? 4-18 AMPS 429 - Tiffany seems to get worse as we go up in dose. Please advise...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jadi & Tiffany

Member Since 2017
Good morning!

Wendy advised me that I should have only gone up .25 instead and .50 units, so I will reduce to 4.75 tonight. However, she seems to feel worse when I go up in dose. Wendy also suggested getting more evening readings. Can anyone else help me with advice? I am becoming frustrated and sad for my kitty.

Thank you!
 
Do you think I should go back to 4.5, since she seemed to feel better at that amount and was posting better numbers???????
 
Hi Jadi,

I cannot give advise on dosage but to understand better Tiffany high numbers some people may ask you

a) are there any reasons to suspect ongoing infection?
b) any antibiotics Tiffany takes now?
c) how is she doing in general? I mean her appetite, activity, litter box habits, etc? You said she was worse off after the increase but what exactly do you mean?
d) do you still test for ketones? There is nothing in the SS to that effect.

Your post will go up and I hope that people with experience are online and that they will get beck to you.

Sending Tiffany healing vines and wishes for speedy recovery
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry, I missed your other new post for today. I did not suggest going back in dose, just mentioned that you had jumped up a bit fast for TR. I would stick with the current dose for a couple cycles yet and get those night time tests. Given the data you are seeing so far, she may in fact need a dose increase, but first we need to make sure she's not going lower at night and bouncing during the day.

Tanya asks some good questions. Have you had Tiffany's teeth looked at lately? Tooth issues or infection/inflammation can also be a reason for higher numbers that make it harder to regulate a cat. How long since her last bloodwork?

How Tiffany is feeling is definitely an important part of the equation. Cats are more than their numbers.
 
Hi Jadi,

I cannot give advise on dosage but to understand better Tiffany high numbers some people may ask you

a) are there any reasons to suspect ongoing infection?
b) any antibiotics Tiffany takes now?
c) how is she doing in general? I mean her appetite, activity, litter box habits, etc? You said she was worse off after the increase but what exactly do you mean?
d) do you still test for ketones? There is nothing in the SS to that effect.

Your post will go up and I hope that people with experience are online and that they will get beck to you.

Sending Tiffany healing vines and wishes for speedy recovery
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Tanya,

Thank you for replying. I was seeing blue numbers and yellow and getting excited! I can tell Tiffy does not feel great when her numbers are in the 400s. She is extra thirsty, hungry and whiny. She is not retreating...which is good. It feels like when I increase the dose, she feels worse, which happened when her vet was doing that...she seems to feel better at 4 and 4.5. Wendy is giving me dosing advice and I will try to get more night time tests. I just wish we could get this under control!!!

Tiffy has wanted to go outside in my front courtyard and do some of the things she likes to do. She has had some good days, but we having been seeing too much red lately!!!

How is Ducia doing?? Seeing she is having low numbers, which I am sure makes her feel better. Keep in touch and thank you for your well wishes!!

Your San Diego Cat mama friend,
Jadi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top