? 4/18 Callie AMPS 434. Could someone look at her SS and see what

Status
Not open for further replies.

Glennie

Member Since 2016
you think? She was on 1U, and because she hit a 42, I decreased to .75U. I did a curve on 4/16 after 6 days of that dose. Her BG of 146 seemed to say that was an okay dose, but I am seeing a lot of reds and a few blacks. :(
I'm thinking the .75U isn't enough, but the 1U is too much. ??? Any ideas, thoughts, or advice. Or she could be bouncing from going low at night? Or maybe dose decrease wonkiness? Or maybe she is wanting me to go a little crazy here?! If that's her plan, it's working. :D Nothing else has changed other than the lowered dose.
 
Can you set an alarm at night to get a +6-7? If you can monitor I'd call it a failed reduction and take her back up to 1.0. For smaller reductions using calipers help. Have you seen this? I had to use them for Max. Even the best but discontinued Terumo syringes varied from one to the next.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/#post-862835
Thank you so much for your response. I appreciate you taking the time to look it over and reply. :bighug:

Yes, I will set my alarm and get that PM +6 or +7.

On 4/2 she hit a 59 with the 1u so I decreased to the .75U, and then on 4/9 I went back up to 1U because of the higher numbers. And then I got the 42. I thought the initial low of 59 was due to us traveling and her not eating (which I'm sure contributed to it), but then the recent 42?? Could you look farther back up on the SS, and see the initial reduction? I was thinking failed reduction that time, and so went back to the 1U. But then we hit a new low of 42. I know the above is so complicated. Thank heavens for Marje and the SS. If you have a chance to look at it, and see what I'm talking about, I would really appreciate it. I'm wondering if she needs an in-between dose.

I did look over the caliper post. Thank you very much. I've wondered about that when people have mentioned caliper dosing. I will read over it more closely. I have noticed that the syringe markings aren't all exactly uniform so calipers would be the way to go. I've thrown some syringes away that are off, but it's hard to eyeball them all at that tiny amount. My DH has calipers he uses for work so I'm going to "borrow" them. ;) Also I've read about expressing drops for some doses. ??? Thanks again. :bighug:
 
She definitely is a bouncer like my Max was. He kept failing reductions so I did what I could to prevent him from earning them. I would feed him higher carbs, middle carbs, to be able to avoid earned reductions and get him used to more normal BG levels. I also took less than .25 reductions so that is an option too. Both ways are dependent on being able to monitor. I would test @+2.5-3 and feed some amounts depending on tge results until he had reached nadir and was surfing.
 
Thanks, Elise. That's a whole new way for me to look at it--trying to prevent them from earning the reductions. I've just assumed less insulin is better, hoping that as her need goes down, her pancreas is healing, but I guess not and definitely not if her numbers are going up so high.

Feeling really dumb here, but tge? I haven't been able to find a consistent time that she reaches the nadir. I'm going to test at +6 today. So test at +3 and feed accordingly? I will have more questions about what that means. Hope you don't mind.

I am able to monitor most days, but she gets fed up with me after a bit and starts hiding. This is all so hard. I knew it was going to be, but wow! And I know we have it much easier than most. Once I get a dose that's working, it's not too bad, but when this all happens, it gets discouraging. I can tell that with these higher numbers, she's not feeling well.

Thanks for listening and thanks so much for your response, ideas, and wisdom. :bighug:
 
I often hit tge by mistake on my iPad when rushing. It's really the. The idea is to get them used to normal numbers bears by not falling too lower. It's often called feeding the curve. When they get used to normal numbers tfey tend to not bounce as much.
 
Thanks, Elise. That's a whole new way for me to look at it--trying to prevent them from earning the reductions. I've just assumed less insulin is better, hoping that as her need goes down, her pancreas is healing, but I guess not and definitely not if her numbers are going up so high.

Feeling really dumb here, but tge? I haven't been able to find a consistent time that she reaches the nadir. I'm going to test at +6 today. So test at +3 and feed accordingly? I will have more questions about what that means. Hope you don't mind.

