4/17 Morlei +11.5 184 AMPS 244 +5.25 162

Status
Not open for further replies.

Becky & Morlei

Member Since 2012
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68850

This was an unexpected number to see this morning.
She was 225 at about +4.5 last night....seemed like she was going to have a flat night but nope!
Ok, so I guess it's the same drill as Saturday...test at +11.75 and +12 to see if she's rising.
But...I was going to increase to 7.5u today because we thought she was staying flat!! Do I stay at 7u or go up to 7.5u?
 
Re: NEED DOSING ADVICE 4/17 Morlei +11.5 184

great response though! i am thrilled to be seeing some response in morlei! go little girl go!

what did you decide about the dose? i think either way could've been ok given these numbers.
 
Re: NEED DOSING ADVICE 4/17 Morlei +11.5 184

I went ahead with the 7.5u. If she was still right below or at 200 when I tested her the second time I may have stayed at 7u, but since it was 60 points higher I felt we would be ok with the higher dose. Took the day off since I'm not feeling too well anyways so I'll be able to monitor her. Hoping for some good numbers in a few hours!
 
Re: 4/17 Morlei +11.5 184 AMPS 244

Hi there :cool:

I'm an old timer, loitering about from time to time, thought I'd stop and say hello. . .

I see by Morleis ss she's a bit of a big gulper. . .

Glad you went with the 7.5u
 
Re: 4/17 Morlei +11.5 184 AMPS 244

oh, and by the way, i saw serryn's comment in your condo last night. she's absolutely right about holding the dose for 6 cycles under normal circumstances, but the Tilly Protocol, which is basically the same with this one exception - it offers an option for a spreadsheet like morlei's, with lots of flat highs, to increase the dose after 4 cycles to get some movement going and bring the BGs down. i think your plan was right on.

so glad to see Sandy check in with you, becky! she's got a ton of experience and great advice.
 
Re: 4/17 Morlei +11.5 184 AMPS 244

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Hi there :cool:

I'm an old timer, loitering about from time to time, thought I'd stop and say hello. . .

I see by Morleis ss she's a bit of a big gulper. . .

Glad you went with the 7.5u

Hello! Yep, I'm glad we went with the 7.5 too because these numbers are icky...
+1 284
+2 291

julie & punkin said:
oh, and by the way, i saw serryn's comment in your condo last night. she's absolutely right about holding the dose for 6 cycles under normal circumstances, but the Tilly Protocol, which is basically the same with this one exception - it offers an option for a spreadsheet like morlei's, with lots of flat highs, to increase the dose after 4 cycles to get some movement going and bring the BGs down. i think your plan was right on.

so glad to see Sandy check in with you, becky! she's got a ton of experience and great advice.
This week will work out perfectly for increasing by .5 every 4 cycles. If she stays flat throughout the week, what do you think about doing the two steps forward, one step back approach again for the AM cycle on Saturday? So that would 8u Thursday-Friday, 9u AM Sat, 8.5u PM Sat. Can I use that approach once a week or do I need to hold off? Obviously this is only if her numbers are continously over 200, if she drops again we'll come up with a new game plan.

ETA:
Gayle Shadoe & Oliver wrote:
An increase of 1u for a cat with a high dose can be just fine... many high dose cats are using the 2 steps forward, 1 step back tactic if numbers seem stuck or if it's needed to get in front of resistance. You can easily drop back by .5u on the next shot if you feel that the 1 cycle at 7.5u accomplished what you wanted.

Increases of 1u are considered before the 10u dose mark, among high dose cats. I did not start 1u dose increases with Oliver until we hit 11u, but I was also giving him 4uR QID, so my approach was not with just Levemir. Many high dose owners have found the method up 1u, dn .5u works very well.

This is from the condo over the weekend, I really like the idea of trying to get in front of the resistance by shooting a higher dose to grab Morlei's attention.
 
Re: 4/17 Morlei +11.5 184 AMPS 244

my inclination would be to take it a cycle at a time. if morlei reads your plans, sure enough, she'll do something wild and crazy instead. ;-) :lol:

but seriously, i would take it a cycle at a time and make decisions based upon what happens on each one. i've given up trying to plan ahead on punkin, and i think each cycle tells you what to do next, most of the time.
 
Re: 4/17 Morlei +11.5 184 AMPS 244

Go Morlei Go!
(Ruby's got on her cheerleader costume for you)
 
Re: 4/17 Morlei +11.5 184 AMPS 244

julie & punkin said:
my inclination would be to take it a cycle at a time. if morlei reads your plans, sure enough, she'll do something wild and crazy instead. ;-) :lol:

but seriously, i would take it a cycle at a time and make decisions based upon what happens on each one. i've given up trying to plan ahead on punkin, and i think each cycle tells you what to do next, most of the time.
Guess I'll learn eventually that I can't control everything in my life haha.

arozeboom said:
Go Morlei Go!
(Ruby's got on her cheerleader costume for you)

And Morlei has her pom-poms out for Ruby! Nice AMPS! :RAHCAT
 
Re: 4/17 Morlei +11.5 184 AMPS 244

+3 251
+5.25 162!
We have blue!

Going to get a test at +5.5 and +6 because I want to catch her lowest number. Should have gotten a +4 test but I went to go turn in a job app...poor thing is being so good with all these pokes!
 
work.5903014.2.sticker,375x360.the-blue-cat-v1.png

Blue Cat Spotting!

woot.gif


WAHOO!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top