4/17 Wrigley AMPS 167 | PMPS=377 | 3.5=77 | 5=69

Status
Not open for further replies.

ewalker405

Member Since 2015
Hi All,

Here is Wrigley yesterday: 4/16 Condo

He went really low overnight and I had another late night and early morning. He earned a reduction from .75 to .5. This morning he is 167 and I need to decide what to do before work. Nobody will be here to test him during the day today. I was hoping he would be over 200 and we could shoot .5 units and not worry about it.

Should I still give him .5 units and some extra food? Whatever food I give him, he will eat this morning. None of it will last until later in the day. I ordered a timed feeder and it is suppose to arrive today, but I don't have it yet. Or should I give him .25 units since he is under 200?

Background: He had ketones/DKA a couple weeks ago, but has been negative for ketones since.

I need to leave for work soon so I don't have time to stall and retest.

Thanks
 
Last edited:
Hi Eric,
Wrigley's shed will still be reflecting the .75 unit dose, even if you shoot .5 units (it takes a few cycles for the shed to re-calibrate). I think that 173 is a safe number to shoot .5 this morning. Leave out plenty of food. In the future you might consider freezing portions of food in ice-cube trays. These will melt gradually in his dish and Wrigley won't be able to eat all his food at once.

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks. I ordered a petsafe 5 feeder a couple days ago. We are suppose to get it tonight so he will be able to use that during the days/nights.
 
ohmygosh, i can't believe you had another night like last night.

Wrigley is working his way down the dosing scale. Great job handling things last night!
 
@+3.5 he is down to 77. How does he make these huge drops every night. Is this normal or what could cause these giant swings so often? Are these numbers good in the long run as long as I keep him above 50?

Thanks
 
There are a lot of cats that do this. Check out Mary's [URL='http://[URL='https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?key=0Am6UdN6tvgsfdHZiVTVkTURDN0lGZWd5NGI0bGJrRWc&usp=drive_web#gid=0'}Mikey's']Mikey's SS[/url].

I wonder if he climbed today and now he's breaking his bounce. I would recommend two things:
  • always get a +2 test every cycle you can; if the +2 is similar to the PS, it's likely to be an active cycle; if it is much lower than the +2, you should expect a very active cycle with a likely early onset
  • Feed a higher low carb food at PMPS, +1, +2, and perhaps +3; this part you will have to experiment with.
 
Hi Eric,
Unfortunately, there is no "normal" as such. ECID. But big swings happen to many cats. The goal is to flatten them out. I wish I had some secrets to share, but I don't. Sometimes they bounce and drop for what seems forever, and then one day they don't any more. @Sienne and Gabby can tell you about it!
I just saw Marje's post above. Good advice.

I hope you have a good night and can get enough sleep.

Ella & Rusty

p.s. when you get your Petsafe 5 pay close attention to how to set it. When I had one for my cat Stu, the "wheel" would sometimes move too far and be between compartments (he couldn't get his head in to get at the food!).
 
When I see a 77 like this, should I give him some to eat or wait and retest? I was planning on giving him more food tonight but haven't yet.
 
Two hours before AMPS and two hours before PMPS are times when one typically does not feed. If those PS numbers are low and you are stalling to see if the numbers will rise, you would not feed. The rest of the time you can certainly feed. Many small meals or snacks over the course of the cycle are beneficial and help keep the diabetic cat on a more even keel. When you get your auto feeder you can experiment with times.
 
Wow, another busy night! You asked if these numbers are good in the long run as long as he is safe above 50 - yes, definitely! Time spent in normal numbers (50-120 on a human meter) is healing for his pancreas. Also, as he spends more time in normal numbers, his body will get used to them and he hopefully won't bounce up high in response to them.
 
With a quick drop like that, yes, it's a good idea to go ahead and feed him and hope it'll slow him down

Don't feed too much though...if you NEED him to eat later on, you want him to be willing to do it
 
Eric --

Many cats do experience lower numbers during the PM cycle. However, given your work schedule, if there's any way you can get some spot checks during the AM cycle over the weekend, it will give you a better idea of what Wrigley is up to during the day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top