I am able to monitor most days, but she gets fed up with me after a bit and starts hiding. This is all so hard. I knew it was going to be, but wow! And I know we have it much easier than most. Once I get a dose that's working, it's not too bad, but when this all happens, it gets discouraging. I can tell that with these higher numbers, she's not feeling well.

Thanks for listening and thanks so much for your response, ideas, and wisdom. :bighug:
I understand your frustration, Glennie. Have a look at Teasel's SS from last night - I was madly feeding his curve from +2 to +5 to avoid a possible lime green.
 
I often hit tge by mistake on my iPad when rushing. It's really the. The idea is to get them used to normal numbers bears by not falling too lower. It's often called feeding the curve. When they get used to normal numbers tfey tend to not bounce as much.
Of course, I wasn't thinking! The--tge! If I would have seen that somewhere else other than on here, I would have figured it was the. I see a "g" and I'm trying to figure something out about glucose. Total glucose evaluation was one I came up with. And I've done the tge on my phone lots of times! LOL

I've heard of members talking about feeding the curve and seen the SS, but I haven't done it at all other than feed her HC when her BG gets too low. Her +6 was 161 so that must be close to her nadir. I'll do the PM test or tests tonight.
 
That's a whole new way for me to look at it--trying to prevent them from earning the reductions. I've just assumed less insulin is better, hoping that as her need goes down, her pancreas is healing, but I guess not and definitely not if her numbers are going up so high.
Less insulin may or may not be better. Your first goal should be regulation, which means spending as much time as possible in healing green. Once you achieve regulation, then being able to keep a reduction is more likely.

Since you are following SLGS, you would maintain the dose as you are seeing nadirs under 150. But getting that night time test tonight could be very informative.
 
I understand your frustration, Glennie. Have a look at Teasel's SS from last night - I was madly feeding his curve from +2 to +5 to avoid a possible lime green.
Kris, I did look at Teasel's SS. These kitties, huh?! I appreciate your understanding. Thanks! Today looks like it's one of those days where it feels a little discouraging. I guess I need to quit hoping for (dare I say it) remission and just hope to keep her numbers within reason where she is feeling good.
 
Less insulin may or may not be better. Your first goal should be regulation, which means spending as much time as possible in healing green. Once you achieve regulation, then being able to keep a reduction is more likely.

Since you are following SLGS, you would maintain the dose as you are seeing nadirs under 150. But getting that night time test tonight could be very informative.
I will be looking forward to seeing the numbers tonight also. I can't seem to get her to those healing green numbers. So tomorrow after seeing the numbers, I should be able to see whether to hold the dose or not, I guess? Thanks, Wendy.
 
I don't know how to put this post onto my new post. Someone gave me really good instructions, but I didn't do it right away and so I've forgotten. Anyway I'll start a new condo for today with these numbers, but I also wanted to put this on here.
PMPS 257
+2 283
+4 270
+6 235
+8 248
+10 258
4/19 AMPS 273
So Callie was surfing all night, but it was in the yellows. At least she didn't do the big ugly red or black or even pink bounce!

I had my husband show me how to use the calipers, and according to them, my eyeball dose of .75 is fairly accurate, but where the dose marks start is the problem. So I'll try the calipers.

So any thoughts as to her dosage with the above numbers? I was so disappointed that she didn't reach a lower nadir, but she did the day before. (161) I'm going to take +6 or 7 test today, but I need to give her a test break. I've mentioned this before, but she gets really resentful after a while.

Thank you to everyone for your thoughts yesterday. Any input today would be appreciated, but it's not an emergency. :bighug:
 
Start a new thread. Then copy the URL. Paste it to your new one.

A flat yellow is often followed by an active cycle.

I felt the same way with that first line on the syringes. It varied a lot. So with calipers I measured from the same starting place every time.

Looks like the bounce cleared as your starting point is lower.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top