reduced dose, but you never know for sure until the time comes...
 
Forgetting is not that unusual around here I guess....so much to think about and to do and well, it happens. Here's hoping the 1u will be just fine and that all will be back on track tonight! :YMHUG:
 
Ok, I gave him a BCS dose of 1U. I hope he's high enough to shoot by normal shot time. Thanks Jill..

....in the wait and see mode....

Here's hoping the 1u will be just fine and that all will be back on track tonight!
I hope so, Pat.
 
About 1/2 hr ago I gave Frank a BCS dose of 1U. It's 2 1/2 hrs since he ate and his BG is 259 already! Isn't this where the shed would be useful...? but he's jumped pretty quickly nevertheless.
 
I could be talking out of my rear end here, but if it were me I'd probably try to feed him a little bit to see if it helps. I'd pick something as lc as possible for right now and just feed a couple of small spoons.
 
Marvie and Tugger said:
I could be talking out of my rear end here, but if it were me I'd probably try to feed him a little bit to see if it helps. I'd pick something as lc as possible for right now and just feed a couple of small spoons.
Do you expect the extra food to help him surf rather than spike??
 
You might see some rebound, between the recent lower numbers and the late shot.

My kitty gets a little snack every three hours, plus his two regular meals (coinciding with shot time). Partly because he was used to free-feeding, partly because he has no concept of saving anything for later, and partly in my feeble attempts to try to keep his BG level with fewer food spikes.
 
Marvie and Tugger said:
I could be talking out of my rear end here, but if it were me I'd probably try to feed him a little bit to see if it helps. I'd pick something as lc as possible for right now and just feed a couple of small spoons.
am curious as to why you would do this...
 
Hi Delma,
Just wondering, on your ss, you have the time of your shot as 810, but that's the forgotten time, so maybe it would be good if you put in the actual time you gave Frank that 1u so there is no mixup later when people look at your ss and reply to you.
 
Gayle and Shadoe said:
Hi Delma,
Just wondering, on your ss, you have the time of your shot as 810, but that's the forgotten time, so maybe it would be good if you put in the actual time you gave Frank that 1u so there is no mixup later when people look at your ss and reply to you.
I was wondering how to write this all up so it would make sense to others...and me later on.
What about my tests....the test at 2.5 corresponds to forgotten(feeding) time, should I replace it with .5...referring to BCS shot time?...
 
Hi Frank,
I could well be wrong but to me, if you put the 10:00 in the shot time, that +2.5 should represent 12:30 or 2.5 hours after the time of the actual BCS shot of 1u

The shot was actually at +14, but I get way confused how to properly record that sort of thing.
So long as it's clear to others what times you did what, it should be OK.

You posted :
About 1/2 hr ago I gave Frank a BCS dose of 1U. It's 2 1/2 hrs since he ate and his BG is 259 already! Isn't this where the shed would be useful...? but he's jumped pretty quickly nevertheless.
Post Posted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 9:45 am

For me, I would put the shot time as 9:15 and the 259 should be in the +1 column with a note to say it's actually taken at +.5 or only 30min after his shot.

That shot seems to have been just over an hour after the time you have as 810, but what is that time actually, the shot time or the shot and also feeding time?
 
Gayle and Shadoe said:
Hi Frank,
I could well be wrong but to me, if you put the 10:00 in the shot time, that +2.5 should represent 12:30 or 2.5 hours after the time of the actual BCS shot of 1u

The shot was actually at +14, but I get way confused how to properly record that sort of thing.
So long as it's clear to others what times you did what, it should be OK.

You posted :
About 1/2 hr ago I gave Frank a BCS dose of 1U. It's 2 1/2 hrs since he ate and his BG is 259 already! Isn't this where the shed would be useful...? but he's jumped pretty quickly nevertheless.
Post Posted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 9:45 am

For me, I would put the shot time as 9:15 and the 259 should be in the +1 column with a note to say it's actually taken at +.5 or only 30min after his shot.

That shot seems to have been just over an hour after the time you have as 810, but what is that time actually, the shot time or the shot and also feeding time?
Gayle, It gets crazy confusing, doesn't it? :shock:
Hopefully how I've recorded in the SS,( and notes made) it'll make sense.
 
See? Now that's way better!
Column C has a title so nobody has to guess what that number means, and by adding the little extra stuff like @xxx or +# in with the BG value, it's all clear as day. If you ever wonder how it's going to be interpreted, just repeat it all in the comments, at the far right of the line, just like you did!

And crazy confusing doesn't even begin to describe it, but it does get better.
 
Like Nina, I feed my bunch every few hours because they are grazers. Sometimes I just need to freshen up leftovers other times they've cleaned the bowls and are yelling for food.

You said it was a couple of hours since he'd eaten when you gave the shot but didn't mention feeding him when you gave the shot, everything I read says you should make sure they eat before shooting. I'd give the lower of the low carb to try to keep from driving his numbers up too far, and just a little snack because I'm not experienced enough to know just what a late shot would do and I wouldn't want to fill him up in case I had to be concerned about possible low numbers later that needed to be fed. Feeding him would also keep me busy while I wait for replies from people who know more than me. It seems like Tugger's numbers go up some when he's hungry (or he's hungry because his number is high?) so a little snack will often help them come down a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top