? 4/17 Simon PMPS 368 48 hours post dental surgery

Katrina & Simon

Member Since 2025
Recent post

Simon had 7 teeth extracted on Wednesday (2 days ago) and he's been having a really tough time. He has one upper canine remaining and only teeth on bottom are the tiny front ones... I hate seeing him in so much pain. His mouth was so swollen he could barely close it and was drooling blood and clearly in pain and uncomfortable, I called the vet as soon as they opened in the morning as the Onsior (anti inflammatory) was not doing enough. She gave us buprenorphine to be given every 12 hours through tomorrow. The swelling has finally decreased a bit, and they are open Saturday, so I'm thinking I'll send updated pictures to them to see if I need any meds for just in case scenario on Sunday. He had his last dose of Onsior today.

Now for my dose question... I'm not really sure what to do. I know for tight regulation I should increase, but with everything that he has going on I'm really hesitant. He was in blues for one day and I think the high numbers at the vet were elevated due to high stress. I guess he was in a kennel for half the day, prior to surgery, where he could see other cats and dogs (aka his nemesis, he does not like any unknown cats in his space), so they gave him 1U at +8 from when I had given 1.5U. Vet wanted me to give full dose at +6 from when she gave 1U but he barely ate and I can't rub anything on his gums right now (even honey or karo syrup would make him growl as it hurts, I can barely get away with giving his meds without stressing him out, normally very tolerant of meds so I know it's pain response), so I only gave 1.5U. Does this indicate he might need a modified dosing schedule or should I disregard as a one off weird situation with a bunch of other things influencing his numbers?

Or should I just get over myself and bump him up to 3.25? Keep in mind his appetite is only just returning this afternoon. He's been having maybe 1/3 the normal amount of food... Just enough to get insulin on board. What do you all think?
 
Since he’s in pain and not eating well, I would not increase just yet. A day if two more in higher numbers in my opinion won’t hurt him. I’d be worried he might not eat when needed. The pain could be causing the higher bg . Poor thing.
 
Since he’s in pain and not eating well, I would not increase just yet. A day if two more in higher numbers in my opinion won’t hurt him. I’d be worried he might not eat when needed. The pain could be causing the higher bg . Poor thing.
Thank you for confirming my thinking! I suppose I could syringe something if needed but I really don't want to upset him and cause him more pain, as ultimately, he would need to eat something to stabilize his numbers if he went low... I will maintain this dose for a few more days and hope the swelling continues to go down.
 
With that much done in his mouth (poor baby!), and what you've seen as swelling or inflammation, that alone could be raising his numbers. Plus you had the reduced dose for the day of the dental, so the depot of the 3 unit dose has not built back up yet. I'd give him another day to rebuild the depot, and if he's still high but eating well, I'd increase. You don't want him to be in high numbers for too long, or glucose toxicity could develop. It can take 7-10 days or so for swelling/inflammation to go down. You don't want him high for that long.
 
With that much done in his mouth (poor baby!), and what you've seen as swelling or inflammation, that alone could be raising his numbers. Plus you had the reduced dose for the day of the dental, so the depot of the 3 unit dose has not built back up yet. I'd give him another day to rebuild the depot, and if he's still high but eating well, I'd increase. You don't want him to be in high numbers for too long, or glucose toxicity could develop. It can take 7-10 days or so for swelling/inflammation to go down. You don't want him high for that long.
That makes sense, what to do if he's not eating well but still high? He only ate half his dinner... I tried many options and churus but he's still hurting. He's purring and content with sleeping in sun spots in the window or his heated bed, but sleeping so much and not playing or anything. I know he's still recovering, but I feel so bad for him.
 
Back
Top