4/17 Zoey PMPS 112, +2, .5 86, +3.5 92, +4.5 104

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily and Baby

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL!

Yesterday's Condo

Mr. Zoe-Bear has gotten another reduction! Down to 0.5 units! I guess he is really loving the juice! Thanks for all the help and support last night everyone! I love the surfing picture Rhiannon! And thank Marje! Zoey is making amazing progress, I'm so happy for him!

It's another sunny day with blue skies here in Canada and Zoey has mimic that blue sky again this morning! I think he has found his favourite colours, it's all about the blues and greens lately!

I hope everyone has an amazing Wednesday! Healing vines to those in need today :)
 
Re: 4/17 Zoey AMPS 148, +2 110, +4 97

Thanks Liz! He's in the green :mrgreen: and floating down slower today! Much nicer!

I saw your post in my other condo Lisa, thanks for the advice! I'm hoping it helps me be more consistent, using the calipers!

The windows are open and full of three kitties sniffing the air! It's a beautiful day!!
 
Re: 4/17 Zoey PMPS 112

Good evening all!

Zoey is blue again tonight, probably heading for green as is his new norm! My grinder came in yesterday so my mom and I made cat food today. Oh dear! As I'm typing this Zukey projectile vomited up his new hard-made cat food... on the carpet OF COURSE. Wow, I thought making raw cat food was a little gross... That was in a class of it's own. On the plus side, his second round of vomit (there is always two rounds with him) was caught by me in paper towels, luckily. So... Zoey and Gryffin ate some, Zukey was less interested so I cooked his up a bit and then he was better. None of them ate much though... Going to try it again but with some normal canned in there. Zukey is normally a puker, but I hope this doesn't mean it's too rich for him or something! Anyone else feed homemade raw?
 
Re: 4/17 Zoey PMPS 112

Nice numbers Zoey!

I feed a commercial fed raw food, but the product probably looks a lot like home made ground. The manufacturer of Neko's food has a page on transitioning to raw food.

Classy Zukey! :shock: Emily, it's even better when you catch it in your hands. :lol: I found that civie Theo needed to have smaller more frequent meals of raw at first, or he also upchucked. Especially nice with kangaroo which is a dark red meat.

ETA: I always add warm water to their raw which helps warm it up from fridge temps.
 
Re: 4/17 Zoey PMPS 112

Thanks Phyllis! Looks like it might take a bit of adjustment for the fur brothers!!

Thanks Wendy! I checked out that site, it's great info on transitioning! I tried Zukey with just a bit of raw and mostly canned, but up it came... He only eats a bit at a time so maybe its too rich for him? Could there be something wrong with it if he keeps throwing up? He was crying at me in the kitchen, which he normally doesn't do, so I knew he was hungry :( I gave him some straight canned because his tummy is clearly off and he was hungry. I'll try again tomorrow with him with an even smaller amount of raw! Zoey seems fine with the raw but I did mix some with canned just to be sure he's getting enough to eat. Gryffin liked it better mixed too. I thought the hard work was in making the food, looks like the transition is going to be much harder! Slow and steady!!!!
 
Re: 4/17 Zoey PMPS 112, +2.5 86

Great to see Zoey in the lagoon so soon!

Did you add warm water to Zukey's raw? I add almost hot water to my civie's food which makes it lukewarm, for some reason cold raw is less appealing for him. Did you grind up chicken? And add it to chicken flavour canned? The other thing to make sure is that the bones were very finely ground. Some people do start the transition with cooking the raw first so they get used to the texture. If he ate that fine I'm wondering if it's a temperature thing. Or it could just be he has a hairball in progress. You might want to post a question in the Health forum, you might get more people feeding home made raw there.
 
Re: 4/17 Zoey PMPS 112, +2.5 86

I'd get a +3. That's a good sized drop this early on.

FYI: It's likely that the drop is due to a too full depot. The depot probably hasn't caught up with the dose reduction. In other words, even if Zoey drops below 50, you don't want to reduce the dose.
 
Re: 4/17 Zoey PMPS 112, +2.5 86, +3.5 92

Thank Liz! He's liking his green shirt tonight!

Thanks Wendy :) I did warm Zukey's up so that it had very little raw; I'm wondering if the bones aren't finely ground enough. I used chicken thighs and did add it to a chicken canned, maybe it was just too much at first. He just had some more plain canned but got into Zoey's canned with a bit of raw... it's been about 15 minutes and no sign of Pukey Zukey which had shown up within 10 minutes after the raw before. Fingers crossed it's all good, I don't think he got a lot. Maybe having more canned in his stomach helped. I will post over on the Health Board tomorrow, thanks for the suggestion!

I just saw your post Sienne after we got a +3.5 and he's coming up a bit. Should I test again at +4.5 or +5 to verify he continues to rise?
 
Thanks Sienne :) We got a +4.5 and it appears Zoey has his blue shirt on now so I guess he's on the rise. Is there any information on approximate carb value in homemade cat food that anyone is aware of?
 
Very nice, Zoey! Good job, Emily.

In order to get the carb values, you have to call the manufacturers and ask for the "as-fed" values (not guaranteed analysis). Or they might have the dry matter basis.....that works, too.

Here's a good discussion on how to Calculate Carbs using SS fed or dry matter basis numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top