4/17 Max PMPS 378+3=261+5=163cleared bounce dosecrease?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117321

Yesterday was not a good day. Max wasn't feeling well and his numbers didn't come down. If they don't come down today I guess we go up again. Given his past history of gong low on 2 units, do I still increase from the fat 1.75 to a fat 2? Since his one good day he has been yellow and pink. This is beyond frustrating but it is what it is.
 
Re: 4/17 Max AMMPS 261 DOSECREASE

Hi guys .. I'm sorry max had a rough day yesterday .. no dosing advice from me, just lot's of support .. I know this is frustrating at times but just hang in there ((hugs)) I'm heading out of town today so have a great weekend!
 
Re: 4/17 Max AMMPS 261 DOSECREASE

I don't know about the dosing either... I am also asking for help, again. LOL..

But I think the dosecrease for Max was a good idea.
 
Re: 4/17 Max AMMPS 261 DOSECREASE How much? +3=386

This isn't getting any easier. The good news is he ate well this morning. How often do you test for ketones? I need to figure out how to do it as he won't let me anywhere near him while he uses his box. I'm going to try the NoSorb tonight but it is so pricey that I need an alternative. With all the other stuff I need to buy this litter won't last long.

I'm thinking he needs a whole .25 increase even though 2 units brought him down under 37 last time.

Thanks.
 
Re: 4/17 Max AMMPS 261 DOSECREASE How much? +3=386+6=331

Elise there was at one time a way to test for keytones using the cat's blood. There was then a recall on that monitor. I have not researched to see if they company came out with a new model, (one that worked correctly), or if nothing exists like that now.

It sure would make it easier on us if we could test using the cat's blood. Rocky won't pee in front of me!!

Because he has not had a significant stretch of BG numbers in the pink, red, or black, I have not tested for keytones in awhile. In addition, his appy is very good. When he went DKA last time he refused to eat anything.

One strange thing about Rocky is that even during his DKA episode with pancreatitis, he never vomited, not even at the animal hospital. I am thinking, but I cannot say for certain, that his stomach lining is probably still intact and not eroded away from excess bile.

When my kitty Jomo had pancreatitis I had to give her Sulcrafate, off and on. When she was suffering from an attack I would have to give it to her for 4 weeks, with pepcid, but not given together at the same time. Jomo hated the Sulcrafate and would usually vomit some of it up about 15 minutes later.. but NOT all of it. Then, she could eat, and she would hold down her food. The vet I was seeing told me that the Sulcrafate would coat her stomach and give the lining time to heal. I believe he was correct about that, in Jomo's case. My vet told me that they don't know why, but a lot of pancreatic cats see improvement when their cat is given Sulcrafate for several weeks. I would buy the pill form and then crush it, mixing with water and then give to her with a syringe. Jomo would also develop a redness in the back of her throat from the bile coming up that high.. The carafate coated her burning throat too, and helped it to heal.

I see a lot of people here give anti emetics to their cats but so far I've never seen anyone mention that their cat might have an undiagnosed or untreated ulcers. Untreated ulcers just get bigger and cause more pain.
 
Re: 4/17 Max AMMPS 261 DOSECREASE How much? +3=386+6=331

It is not all that common to vomit with chronic pancreatitis. It is more common with an acute attack. Max has stopped the attempted vomiting in the morning for now and I didn't give him pepcid. Most of us on the FPS yahoo list give ondansetron for nausea. Max has been on it in the 4 1/2 years for months at a time. Since diabetes he has only actually vomited that one time and I gave him cerenia for a couple of days and stopped. When he has had an episode in the past his main symptom was nausea exhibited by inappetence.

My vet said the one thing I can do is prevent weight gain. I just weighed him and he was 14 lb 15 oz. That's a 5-12 oz gain. It might be a tad less because he had eaten. I need to remember he is getting all this fd chicken after tests and so cut back a little with the food. I would ideally like him to weigh around 14 lbs., give or take a few ounces. He's a large cat so 14 1/2 isn't so bad but no more than that. I'll weigh him tomorrow before he eats anything and make sure to weigh him once a week now.
 
Re: 4/17 Max AMMPS 261 DOSECREASE How much? +3=386+6=331

Actually, it was the NovaMax BG test strips that were recalled -- not the meter and not the ketone test strips. That recall was quite some time ago and is probably over and done with. You can get a free NovaMax blood glucose/ketone meter from the company.

You can also use aquarium gravel in the litter pan. That will be lots less expensive than non-absorbent litter.
 
Re: 4/17 Max AMMPS 261 DOSECREASE How much? +3=386+6=331

Thank you Sienne. I will buy the gravel tomorrow. Do you use a blood ketone test kit or urine? Actually looking at your ss you probably don't need to test as Gabby's numbers are good on half the insulin Max is getting.
 
Re: 4/17 Max AMMPS 261 DOSECREASE How much? +3=386+6=331

You don't want to compare Max to Gabby - Sienne has spent years getting Gabby regulated, and she was difficult. She's one of our examples of a cat that was a "diver" - she could go from 400 to 40 in a few hours. Sienne's worked hard getting her to flatten out and spend more time in the good numbers.

I know it's been 3 days since his last green, so he *should* have cleared by now, but the way he's stayed in yellows and pinks since then make me think he might still be bouncing. It's not super clear to me, so perhaps someone else has a different idea. Usually when he's cleared a bounce we see blues and greens from him.

Given that, i think i'd wait til morning to increase, just to see if he comes down into greens tonight. If he doesn't, i think i'd just go to a straight 2.0u in the morning.
 
Re: 4/17 Max AMMPS 261 DOSECREASE How much? +3=386+6=331

Hi Julie. I was hoping you would be here today. I'm so confused as to how to tell if he is bouncing or just not on the right dose. If bouncing, it was a long one. Then again, he was green for several hours this time and his numbers have been high for him for a long time this time. I'm not sure I'm making sense. I'll hold for tonight. Maybe he will surprise me. It won't be the first time. Thanks.
 
Re: 4/17 Max AMMPS 261 DOSECREASE How much? +3=386+6=331

If you take a look at the discussion that Jill had with Tina/Rocky in Rocky's condo yesterday, that may help to answer your question about bouncing vs. a dose not holding.

If you were asking whether I test for blood vs. urinary ketones, I test Gabby's urine. She will pretty much let me stick a strip into her urine stream providing I catch her in the box.

I think it's your call whether you increase tonight or tomorrow. Given that you're seeing yellow nadirs, the protocol would indicate an increase of 0.25u.
 
Re: 4/17 Max AMMPS 261 DOSECREASE +3=386+6=331PMPS378

Hi Sienne. The reason why Julie is suggesting I increase to 2 units rather than the fat 2 is because both times Max got 2 units he needed a reduction. I was questioning whether or not to go to the fat 2 as if I go to 2, it isn't even a .25 increase and thus might not do anything. I guess I could give the 2 for a few cycles and if it doesn't give results then go up to 2.25. I don't know. In any case I think I will wait until tomorrow morning. It's time to shoot now.
 
Re: 4/17 Max AMMPS 261 +3=386+6 =331PMPS378+3=261+5=163

Well it is looking like an increase tomorrow. I'll check one more time tonight.
Update:
It looks like he cleared the bounce tonight. Do I hold off on the dose increase even though his BG only got down to 163 at +5?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top