4/18 Bella AMPS 311, +2 330, +5.5 255, PMPS 238

Bellas_mom_2020

Member Since 2024
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-17-bella-amps-282-3-223-6-147-pmps-204-3-211.288918/

I asked this in the FB group but I also wanted to ask on here as well.

I know several members have said that the insulin can last several months if stored properly in the fridge. Bella was diagnosed on 2/10 and started insulin 2/11 and now we’re at like 2.5 months and I’m wondering if maybe the insulin in not as good anymore or it’s something else. She’s on Lantus and is the pen and we use the syringe. She was doing good on the 0.75 - getting green numbers and then we went away so we got a vacation dose of 0.5 for almost a week, then we returned and got her back on the 0.75 and her numbers were not like they were - no greens at all. So we bumped her up to 1 unit and today is day 4 on it and still no green numbers. Could the insulin not be as good anymore? I don’t know what else it can be - just looking for some answers.
 
Last edited:
I think the longest I used a pen (actually the refill cartridge but same thing) was 91 days. That's because it was empty at that point.

We don't know what Bella is doing after +3 at night. I'd suggest that when you see a big drop to +3, such as the PM of April 13th, you try to get a test a couple hours later. However low she got that night, she bounced afterwards. It's also possible that she build up some glucose toxicity on the vacation dose - the solution to which is increasing the dose. Lastly, it is possible the pen is off - does the insulin look clear, no floaties? You can always try a new pen for a couple cycles to see if it makes a difference. If not, you can use up the old pen.
 
I think the longest I used a pen (actually the refill cartridge but same thing) was 91 days. That's because it was empty at that point.

We don't know what Bella is doing after +3 at night. I'd suggest that when you see a big drop to +3, such as the PM of April 13th, you try to get a test a couple hours later. However low she got that night, she bounced afterwards. It's also possible that she build up some glucose toxicity on the vacation dose - the solution to which is increasing the dose. Lastly, it is possible the pen is off - does the insulin look clear, no floaties? You can always try a new pen for a couple cycles to see if it makes a difference. If not, you can use up the old pen.

im just feeling defeated and overwhelmed. She was doing so good with her numbers and now she’s not. Can you explain the glucose toxicity to me, I don’t understand it. I’m usually sleeping after I check +3 PMPS and so is Bella so I don’t ever test.

I have to look at the pen when I get home to check how it looks, and I double checked with my mom to make sure when she watched her did the pen stay in the fridge. Just trying to cover all bases. I just asked the vet to send a prescription in because I want to try a new pen just to see. The one we are using now came from the vet so I don’t know if maybe their pens are older. I don’t know trying to just figure everything out.
 
Karamelle was diagnosed at the end of Dec and we started the Lantus pen on Jan 6. It lasted to the last drop on April 7. I never saw any difference when starting the new pen. The numbers do what they want, it seems. We are still seeing pinks and low reds along with greens and everything in between.
 
Glucose toxicity basically means that if they spend time in higher numbers, they get used to them. More detail here: Feline Diabetes and Glucose Toxicity links It's not uncommon. Just follow TR with increases as needed and you will get to that dose that turns her around. Bella is still on a relatively small insulin dose.

I used my before bed test as an indicator whether I should set an alarm and test a couple hours later. Bella's nadir seem so be on the earlier side of the cycle, which is a good thing for you. Neko's was much later, I wasn't fond of those 3AM checks!
 
Back
Top