4/18 Fearless, AMPS=465 +3(298) +6(192) +9(158) PMPS=181 +2(399) +4(444)

Status
Not open for further replies.

fearlessmom

Member Since 2017
Still bouncing? Did the 1.5U bring him down from the BG of 500 (at +3 last night) to where he is now or did it drop further overnight and has now just come back up? I can't tell without a + 6 or +7 or +8 or +9 pm reading. Whenever I suspect bouncing or whenever he is below 200 at bedtime, should I just plan to wake up in the middle of the night to test? It seems many of you do that. Should I just plan to get no sleep until he is regulated? I'm not being facetious here. I really want to do what's best for Fearless and if that is what is required I can catch a cat nap (no pun intended) or two between tests during the day. Please advise. Under last night's circumstances, when would you test during the pm cycle?

Here's what happened yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-17-fearless-pmps-337.176509/#post-1942683

Also, I noticed that people who post like this in the morning update their post all day long and put the numbers in the title of their post. Can you edit the title as well as the body of a post (I've never tried it)?
 
Still bouncing?
Yes he is.

whenever he is below 200 at bedtime, should I just plan to wake up in the middle of the night to test?
A good approach is to test at +2 after the PM dose to see if he's heading down quickly. If so, you can give a small low carb snack to try slowing the drop as well as setting an alarm to see where he is at +5 and beyond. Over time you'll learn what works best for him.

Should I just plan to get no sleep until he is regulated?
It's not as bad as that! :) You'll get better at understanding his responses so you know when closer monitoring is in order. They can still surprise you though.

Can you edit the title as well as the body of a post (I've never tried it)?
Yes, you can edit the thread title. Go to the lower right area under your post's title and put the cursor over "Thread Tools".

BTW - you dropped the dose according to SLGS. Strictly speaking you should stay at the new dose for a week and then do a curve.
 
Dropped to 1.75U because of the 67 AMPS on 4/15. Dropped it again to 1.5U for the 54 mid-morning count yesterday. He bounced both times.

I tested at +2 yesterday but it was still going up. Tested at +3 thinking the insulin would have kicked in but only came down a smidge.
 
Is he clearing the bounce? If so, to avoid a repeat of yesterday, should I feed him more or a bit of MC food (to slow down the drop)?
 
Is he clearing the bounce? If so, to avoid a repeat of yesterday, should I feed him more or a bit of MC food (to slow down the drop)?
He came down a fair bit by +3 so it looks like the bounce is clearing. Did you give him a little snack? It'll be interesting to see how he does the rest of this cycle.
 
I gave him a 1/4 can of his usual LC FF. I typically try to put that amt in front of him 6x/day (as a reward for sitting still for his tests), and he gets a 1/2 can each with his am shot and at bedtime. It's about twice what he was getting before he was diagnosed, but he's not getting dry now which he was before, plus he had lost 1.5 lbs from his already lean 8 lb frame so he can afford to gain a little.
 
Hey there! I just looked at Fearless's SS and he sure clears bounces fast which is wonderful! He is really working the juice and I have a sneaky suspicion that it won't be long before he earns another reduction.

Momma , your instincts are good with feeding him 6 little meals a day; so much better for the Pancreas.

We have all felt sleep deprived in this sugar dance. When Bubba was racing down the dosing ladder most of his reductions were earned during the PM cycke so this Bean did a lot of PJ party's. Most of the times I would stay up and monitor and let him earn the reduction but there were some nights I was too tired or sick and when I saw he was getting to low I would carb him up so I could get some sleep. But , you wouldn't want to do that all the time because the goal is to get the insulin dose reduced and you don't want to block the reduction. Luckily , I am a stay home daughter taking care of my 89 year old mom so , I am able to catch a cat nap ;) through the day too.

If you are home most of the time , you could do TR as long as no dry food is in the picture. With TR, you don't have to hold the dose as long ( only 3 days ). And regulation can happen faster. It's something to think about.
 
He clears those bounces so fast! :cat: Yes, stick with 1.5 and I would get a +2 and remember, if the +2 is the same number or lower than 181, then it could be an active cycle and more monitoring might be necessary. And if he starts to drop fast at the +2, you know how to steer to keep him surfing. He is looking so good. :)
 
FYI Fearless Momma ( sorry don't know your name) If ever you need dosing advice, change you title with a prefix with a ? mark and say something like Dosing advice needed ASAP. That way more eyes will go on it more quickly. I just happened to sign in and got an alert only because I posted on your thread earlier .
 
Now I'm confused. What would make it jump that much in 2 hours? Is it possible the insulin hasn't kicked in yet?
 
Now I'm confused. What would make it jump that much in 2 hours? Is it possible the insulin hasn't kicked in yet?
Could be a food spike or the start of a bounce. It's better to focus on the array of colours on your SS instead of individual numbers. Are you seeing more blues? greens? That tells the story more clearly than one number.
 
158 was the nadir today. Could he bounce off that? He did have food just before and just after his shot but but then nothing until the +2 test. I guess I just need more data to know what's really going on.
 
158 was the nadir today. Could he bounce off that? He did have food just before and just after his shot but but then nothing until the +2 test. I guess I just need more data to know what's really going on.
He could be bouncing from the big drop between AMPS and the blues, not necessarily from the nadir number itself.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top